Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Tutorial: Getting V4’s brows onto Genesis via DS only
Posted: 18 July 2013 07:25 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

We had this going on the old forums, but it utilized a lengthier process using Blender. This method uses only DS and requires no other software.

To get this to look best, you’ll need the V4 Shape for Genesis.
http://www.daz3d.com/v4-and-m4-shapes-for-genesis

1. Load in V4. Don’t bother loading in any morphs when the power loader pops up. Have her as the only

object in the scene tab to make step 4 easier.

2. Right click her in the scene tab > expand > all from selection. Fig 2.

3. Find the Eyebrow bone and turn it on, then select it. Fig 3.

4. Right click > Select > Invert Selection. Fig 4.
(ctrl click the main Victoria 4.2 so the brows will still be visible after step 5)

5. Now go to Parameters > Display > set Visable to OFF. You should now have nothing visible except the brows. Fig 5.

6. File > Export > select Wavefront OBJ > give your file a name. Fig. 6 for parameters.

7. You can now delete V4, load Genesis, and apply the Victoria 4 morph.
(parameters > all > search “victoria 4” > dial to 100%)

8. File > Import > Select your OBJ you just exported and use Daz Studio as the ‘From’.

9. Select your imported brows OBJ and open up the transfer utility. Fig 9 for parameters.
(nothing under Weight Maps > Extended nor Morph Targets > Extended are checked, either)
Not sure if Smart Filtering

That’s all. If you want to save this for future use, File > Save As > Support Asset > Figure/Prop Asset. It will follow with Genesis morphs, but some really extreme ones will cause stretching in the texture.

This WILL support V4 textures. Shown below using Surreality’s Steam Queens brows.

This may work on G2F also, but I don’t have the V4 shape for her, so I can’t test. Feel free to let me know if it works.

Image Attachments
Tutorial_all_figures.jpgBrows_anubis.jpgBrows_goblin.jpgBrows_starman.jpg
 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 July 2013 07:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2826
Joined  2006-07-31

Thanks, it is very useful!

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 10:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3489
Joined  2012-02-06

Thanks for this…very useful!

I ended up doing things slightly differently. When I tried to follow your instructions, DS kept crashing during step 9 (transfer utility). So then I tried replacing your step 9 with RAMWolff’s instructions on converting a prop to a figure: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/1866/
and that worked perfectly. I was working with the M4 brows…maybe that’s why it was different, though I’d guess it should be the same for either figure’s brows. At any rate, now I can use the Gabriel character’s brows on Genesis (found in this product), which I couldn’t figure out how to do until I saw this thread. smile Here’s the Gabriel skin, brows, and hair on D5:

Image Attachments
d5gabriel2.jpg
 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 August 2013 10:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Nice!

I don’t know much about the backend of DS’ coding, so I’m not sure why the TU would bugger out on you like that. Glad you found a method that works for you though. :D

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 12:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4900
Joined  2008-03-06

That’s a great one!  I never even thought of it.


Yet another method:


Create a geometry shell parented to Genesis or G2F.

Assign that geometry shell V4’s UV.  (You need to have V4’s morph to get that with it, of course.)

Hide all except the face.

Apply the eyebrows and their bump/transmaps manually. 

Save as a preset so you don’t have to do it again.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

The brow was a separate prop on V4, not a mat zone, so it wouldn’t be in the UVs.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 12:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4900
Joined  2008-03-06

No, I mean if you want to do this with Genesis or G2F, you will need Genesis V4 or G2F V4 in order to have those UVs to apply to the geoshell.  It won’t work with this method otherwise.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 01:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Oh sorry, I missed the “manually” part when you were talking about applying the brows. In the long run I think migrating the actual brow over is a time saver as it directly accepts mat poses as if it was still on V4.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4900
Joined  2008-03-06
Vaskania - 15 August 2013 01:08 AM

Oh sorry, I missed the “manually” part when you were talking about applying the brows. In the long run I think migrating the actual brow over is a time saver as it directly accepts mat poses as if it was still on V4.

Probably!  It’s simple, clever and functional.  I just wanted to offer another option that’s worked for me.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Oh, yea, definitely. I’m not discrediting it or anything, sorry if it came off that way. smile

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4900
Joined  2008-03-06
Vaskania - 15 August 2013 11:49 AM

Oh, yea, definitely. I’m not discrediting it or anything, sorry if it came off that way. smile

Not at all, and I’m doing yours as we speak. grin

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 03:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Haha nice. Let me know how it comes out. :D

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1172
Joined  2009-01-09
Scott-Livingston - 14 August 2013 10:10 PM

Thanks for this…very useful!

I ended up doing things slightly differently. When I tried to follow your instructions, DS kept crashing during step 9 (transfer utility). So then I tried replacing your step 9 with RAMWolff’s instructions on converting a prop to a figure: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/1866/
and that worked perfectly. I was working with the M4 brows…maybe that’s why it was different, though I’d guess it should be the same for either figure’s brows.

How did you get that to work? I tried the same thing, and had the same issue with M4, Studio crashing at step 9. When I tried to convert the brows object to a figure, I get a message saying that it needs something with geometry to perform that function. If I try to weightmap it as though it were already a figure, I get a message saying that Studio needs something with Parametric Joint Parameters for that conversion. Either way, I can’t get it to work.

SickleYield - 15 August 2013 12:03 AM

That’s a great one!  I never even thought of it.


Yet another method:


Create a geometry shell parented to Genesis or G2F.

Assign that geometry shell V4’s UV.  (You need to have V4’s morph to get that with it, of course.)

Hide all except the face.

Apply the eyebrows and their bump/transmaps manually. 

Save as a preset so you don’t have to do it again.


And again, I am confused. How do you get that to work on Genesis when it doesn’t have a separate eyebrow? Doesn’t that essentially replace the entire SkinFace zone? (Depending on how the texture is built, of course.) There isn’t any way to make the rest of the face invisible, so you wind up with a doubled texture.

EDIT: DUH. Brows have transmaps. OK, never mind….

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 06:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3489
Joined  2012-02-06
vwrangler - 15 August 2013 06:01 PM
Scott-Livingston - 14 August 2013 10:10 PM

Thanks for this…very useful!

I ended up doing things slightly differently. When I tried to follow your instructions, DS kept crashing during step 9 (transfer utility). So then I tried replacing your step 9 with RAMWolff’s instructions on converting a prop to a figure: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/1866/
and that worked perfectly. I was working with the M4 brows…maybe that’s why it was different, though I’d guess it should be the same for either figure’s brows.

How did you get that to work? I tried the same thing, and had the same issue with M4, Studio crashing at step 9. When I tried to convert the brows object to a figure, I get a message saying that it needs something with geometry to perform that function. If I try to weightmap it as though it were already a figure, I get a message saying that Studio needs something with Parametric Joint Parameters for that conversion. Either way, I can’t get it to work.

I followed Vaskania’s steps 1 through 8 prior to using the RAMWolff method. The end result of steps 1 through 8 was that the brows turned into an .obj (a prop, in other words, with geometry) that I could then convert to a figure. Make sure you have the .obj selected.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 07:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1172
Joined  2009-01-09
Scott-Livingston - 15 August 2013 06:47 PM
vwrangler - 15 August 2013 06:01 PM
Scott-Livingston - 14 August 2013 10:10 PM

Thanks for this…very useful!

I ended up doing things slightly differently. When I tried to follow your instructions, DS kept crashing during step 9 (transfer utility). So then I tried replacing your step 9 with RAMWolff’s instructions on converting a prop to a figure: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/1866/
and that worked perfectly. I was working with the M4 brows…maybe that’s why it was different, though I’d guess it should be the same for either figure’s brows.

How did you get that to work? I tried the same thing, and had the same issue with M4, Studio crashing at step 9. When I tried to convert the brows object to a figure, I get a message saying that it needs something with geometry to perform that function. If I try to weightmap it as though it were already a figure, I get a message saying that Studio needs something with Parametric Joint Parameters for that conversion. Either way, I can’t get it to work.

I followed Vaskania’s steps 1 through 8 prior to using the RAMWolff method. The end result of steps 1 through 8 was that the brows turned into an .obj (a prop, in other words, with geometry) that I could then convert to a figure. Make sure you have the .obj selected.

That’s exactly what I did, but for some reason, Studio is refusing to recognize the brows OBJ as something containing geometry. Weird.

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4900
Joined  2008-03-06

Make sure it’s exporting the .obj with mat zones and/or an .mtl.  DS will refuse to import an .obj with no materials assigned.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1