Digital Art Zone

 
     
Split backdrop
Posted: 24 May 2012 12:32 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1373
Joined  2008-01-01

Hi all - happy to see we are back up D

Strange happenings while the forum was down - both 8.1.1.12 and 8.5.0.132 developed a bug in that backdrop images get split - usually in 3, as in the attached pic, sometimes 2 or 4 and re-arranged.  The render is fine - pic 2.  You can imagine it’s a PITA getting a shadow catcher plane correctly positioned !

Anyone seen this?  Any solutions?


Image removed by a moderator till resized…please see this thread for info: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewannounce/510_98/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 04:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2041
Joined  2008-01-28

sorry roy still using version 81097
wonderful pic though!

 Signature 

http://andrewfinnie.blogspot.com.au/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1373
Joined  2008-01-01

Hi head wax - yes, it’s a great pic - not one of mine, though - our scenery is RUGGED - more like thisi


Image removed by a moderator till resized…please see this thread for info: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewannounce/510_98/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 12:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7669
Joined  2009-07-13

looks graphics related
maybe in preferences you need to change something or the preview texture display size
the totally complete Jack Tomalin dreamhome fully loaded with furniture did funny things textured in the assembly room for me due to total texture map size
I ended up working a lot in wireframe!
does it render ok?

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2012 12:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7669
Joined  2009-07-13

your pic looks like the Blue mountains along the lower Eastern part of Australia.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 May 2012 01:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1373
Joined  2008-01-01

Hi Wendy - yes, SA and Oz have very similar climate and topography - we share more than an enthusiasm for Rugga, wine and beer. lol

This messing up the backdrop is really puzzling - it happened suddenly in the last couple of weeks and only affects the two Carrara’s - in both the ass and VM rooms - just discovered it also affects the Bi Gradient backdrop.  The render is perfect.

Can’t think of any trigger event that may have caused it - no new drivers or applications installed - have tried all relevant settings and resetting preferences.  It also makes no difference on size and resolution of backdrop.

Managed to fix one backdrop after a lot of random messing about with tiling, but haven’t been able to replicate.  Only thing left to do is try a re-install.

Cheers

Profile