Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 9
1
DAZ 3D Install Manager v.1.0.1.81 Update
Posted: 08 August 2013 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
Rank
Total Posts:  229
Joined  2007-11-12

DAZ 3D is pleased to announce the next public version of the DAZ 3D Install Manager - version 1.0.1.81!


DAZ 3D Install Manager has been updated to allow resuming of interrupted and/or cancelled downloads. The “Download” button text is replaced by “Resume” when a portion of a package has already been downloaded.  Package signatures are validated upon resume; if the local signature does not match the server signature resume starts from the beginning.  It is highly recommend that separate accounts use separate download folders to prevent cross-account clean up of “orphaned” downloads.

In addition, the following changes and enhancements have been made.

- On Windows, the DAZ3DIMHelper application, which requests elevated permissions for installing software/plugins/shaders/etc, and the BitRock installer are now signed, so they identify themselves as being provided by “DAZ Productions, Inc.” instead of “Unknown”.
- Added “4R6” to the list of ZBrush application versions.
- Various “Download” and “Installer” references have been relabeled to use “Package” instead; some users were interpreting “Download Date” as the date/time the package was downloaded rather than the date/time the package was created; referring to a package as an “Installer” wasn’t entirely accurate, and is simplified by the consistent use of “Package” whether downloaded or not
- The ”— Applications —” text in the Installation Details widget has been replaced with a “Show Applications List…” button that launches the Settings dialog with the Applications page raised.
- Made other minor labeling tweaks to improve readability/consistency.
- Added support for a resume filter to the filter field; “resume::true” to show only those packages that can be resumed, “resume::false” to hide them.
- Allow a custom install path for new Windows CMS installations; not allowed during update


For more details view the DAZ 3D Install Manager v.1.0.1.81 Change Log, which can be viewed online within the Documentation Center portion of our site.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2013 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  64
Joined  2012-07-22

I must say that auto-installing the CMS whenever there’s a DIM update is a bit annoying. Uninstalling it takes 5 seconds, I know, but still a check for a previous installation or a question wouldn’t hurt..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 August 2013 05:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  68
Joined  2010-03-30

Just installed the update and there’s no Photoshop CC option in the application versions :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 02:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5578
Joined  2006-02-20

Does it still insist on installing itself on c: ?

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 07:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  338
Joined  2004-03-03

Does it still insist on using the Public Documents folder for some of its own files?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 12:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2797
Joined  2004-10-25

Since it’s an automatic update from the previous 1.75 version, I would assume the answer to both your questions, Kerya and David, is yes.  I haven’t checked to see if you can direct it to install to a new location if you download from your Product Library and do a fresh install.  That may be an option.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-02-05

I just picked up a few things after the latest update went through, and now it won’t install what I bought. I opened the order, selected “download and install” with the install manager, and while the manager opened up and queued the selections, when I told it to begin, I got “download failed” on each of them.

I re-downloaded the install manager program and reinstalled it, on the theory that it was a bad patch. But I’m still having the same problem. Is the program messed up?

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
RankRank
Total Posts:  304
Joined  2012-06-12

submit a ticket to CS specifying the product. It is probably something incorrectly setup with that particular product that needs to get to our production team to fix.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  2005-11-24

I just installed and you can direct where to install. My C drive in small so I don’t use it unless I absolutely have to use it.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 03:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  338
Joined  2004-03-03
gingercakes47 - 09 August 2013 03:18 PM

I just installed and you can direct where to install. My C drive in small so I don’t use it unless I absolutely have to use it.

But does it create (with no choice about location) a folder and put some files in it in the Public Documents folder? (On Windows, that is.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 04:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  2005-11-24
DavidGB - 09 August 2013 03:34 PM
gingercakes47 - 09 August 2013 03:18 PM

I just installed and you can direct where to install. My C drive in small so I don’t use it unless I absolutely have to use it.

But does it create (with no choice about location) a folder and put some files in it in the Public Documents folder? (On Windows, that is.)

Short answer, no. It seems to only download with DIM and I told DIM where to install any of the program and content. Just checked my Public Documents Folder and nothing DAZ has been added to it in a long time.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 04:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  338
Joined  2004-03-03
gingercakes47 - 09 August 2013 04:07 PM
DavidGB - 09 August 2013 03:34 PM
gingercakes47 - 09 August 2013 03:18 PM

I just installed and you can direct where to install. My C drive in small so I don’t use it unless I absolutely have to use it.

But does it create (with no choice about location) a folder and put some files in it in the Public Documents folder? (On Windows, that is.)

Short answer, no. It seems to only download with DIM and I told DIM where to install any of the program and content. Just checked my Public Documents Folder and nothing DAZ has been added to it in a long time.

I’m not sure I was clear in what I was asking. Not if the DIM is putting DS, content etc into Public Documents - is DIM still ITSELF using a folder in Public Documents for its own files, not other DAZ files. Is there a DIM folder in Public Documents?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 05:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  548
Joined  2007-08-14
DavidGB - 09 August 2013 04:49 PM

Is there a DIM folder in Public Documents?

Yes.

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 07:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1667
Joined  2012-02-07

Greetings,
I used MKLINK on Windows 7 (I think it’s been there since Vista) to direct DAZ Install Manager to use my D drive.  More specifically, I have a Dropbox folder on my D drive where all my Manifest files are, so it doesn’t think it needs to download 3,000 new packages.  I moved the auto-created directory out of the way, and used MKLINK /D to make it so that when DAZ IM looks in that directory, it actually looks on the D drive for the data.

Took me a few minutes to look it up.  I do the same thing, essentially, on Mac OS X.

IIRC the command was: MKLINK /D InstallManager D:\Dropbox\DAZ\InstallManager

It was run from the DAZ directory.  I’m not at home, so I can’t double-check, but I’d be happy to update this in a few hours if I got the command wrong.  You can do MKLINK /? to get more help.

Modern versions of Windows allow you all kinds of mechanisms to work around directory placement.

— Morgan

 Signature 

Want wishlist discount notifications, better wishlist sorting, or to see ALL current discounts? http://3dwishlist.com/demo

Look at my deviantArt Gallery, give me feedback and feel free to follow!

This Firefox GreaseMonkey/Chrome Extension tweaks the wishlist and the product pages, adding cool new features to both and cleaning up small UI issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06

It should be something like:
mklink /j “C:\users\public\DAZ 3D\InstallManager” E:\Content\InstallManager
quotes are only needed around the first part because of the space in “DAZ 3D”

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2013 09:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2003-12-08

Its not working, purchased several items from Zev0, doesn’t appear in DIM, then go to my account -> product library->click download & install (w DIM), appear in DIM (filter by sku#) push download and download failed… I can´t download the new studio beta, had + 300 products and can´t update or download…I don´t like this update, former version worked (downloaded 300 products…)

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 9
1