Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Hello
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

This is my first real render with Carrara, I bought it almost a year ago, played with it a bit, got really frustrated and left it. Now I have lots of time on my hands and want to do some Sci-Fi artwork.

Today I worked out how to get two models in the scene add two lights and position them and render the scene so it looks sort of OK.

Any comments are welcome.

Image Attachments
Car-001.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 10:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4841
Joined  2004-07-01
shumphry - 01 July 2013 09:20 PM

This is my first real render with Carrara, I bought it almost a year ago, played with it a bit, got really frustrated and left it. Now I have lots of time on my hands and want to do some Sci-Fi artwork.

Today I worked out how to get two models in the scene add two lights and position them and render the scene so it looks sort of OK.

Any comments are welcome.

off to a good start !

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2013 01:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

Thank you bigh grin
Next thing is to work out the surfaces and why the psiMan isn’t casting a shadow.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2013 09:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

Made lots of changes and had a tinker in the Texture Room. Some things worked out and others didn’t.
I still cant work out how to get shadows for the psiman without ruining the lighting I have. I also can’t work out why there seems to be light in the scene when all the lights are turned off, I thought with no lights the scene would render black but there is an ambient glow and I don’t know where it’s coming from.

Steve

Image Attachments
psiMan-002.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2109
Joined  2008-01-28

Hi Steve, great you are enjoying yourself.
In Carrara ambient lighting is set at 20 percent by default - just to annoy us.

In the instances list see where it says Scene ? (instances list is that list at middle to bottom right that shows what is in your scene, click on the word “Scene, then up the top you will see some new windos at top right , One of them will habe the ambient setting in it - drag the thingy all the way to the left.

If you cant get shaddows on your robot still, make all the lights invisable, then drop a bulb really close to the robot on the right and see what happens - If no shadows, maybe he is floating off the floor, maybe he has his shadows turned off. Maybe you have shadows turned off in the render room though the light at the back indicates this is not the case?

Nice r enders by the way.

HINt to get your light to be close to the robot, select robot, hold down shift key and select light, then use ctrl k and this will bring up the align tool

 Signature 

http://andrewfinnie.blogspot.com.au/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 07:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

Thank you so much head wax, that has really helped me out. With the ambient gone the scene is as dark as I thought it should and I can see faint shadows from psiman on the floor now. It also gives me a lot of headroom with the lighting.
I will also try your tip for aligning objects.

Thanks again
Steve

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 10:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

This has been one great learning experience and I am really happy with the end result. Six or seven years ago I used to play around with DAZ 2 and Bryce and was starting to get some reasonable results. When I decided to have another try I bought Carrara because I was pretty sure that I could do most of that in the one program, but last year due to personal problems my head wasn’t in the right place to learn new skills.

Some things that have really impressed me with Carrara so far (and I am sure I will find more as I learn) are the control over lighting with every light I have played with so far having fall off and the include/exclude is a real gem and the ability to save renders as photoshop files (found that out watching a youtube video).

I’ll stop rambling on now.

Steve

Image Attachments
psiMan-003.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2007-12-04
shumphry - 03 July 2013 10:17 AM

Some things that have really impressed me with Carrara so far (and I am sure I will find more as I learn) are the control over lighting with every light I have played with so far having fall off and the include/exclude is a real gem and the ability to save renders as photoshop files (found that out watching a youtube video).

Me too!
Wait ‘till you start animating! The timeline (Sequencer) is so freaking cool and easy to use!
Sometimes I’ll spend a whole day just trying new shader settings on one of my characters or scenery elements - not because it really needs it - but because it’s really exciting to see what all of those different shader commands do!
I’m glad that you decided to show renders through this whole thing - as this is the first time I’ve read this thread - and it was really fun to read through as I watched the image improve - even though you had it looking really cool from the start. Man… for starting with two models, you sure picked them right, eh? I remember when that scenery piece was a Work In Progress. I love the artists here at DAZ. So I’m addicted to buying 3d models… could be worse! lol

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

Thank you Dartanbeck, my goal is to do animations at sometime in the future but for now I will stick to static renders and see what other things Carrara can do.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6183
Joined  2007-12-04

If you ever need help taking those first steps… let me know. I love helping.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 09:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5679
Joined  2006-08-27

Welcome! Nice work so far!


To touch on the shadow issue a bit:

For the light, you can adjust the shadow intensity. If you’ve turned that down, then it can be washed out more easily. Another possibility is Raytraced Soft Shadows which are located under the light’s effects tab. When enabled, the higher the light radius (think hundreds of feet) can make the shadow more diffuse and can blend it in to the environment, making it harder to see.


The first image you posted looked as if you had enabled Indirect Light. With the right lighting it can also cause your shadows to become more diffuse. Especially if there isn’t a light shining directly on the model, in which case whatever shadow is created would be created with lower intensity reflected light, which would also mean the shadow could get washed out easier.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2013 09:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5679
Joined  2006-08-27

I also forgot:

You mentioned the ability to exclude and include objects to light. If you have a light only shining on the robot and excluding all other objects, that could account for not seeing a shadow from that light.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2013 01:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

Thanks for all the tips evilproducer, I did have Indirect Light on with the lighting quality set to excellent in the first one, also the front light was set to illuminate the figure only because the spill made the background to bright. Also thanks for pointing out the effects tab, I hadn’t noticed it yet, now I’ve got another cool feature to play with.

Steve

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2013 02:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-08-08
shumphry - 04 July 2013 01:38 AM

Thanks for all the tips evilproducer, I did have Indirect Light on with the lighting quality set to excellent in the first one, also the front light was set to illuminate the figure only because the spill made the background to bright. Also thanks for pointing out the effects tab, I hadn’t noticed it yet, now I’ve got another cool feature to play with.

Steve

I have to warn you. You are starting to get addicted to Carrara. The more you use Carrara, the harder it will be to stop. It is so much fun. So if you are not very sure you want to do animation with Carrara, shut it down and never touch it again before you discover the other features. So far there is no cure for it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2013 03:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  27
Joined  2013-07-01

That’s great advice Pjotter but I am afraid you were a bit late. I’ve just purchased DP Carrara Master Collection Shaders and by the time I’ve finished having a look at them I am sure I will be a lost cause. grin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2013 04:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  125
Joined  2008-08-08
shumphry - 04 July 2013 03:31 AM

That’s great advice Pjotter but I am afraid you were a bit late. I’ve just purchased DP Carrara Master Collection Shaders and by the time I’ve finished having a look at them I am sure I will be a lost cause. grin

Because you are now beyond the point of saving, some more drugs:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/21414/

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1