Digital Art Zone

 
     
DAZ Studio eating up CPU cycles
Posted: 20 June 2012 06:53 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  304
Joined  2003-10-09

I like to keep scene files of characters I’ve made. It generally makes load time faster than having to load up Genesis and then apply the preset.

But I have been running into a problem where once the scene loads, the CPU cycles keep going… and going… and going.

I have a single Genesis figure loaded right now with just the textures and hair. That’s it. No lights, no special shaders… just the figure, the texture and the hair.

When I made it, it worked great. Even made several images and it all worked fine. Added some stuff - even the whole classroom scene with lots of cool lighting. No problem.

Since then I’ve loaded the single figure scene and the CPU cycle in the task manager keeps bouncing around between 70and 90%!

And yes, I’ve shut down the process and re-opened the app several times.

So… Any ideas?

EDIT TO ADD:

And the tdlmaker isn’t running. Here’s the windows error I got.

Description:
  A problem caused this program to stop interacting with Windows.

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: AppHangB1
  Application Name: DAZStudio.exe
  Application Version: 4.0.3.47
  Application Timestamp: 4f2416ce
  Hang Signature: 70d0
  Hang Type: 7168
  OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Hang Signature 1: 928ed6f30b3c725a3e3760b43754241c
  Additional Hang Signature 2: 8b68
  Additional Hang Signature 3: 8523925f6880fb400c153a389e3fa7c6
  Additional Hang Signature 4: 70d0
  Additional Hang Signature 5: 928ed6f30b3c725a3e3760b43754241c
  Additional Hang Signature 6: 8b68
  Additional Hang Signature 7: 8523925f6880fb400c153a389e3fa7c6

 Signature 

Disrupting trains of thought since…. ohhh shiney!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14442
Joined  2003-10-09

And if you look in the processes tab of Task Manager it’s DS itself using the cycles?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2012 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1862
Joined  2006-02-17

Check to make sure that your OpenGL drivers are current.  Some versions will constantly chew CPU time but “charge it” to the parent application.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile