Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Casting shadow onto background
Posted: 21 June 2012 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2012-06-14

I’m experimenting with building a character and using a background image. I want my character to cast a shadow onto the background image as if she’s standing in the field shown in the image.

The “problem” is that the “plane” is visible in the final render. Without the plane I can’t create a shadow, and with it, well, the results make it look like my character is standing in a dull gray square.

What’s the correct way to have my character case a shadow on the background image?

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

You need a shadow catcher shader. I know that one can be made in the Shader Mixer for free but I do not have the link to the info. The pack of pwShaders for DS also has one. I hope someone with the free info pops in and helps you.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 10:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7911
Joined  2009-05-14

Three ways you can do this, as far as I know.
One using a product called PWCatch http://www.daz3d.com/shop/pwcatch/
Two using the Shader Mixer http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=120228
and three doing it in a image manipulation program (Photoshop, Gimp etc)

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2282
Joined  2012-02-04

I had a similar problem. I got this shadow catcher on sharecg and it works great.
http://www.sharecg.com/v/56594/View/7/Material-and-Shader/Shadow-Catcher-with-adjustable-opacity

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 11:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2012-06-14
Szark - 21 June 2012 10:29 AM

Three ways you can do this, as far as I know.
One using a product called PWCatch http://www.daz3d.com/shop/pwcatch/
Two using the Shader Mixer http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=120228
and three doing it in a image manipulation program (Photoshop, Gimp etc)

Thank you. Since I am learning this I’m working through tutorials, and your second suggestion sounds like exactly what I’m needing.

I’m following the tutorial step by step but am getting different results. Right from the beginning my screen looks a bit different to the one in the video. I’m hoping that it’s just a difference between versions (3 vs 4) and not a show-stopper.

The first difference is with Shadow Catcher - in the tutorial, applying the SC results in the plane turning black where it will be transparent and white where it will be opaque. For me I still get a black shadow on a gray plane.

And then when you connect the “in shadow” to Opacity Color, the tutorial shows the shadows without the plane after render. I get the same black shadow on a light-gray plane.

Any idea what I’m doing wrong?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 11:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Try this thread which has the step by step info in text.
http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=116187

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  43
Joined  2012-06-14

I got it! I did not have the rendering quality turned up to max. Lol.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 12:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Save Your Shader so you can use it again at a later date. I’m glad you got the help you needed.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 12:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7911
Joined  2009-05-14

Sweet result cool grin

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 12:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2009-07-01
barbult - 21 June 2012 11:03 AM

I had a similar problem. I got this shadow catcher on sharecg and it works great.
http://www.sharecg.com/v/56594/View/7/Material-and-Shader/Shadow-Catcher-with-adjustable-opacity

@ barbult

Hi, can you tell me please how to get it to work? I tried unzipping the two files into my DAZ Content folder C:\Users\xyz\Documents\DAZ 3D\Studio\My Library\Shaders and it showed up OK in the Content area but when I try to drag it onto an object (e.g. a Plane primitive) it says “An error occured while reading the file, see the log file for more details”.

There is no useful info in the log file, just:
“Executing DAZ Script file: C:/Users/xyz/Documents/DAZ 3D/Studio/My Library/Shaders/Shadow Catcher with Opacity.dsb
Failed to load script file!

I tried to load it into the DAZ IDE but it comes up blank, although file is Size: 9.96 KB (10,207 bytes)

I don’t have Shader Mixer since I am still on Studio Version 3.1 so it’s not included - do I need that? Or Studio Version 4?

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 01:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Shaders are not Drag and drop, they need to be applied to a Surface. Be sure your item (the plane) is selected then Select the Surface of the plane, you can use the Surface selection tool or open the Surfaces Tab and select it there. Then apply the shader with a double click.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 06:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2009-07-01
Jaderail - 11 November 2012 01:10 AM

Shaders are not Drag and drop, they need to be applied to a Surface. Be sure your item (the plane) is selected then Select the Surface of the plane, you can use the Surface selection tool or open the Surfaces Tab and select it there. Then apply the shader with a double click.

Hi Jaderail,

Thanks very much for your help but yes I have already tried that standard method too as you describe (with both the object and surface selected then double click), not quite sure why I deviated to the ‘drag-and-drop’ in describing my problem but it is also possible in DS3 to use that method to apply a shader instead of double click (at least it is on my setup).

In any case that creates the same error message, and does not work.

Sorry to waste your time, maybe I should just buy pwCatch and forget the freebie :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 11:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2950
Joined  2004-10-25
Jaderail - 21 June 2012 11:58 AM

Try this thread which has the step by step info in text.
http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=116187

This is the tutorial I followed to get it done it —> http://3dpixelzone.com/WIP/studio/gnd.htm though in my case I only wanted the shadow to appear as if on the floor.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2009-07-01
Miss B - 11 November 2012 11:51 AM
Jaderail - 21 June 2012 11:58 AM

Try this thread which has the step by step info in text.
http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=116187

This is the tutorial I followed to get it done it —> http://3dpixelzone.com/WIP/studio/gnd.htm though in my case I only wanted the shadow to appear as if on the floor.

OK thanks but that all seems to be talking about Shader Mixer which I don’t have since I don’t have DSA (or DS4 yet which I think has Shader Mixer included).

No big problem this probably wouldn’t be much use to me since I need the ground object to be visible in order to produce AO shadows on my standing figures to get them looking right.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 05:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04

That shadow catcher shader over at ShareCG was done in DS4.0 and is in Binary format which means it will only work in DS4.0 and newer builds, that’s what’s causing your error message.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2009-07-01

OK, thx.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1