Digital Art Zone

 
     
DAZ studio and Carrara 8.x
Posted: 21 June 2012 07:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2005-02-17

Hi all,

1. If I did an animation with Daz Studio pro, could I transfer these animation to Carrara 8.x for rendering?
Do I need any tool?

2. It seems that the old thread of forum was removed. Where can I find them?

Thanks in advance

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 10:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2005-02-17

Anyone???

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 12:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4941
Joined  2004-07-01
Sam Wong - 21 June 2012 10:57 PM

Anyone???

yes
no
save as DUF

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 02:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2005-02-17

Do you mean that I can save file as UDF in DAZ Studio and then ....?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 05:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Sam Wong smile

If you have DS4 pro and Carrara 8.1
You could try using Daz Collada export from Daz Studio.

The best way is still to reload your figures in Carrara, and apply the animation from studio.

You need to export the animation from Daz Studio,. as either BVH or using the Free Daz Script (Poser Format Exporter) available in the store here.

The Figures, can be Loaded into Carrara in the same way as you do in Daz Studio, by clicking on the Thumbnail in the browser.
and if you save the animation as Poser format, (PZ2) then Carrara can apply that to your selected figure.

NOTE: Genesis will only currently load and work in Carrara 8.5 beta.

If you’re using Genesis, and the Carrara 8.5 Beta, then you can use Daz Studio 4,5 to save the Daz Scene in the new DUF (Daz User File) format.
This can then be loaded into Carrara 8.5 beta.
You can also Save your animation as a “Pose Preset” from Daz Studio,. and save Material settings as “Material Presets”
and those will load into Carrara 8.5 beta.

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
3DAGE - 22 June 2012 05:48 AM

Hi Sam Wong smile

If you have DS4 pro and Carrara 8.1
You could try using Daz Collada export from Daz Studio.

The best way is still to reload your figures in Carrara, and apply the animation from studio.

You need to export the animation from Daz Studio,. as either BVH or using the Free Daz Script (Poser Format Exporter) available in the store here.

The Figures, can be Loaded into Carrara in the same way as you do in Daz Studio, by clicking on the Thumbnail in the browser.
and if you save the animation as Poser format, (PZ2) then Carrara can apply that to your selected figure.

NOTE: Genesis will only currently load and work in Carrara 8.5 beta.

If you’re using Genesis, and the Carrara 8.5 Beta, then you can use Daz Studio 4,5 to save the Daz Scene in the new DUF (Daz User File) format.
This can then be loaded into Carrara 8.5 beta.
You can also Save your animation as a “Pose Preset” from Daz Studio,. and save Material settings as “Material Presets”
and those will load into Carrara 8.5 beta.

Hope it helps smile

Correct. One additional option, if you have the Aniblock importer for Carrara would be to save the animation in DS as an aniblock and apply the aniblock in Carrara.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 02:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1825
Joined  2004-08-24

Doh !

I have that importer too, it’s very handy, and I’ve used it a lot recently, and I forgot to mention it.
My Bad. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
3DAGE - 22 June 2012 02:47 PM

Doh !

I have that importer too, it’s very handy, and I’ve used it a lot recently, and I forgot to mention it.
My Bad. smile

There are all sorts of ways to accomplish this. You can’t be expected to remember all of them. smile

One more option is to use Animate to export MDD and Fenric’s MDD plug-in for Carrara. This method is particularily useful if you want to go through another program to add things, like dynamics, by going through Marvelous Designer, Messiah, etc. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 06:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  321
Joined  2007-08-26
DAZ_Spooky - 22 June 2012 03:03 PM

There are all sorts of ways to accomplish this. You can’t be expected to remember all of them. smile
One more option is to use Animate to export MDD and Fenric’s MDD plug-in for Carrara. This method is particularily useful if you want to go through another program to add things, like dynamics, by going through Marvelous Designer, Messiah, etc. smile

The thing is: DUF doesn t work nearly as well in Carrara 8.5 and DS 4.5 as Daz Collada used to work in Carrara 8.1 and DS 3. it can t import morphs, textures or clothes: it only imports the animation correctly. Most impoprtant of all: it doesn t import dynamic clothes. All things that Daz Collada used to do routinely. When I tried to import Victoria 5 from DS 4.5, the black figure on the RIGHT is what I got. Reported in the bug tracker. After so many betas, I don t understand why we are regressing instead of progressing.

EDIT: Apologies. My mistake.  For the previous scene, I saved in DS 4.5 as a Support asset/Figure Prop as I used to. For the following pic, I saved as Support asset/Scene. Now Victoria 5 morphs and clothes are imported. But still, no textures as the figure comes in black.

Image Attachments
duf1.jpg
 Signature 

Check out my latest movie: “TRANCE”  at:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ya78oBLqRlg

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 June 2012 09:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1171
Joined  2007-10-17
argus1000 - 22 June 2012 06:50 PM

The thing is: DUF doesn t work nearly as well in Carrara 8.5 and DS 4.5 as Daz Collada used to work in Carrara 8.1 and DS 3. it can t import morphs, textures or clothes: it only imports the animation correctly. Most impoprtant of all: it doesn t import dynamic clothes. All things that Daz Collada used to do routinely. When I tried to import Victoria 5 from DS 4.5, the black figure on the RIGHT is what I got. Reported in the bug tracker. After so many betas, I don t understand why we are regressing instead of progressing.

EDIT: Apologies. My mistake.  For the previous scene, I saved in DS 4.5 as a Support asset/Figure Prop as I used to. For the following pic, I saved as Support asset/Scene. Now Victoria 5 morphs and clothes are imported. But still, no textures as the figure comes in black.

Hence the reason this is still beta and not the release version. smile  It is still being worked on. For example, the Materials was a DS error which was just fixed, and should be in the next public Beta of DAZ Studio.

Profile