Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 11
1
DAZ Studio Pro BETA (4.6.0.81), Now Available!
Posted: 08 August 2013 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  176
Joined  2007-11-12

DAZ 3D is pleased to announce the next public version of the DAZ Studio Pro BETA - version 4.6.0.81!

What is a BETA?

Despite our best efforts, DAZ 3D cannot possibly test the software under all possible conditions. So, we are providing this version of the application to the general public in order to uncover problems that were not discovered during internal/private testing. We expect that there will still be problems and we hope that when users encounter any problems, they will report them to the Bug Tracker so that they can be validated, prioritized and fixed.

As with any software classified as being in the BETA phase of development, you should expect to encounter bugs. Any bugs you do encounter while using BETA software can vary in terms of severity, from minor features that do not work correctly to problems that cause your computer to crash. Before choosing to use BETA software for production purposes, you should decide whether the benefit of new features and bug fixes provided by the BETA version outweighs the risk of instability you may encounter.

What is new in this version? Do I need to update my copy?

The 4.6.0.81 version resolves several issues and implements many improvements since the 4.6.0.18 General Release. More detail on specific fixes/changes/improvements can be found in the Change Log, which can be viewed online within the Documentation Center portion of our site. All new downloads of the DAZ Studio Pro BETA product (SKU: 12000) will be of this version.

Public BETA 1 (4.6.0.81) highlights are:
1) Added support for allowing a BETA build to co-exist with the General Release of the same major version; i.e. 4.6.0.18 and 4.6.0.81 installed at the same time; see below.
2) Updated the 3Delight render engine to 10.0.144; see 3Delight Change Log for more details.
3) Updated OpenSubdiv support to 1.2.1
4) Significant improvements to viewport display; currently implemented as the “Texture Shaded 2.0” DrawStyle. This DrawStyle implements per-pixel lighting, rather than the vertex lighting used in earlier versions, with improved specular, normal maps, bump maps, reflections and gamma correction.  Viewport display of the default distant, spot and point lights now match 3Delight results much more closely. These improvements are hardware dependent.
5) Added support for “Projection Morphs”; used to override the shape of a specific morph with an alternate shape for the purpose of auto-generated morph projections.
6) Added support for arbitrary node selection helpers; parented props can now be set [within Joint Editor Tool Settings] to promote viewport selection to their parent node; allows for “handles” to be made from any object in the scene, including instances.
7) Added an “Open Recent” submenu to the File menu; lists recently opened/saved scene files.  The menus need to be rebuilt for this option to appear; applying a default layout, or importing the Default Advanced menus will cause menus to be rebuilt. A script to update/merge menus is being worked on for a future build.
8) Added a “Display Separate Items” action to the Parameters, Posing and Shaping pane option menus. These actions toggle whether the display of property groups in the pane are separated according to the items in the scene or consolidated into a single hierarchy.
9) Added a “Display Followers” action to the Parameters, Posing and Shaping pane option menus. These actions provide the ability to see the properties of followers (i.e. clothing, hair, etc) in the Parameters, Posing and Shaping panes when the host figure is selected.
10) Fixes/workarounds to various GoZ plugin issues; saving of morph assets; spaces and/or special characters in scene item labels causing creation of subtools to halt.
11) Added an alternate image option for the splash/about screen

Has the Genesis Starter Essentials, or the Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials, content packages been updated too?

No, the Genesis Starter Essentials and Genesis 2 Female Starter Essentials content that is provided with the product has NOT been updated beyond what is currently available with the General Release.

How do I get the latest version?

If you have previously added the DAZ Studio Pro BETA product to your account, launch Install Manager, log into your account and type “DAZ Studio 4.6 Public Beta” into the filter field to filter out anything else.  Then simply download and install as you would normally.

Optionally, you can locate, download and install the BETA from the Product Library [once you are logged into your account] by entering “DAZ Studio Pro BETA” into the text field near the top left of the page and clicking the “Filter” button, or by clicking here. Then, simply click the “download & install” button.

If this is your first time downloading DAZ Studio Pro BETA, simply follow this link, click the “Add to Cart” button on the page and then follow the checkout process.

*Note: This BETA version is not available as a standalone installer.  It must be downloaded and installed using Install Manager.

Can I have the General Release and the BETA installed at the same time?

Yes!  You can now have both the General Release and a Public Beta (as well as a Private Beta, for those involved in that endeavor), of the same major version, installed at the same time.  Please be aware that the settings for each of the builds are now stored independent of each other.

What about the plugins I have?

The DAZ Studio 4.5 SDK has not changed in any way that is binary incompatible, which means that any plugins created for a previous version of DAZ Studio 4.5.x should continue to load and function. That said, as with any new release, there is always the possibility that a plugin has had bugs fixed or features added, so the latest versions should be downloaded and installed if they are provided.

Plugins that are currently built/produced by DAZ 3D will provide a separate package specifically intended for the BETA.  3rd party plugins that DAZ 3D creates install packages for will be updated to allow simultaneous installation into the General Release and the BETA builds. These packages will display as “Product Updates” within Install Manager once they have been updated.

Is there any documentation?

Yes, some documentation is located here.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 04:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  391
Joined  2004-03-03

OK, I’ll keep this DiRECTLY relevant.

I am disgusted that as a non-DIM user I am not allowed/enabled to try this beta. This is not a fully public release, just a semi-pubic release for DIM users.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 05:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

DavidGB, I’m sorry that you feel like you are excluded.  However, DIM is freely available to anyone thus the beta is available to anyone.  It is your choice that is limiting you as clearly you could participate if you wished to do so.

Still, I raised the issue of non-DIM availability to the web team just in case they want to enable that type of functionality.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1035
Joined  2012-02-04

Given the change log has a bunch of entries about creating/fixing BitRock installers for plugins, it seems like DAZ still intends to support installers for Studio itself and the various plugin modules.

I, for one, will never use DIM until they fix the boneheaded requirements for its database location.  I LIKE the DIM ZIP files, as I install everything manually anyway.  But the stuff that is real executables (meaning Studio and the various binary plugins like the dynamic clothing control) should remain available in stand-alone installer format.

I see nothing in this beta’s change log to suggest I should even bother trying it, though.  None of the bugs I have open in the BTS are indicated as fixed.  So I’ll just wait for prod release, which will hopefully also include the stand-alone installers.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 05:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1426
Joined  2009-09-11

Re edit checked it out cant DL without dim lame…..

 Signature 

http://bobvan.deviantart.com/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37909888@N05/sets/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2006-12-09

It looks like the Beta version did not load with the GoZ plugin that I have in the General release, how do I get the GoZ plugin into the Beta version?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 08:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  965
Joined  2003-10-09
Siciliano1969 - 09 August 2013 06:59 PM

It looks like the Beta version did not load with the GoZ plugin that I have in the General release, how do I get the GoZ plugin into the Beta version?

The 4.6.0.18 version of the dzgoz.dll works with the Beta 4.6.0.81

1. Copy dzgoz.dll from the 4.6.0.18 plugin folder to the 4.6.0.81 Beta plugin folder
2. In zBrush, go to Preferences>GoZ, change the “Path to DazStudioXX” to the DazStudio.exe in the DAZStudio4 Public Build folder

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 08:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  81
Joined  2005-09-01
Siciliano1969 - 09 August 2013 06:59 PM

It looks like the Beta version did not load with the GoZ plugin that I have in the General release, how do I get the GoZ plugin into the Beta version?

It will show up. Syncing definitely has taken, is taking longer than usual. If it doesn’t show up by Monday, please drop a note to Customer Service. (Not that I expect anything to take that long, but they aren’t in until then. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 08:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2006-12-09
Lindsey - 09 August 2013 08:18 PM
Siciliano1969 - 09 August 2013 06:59 PM

It looks like the Beta version did not load with the GoZ plugin that I have in the General release, how do I get the GoZ plugin into the Beta version?

The 4.6.0.18 version of the dzgoz.dll works with the Beta 4.6.0.81

1. Copy dzgoz.dll from the 4.6.0.18 plugin folder to the 4.6.0.81 Beta plugin folder
2. In zBrush, go to Preferences>GoZ, change the “Path to DazStudioXX” to the DazStudio.exe in the DAZStudio4 Public Build folder

 

Lindsey, you are a life saver!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 08:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2006-12-09
BTLProductions - 09 August 2013 08:34 PM
Siciliano1969 - 09 August 2013 06:59 PM

It looks like the Beta version did not load with the GoZ plugin that I have in the General release, how do I get the GoZ plugin into the Beta version?

It will show up. Syncing definitely has taken, is taking longer than usual. If it doesn’t show up by Monday, please drop a note to Customer Service. (Not that I expect anything to take that long, but they aren’t in until then. smile

Thanks BTLProductions, I got it taken care of!  I’m testing the Beta now…so far so good

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 10:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2011-01-05

I clicked the link from my account so that I see the name in DIM ‘Ready to Download’ tab, but if I click download or queue, it immediately says “download failed!”. I even tried running DIM as administrator, but I get the same results. Am I doing something wrong, or is the download file just not up right now?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 11:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2013-02-17

It did not load Reality 2 plugin and my importer says all my downloads failed.( I had about 16) I am having to manually install everything I just got. The importer, also, asks for a path to Poser but doesn’t see it after I’ve done it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 11:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2003-10-09

I really dislike how when installing software Install Manager doesn’t give you any choices of where.  I had to uninstall and then change my options and have it reinstall.  But it still adds on an Extra DAZ 3D to the beginning of the path.  So for example I don’t install apps on my C: drive.  All my apps are in d:\Apps for DAZ Studio that means:

d:\Apps\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio45
d:\Apps\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio45-32

So I set IM to use d:\Apps\DAZ 3D but it installs the Beta in
d:\Apps\DAZ 3D\DAZ 3D\DAZStudio4 Public Beta

Making an extra DAZ 3D directory.  But if I set my 32 bit dir to the same directory what will it do?  I’m scared to find out.

The new beta of course doesn’t have any of my plugins or shaders and seems to have issues loading scene files.  Complains about tons of missing .dsf files in the data folder.  Scenes the real 4.6 have no problem opening.

The implementation of Open Recent is also kind of poor.  But I may have a chip on my shoulder on that one.  But it’s not half as good as my free plugin version.  Doesn’t seem to update right.  Has issues with where it shows up in the menus.  Doesn’t appear on the left hand side of the Customize dialog either.  If I delete it how could I get it back?

Is there some easy way to move my menu/workspace/layout settings over to the beta?  Re-doing all that would be a lot of work.

Having a bunch of problems with the render too.  The tiny red/black cross hairs on the render problem is back big time.  It’s been around as a DS bug for a long time but this new build seems a lot worse.  Though it’s almost impossible to reproduce.  You re-render and it won’t happen.  But see the attached at how bad it is.  Was going to report this on Mantis but that’s been decommissioned.

Image Attachments
BadRenderDS4_6_0_81.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 11:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  219
Joined  2005-10-18

So because people do not want to use DIM that means we should be denied the option of trying the Beta.????..REALLY..????

I hope that when the General release is available that too WILL NOT be restricted to the DIM installation process otherwise this is where Daz and I will part company, period.

S.K.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 11:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2003-10-09

OK I fixed the problem with old scenes not loading (and complaining about files in \data\auto_adapted\... being missing).  Turns out while the new install did know about my primary DS/Poser directory, it didn’t actually bring over all my DS content folder locations (not really sure how it got the one primary one but not the others).  I ended up taking a screen snapshot of my content manager settings from 4.6 and duplicating that in the Beta 4.6.0.81.  That fixed my missing \data files.  I didn’t even realize my DAZ Scene folder (where I save all my DAZ Scenes) was also listed in the Content Manager (under Other Formats) and had it’s own \data folder.

Had this new version installed with the same preferences and settings I don’t think I would have seen this problem.  Hopefully they can work on that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 August 2013 01:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2011-01-05

Its working again. Downloaded and installed in 30 seconds. Started up fine too. must’ve just been the DL server

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 11
1