Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
A (very) newbie question about .obj files
Posted: 10 July 2013 11:28 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  175
Joined  2013-03-30

Hi, at the risk of posing what could be a ridiculous question…. is there a way to make an object (ie. red flower from the Object Library) and save it as an Obj. file to use in DS (without the background)? I’m looking for a way to add some props to my DS scenes without a lot of post-work in Photoshop.

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2013 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13696
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m not quite sure what you mean - you can certainly export OBJ from DS.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2013 11:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1550
Joined  2007-12-10

Yes, there are several ways of doing that.

First, you choose the object you want from the preset library and add it to a blank Bryce scene.
Then select the object and from the ‘File’ menu choose ‘Export Object’
In the window that opens, choose to save as .obj file from the drop down options and give it a name.

Then import into Daz Studio in the norrnal way as any other obj file.

The other way is to use the Daz Bridge but someone else will have to explain that as I don’t use Daz Studio and therefore have no use of the Bridge for exchanging content between the two applications.

Hope this helps.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2013 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  175
Joined  2013-03-30

Sorry for the confusion. I meant saving an object (flower) in Bryce to use in DS. I’d have to save the Obj on the MacBook and open it on the iMac where I have DS. It will be great when I have everything in one place!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2013 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7657
Joined  2009-05-14

Since this is in the Bryce section I am guessing you mean save as an OBJ from Bryce to use in Daz Studio? Yes this can be done but it does depend on how the Bryce object is made.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2013 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3381
Joined  2004-10-01

It could also brought over to Studio via the Bridge. Either way, the materials in Bryce are not fully compatible with the shaders in Studio. It needs some tweaking.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 July 2013 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1550
Joined  2007-12-10

I’m just trying it with the red flower and even though the process completed correctly, there was nothing to import (I use Poser so I tried to import it into Poser).

It seems that the way the flower is made is not immediately ready for export.
You will have to ungroup the object and select each individual mesh and make it ‘Positive’ in the [A]ttibutes menu.
After you’ve done that, select all the mesh parts and re-group them then [C]onvert the resulting boolean to a mesh.
Then it should export correctly. I’ve just done this and successfully imported it into Poser.

Bear in mind that the export process also generates an .mtl file and picture files of any material on the object, so best to save it into it’s own folder that you create specially for it. And as Horo says, the materials will most likely not map into the resulting .obj file in Daz Studio as the mapping modes aren’t entirely compatible, so some adjustment will be necessary.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2013 10:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2007-05-18

Is it my imagination, or is Bryce 7.1 Pro incapable of importing .obj objects?  It doesn’t appear in the list of downloadable file types on my version of Bryce.

Best Regards,

Jason

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2013 10:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06

Bryce can import .obj:

Image Attachments
btyce_imports_obj.jpg
 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 July 2013 11:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2007-05-18

Are you importing it as a file and not an object?

Best Regards,

Jason

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2013 01:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1550
Joined  2007-12-10
learstang - 21 July 2013 11:03 PM

Are you importing it as a file and not an object?

Best Regards,

Jason

Yes, to import an .obj, you use the file menu ‘Import Object’ option.
If you are trying to import an object directly into the pre set library, it has to be an .obp

 

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2013 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2007-05-18

Attached are the error message I get when I first try to import an object, then the list of object files I can actually import.  It’s much smaller than the one in the other post here.

Best Regards,

Jason

Image Attachments
DAZ_Error_Message.jpgDAZ_Import_Files_List.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2013 11:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1550
Joined  2007-12-10

Could you tell us what actual version of Bryce you’re running?

It should be 7.1.0.109

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15330
Joined  2003-10-09

Very strange because all versions of Bryce have been able to import .obj files. Right back to Bryce 2

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2013 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1550
Joined  2007-12-10
chohole - 22 July 2013 12:44 PM

Very strange because all versions of Bryce have been able to import .obj files. Right back to Bryce 2

Yes, that’s what I thought too.
Was asking on the very remote off chance that a not fully functional Beta version had escaped.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 July 2013 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2007-05-18
TheSavage64 - 22 July 2013 11:03 AM

Could you tell us what actual version of Bryce you’re running?

It should be 7.1.0.109

That’s what it appears to be; I’m trying to re-install but running into some problems doing that!  Strange indeed.  Hopefully if I re-install, that will take care of it.  I haven’t had any problem importing .obj files until this version (I can still create them).  Thanks all for the help!

Best Regards,

Jason

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1