Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 8
4
DAZ! PLEASE bring back the DAZ Installers!
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:26 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 09:22 PM
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:12 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 07:25 PM

Resistance is futile.


=P

Try telling that to Captain Kirk. wink

I tried. He only tried to sell me discounts via Priceline.

Heh, and how did that go? wink

Not very well. /Expedia user

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1163
Joined  2006-04-16
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 09:36 PM
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:26 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 09:22 PM
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:12 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 07:25 PM

Resistance is futile.


=P

Try telling that to Captain Kirk. wink

I tried. He only tried to sell me discounts via Priceline.

Heh, and how did that go? wink

Not very well. /Expedia user

I bet he was bummed then tried to kiss you, yes? :D

 Signature 

Genesis is head & shoulders above “Genesis 2” (or better known as BF2/BM2) and is the FAR superior figure. Why? It doesn’t suffer from the UN-necessary gender split

My DeviantArt Page.

ULTIMATE SUPER-HERO FREEBIES!

The Supersuit product comes with a Basic Supersuit. DAZ has finally fixed it’s UV’s. Re-Download now to receive the update. Thanks DAZ! smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:48 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 09:36 PM
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:26 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 09:22 PM
Knight22179 - 01 July 2013 09:12 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 07:25 PM

Resistance is futile.


=P

Try telling that to Captain Kirk. wink

I tried. He only tried to sell me discounts via Priceline.

Heh, and how did that go? wink

Not very well. /Expedia user

I bet he was bummed then tried to kiss you, yes? :D

I don’t think I was alien enough for him. lol

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10938
Joined  2007-11-06
tsarist - 30 June 2013 11:54 PM
Knight22179 - 30 June 2013 10:02 PM

I find the DAZ installers much easier for me to use. I went to download some stuff I hadn’t downloaded yet from my account and all I see is Zip files. DAZ, PLEASE bring back the DAZ installers! With the DAZ installers, I can easily access my stuff. For example. If I want to load up hair, I load it up and then I see Materials right there right next to the file where I loaded my hair and I can click on it to see what colors to color my hair. Not so with these dumb ZIP files. Now I have to go to two completely different areas in my Runtime which is tedious and unneccesary. PLEASE bring back the DAZ installers! I never had this problem ever since Genesis came along. Now everything installs where I don’t want it to be.

I hear you Knight.

I liked the old installers. A couple clicks and you’re done. Perfect.

But so many other people said they couldn’t get the installers to work at all.

I hate ZIPs, but I guess now everyone can buy and USE the products now.

...my issues with some of the older installers was how they often made a mess of the Studio/Content folder which, unlike the Poser Runtime was also very poorly organised to boot.  There would be folders in the tree like Data, Templates, and even Readme which showed in the Daz/Content tree in the application.  Sometimes a prop was in “environments” sometimes an environment set was in “props”, sometimes Daz lights were under a vendors name, or some other unrelated folder instead of the “lights” one. 

A lot of this had to do with sloppy packaging.  For example, the Woodland Realms Playset 1 had an issue with the texture files installing to the wrong subfolder in Content/Runtime/Textures. This had to be manually moved to the correct location (after noting down said location from the “Can’t Find…” error message that would appear when one attempted to load the set).

With later content installers, much of this was cleaned up, particularly when there was no longer the need to separate Poser & Daz shader files.

I originally had no issue with idea of moving to .zip archives and even welcomed the change as I have a custom setup and actually preferred the drag & drop method since it gave me full control where everything went according to the instructions given. If something was amiss (which BTW never occurred with Rendo, RDNA or Xurge content), it usually meant I accidentally dropped it in the wrong folder (usually the one just above or below).  Easy fix.

So I was all ready for the change, until 4.x and Genesis, which introduced entirely new layer of locations to deal with.  Content/plugins specifically for 4.x and Genesis had to go into separate folders to work correctly.  Ok so a few more steps but as long as there are good instructions as to what needed to go where, it was a minor inconvenience.  Oh wait, there’s this thing called the CMS and Smart Content I have to be concerned about that rely on the Metadata files to work.  Say what? You mean I need to suddenly become a DB manager as well and make sure the database is up to date so I can find things?

It was one thing to organise my caddy in the painting studio at college, Brushes here, paints there, mixers and medums in that drawer, etc, but now one misplaced piece of data and, “hey, where’s that dress I needed for Leela that I just bought?”.

Finally, along comes the DIM, an automated download and install tool (which by the way was in beta development) which just made things even more complex than they needed to be.  Now I have to mess with setting all these filters, paths, library sets, get it to properly recognise my username, etc, etc, etc. 

So back to the ol’ drag & drop again, until…

...whaddya mean there’s no readme.txt?  Just about very .zip content file commercial and freebie I’ve ever installed before Daz changed to the installer format included a readme.txt. Where is some of this 4.x/Genesis stuff supposed to go so it doesn’t break when I try to load it? The ,exe installers used to handle all this for me, now unless I use the DIM (which I still am unable to get working properly), I have to guess at where to place things, and if I guess wrong I have to go back take it all out and all over try again.

A well organised runtime is the best means of content management especially if it is geared to one’s style of workflow.  It’s not rocket surgery and doesn’t requires some background process to work. As long as the critical components like Data, Geometries, and Textures are in their proper locations there should be no path error issues. 

The bottom line is, why is it so hard to simply distill the these instructions into a readme.txt that is included in the archive package? It would make this process so much simpler for those who choose not to, or cannot, use the DIM.

If that’s not to be, I’m with Knight22179 and tsarist: bring back the Daz installers.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 10:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
Kyoto Kid - 01 July 2013 09:51 PM

So I was all ready for the change, until 4.x and Genesis, which introduced entirely new layer of locations to deal with.  Content/plugins specifically for 4.x and Genesis had to go into separate folders to work correctly.

Not true.

Kyoto Kid - 01 July 2013 09:51 PM

Where is some of this 4.x/Genesis stuff supposed to go so it doesn’t break when I try to load it? The ,exe installers used to handle all this for me, now unless I use the DIM (which I still am unable to get working properly), I have to guess at where to place things, and if I guess wrong I have to go back take it all out and all over try again.

Extract to a temporary location.
Select everything inside the “Content” folder.
Drag it into your content folder, whatever it’s called.

Kyoto Kid - 01 July 2013 09:51 PM

A well organised runtime is the best means of content management especially if it is geared to one’s style of workflow.  It’s not rocket surgery and doesn’t requires some background process to work. As long as the critical components like Data, Geometries, and Textures are in their proper locations there should be no path error issues.

You can still do that.  No one says you have to use Smart Content or Categories.

 

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 10:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10938
Joined  2007-11-06
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 08:42 PM
Kyoto Kid - 01 July 2013 08:36 PM

The Zips would be nice if they included a readme.txt file with the product like other stores and even most freebie creators provide.  I mean how much space does this take up, 2 - 5K?  No instead it has to be more complicated in that the product information files are only accessible online and are often woefully inadequate (and in some cases, nonexistent).  I don’t download to my workstation as it is a standalone. I don’t even bother with DL-ing from home as I have a slow connection which experiences frequent timeouts and resets which kill or corrupt the download. I DL to a notebook at a hotspot that has a high sped connection then go home to transfer the files to the workstation via USB stick.

I have the ReadMe info in my DIM zips. o_O

/edit
I’ve never installed a DIM zip by hand. All of the ReadMe info gets installed to a subfolder of whichever runtime I’m currently installing to in DIM.

...as I mentioned, the DIM has never worked right for me since it was introduced. I found I was wasting more time struggling with getting it to work, than it would take me to simply extract the components to a temp folder and doing the ol’ drag & drop from there.

Again I use two systems The workstation is not online.  I cannot download from home because of my slow erratic connection. A 40 - 50MB file can take up to an hour provided it isn’t interrupted by a timeout, or corrupted by a network reset.  Something highly detailed that is 100MB or more can take several hours.

So for my purpose, the DIM is totally useless.  Daz went too far in optimising it’s installers exclusively for the DIM. This was something that I was afraid might possibly occur once they abandoned the .exe installers.

Either they need to return to the option of .exe installers again, or also offer .zip files set up for manual installation as well as the DIM ones that include a detailed readme.txt in the package.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 10:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Administrator
RankRank
Total Posts:  305
Joined  2012-06-12

Its a zip, it isn’t really optimized for anything. The only real difference between it and the .exe installers is the extra manifest file which just is there to say what all the files in the package are. All of the zips were built from the .exe installers, so if a ReadMe existed before, it should be in there.

As for the downloading on a slow connection, yeah, that really blows. What you can do is download on your laptop with DIM, copy the packages over to your home computer, and use DIM in offline mode to install. That is if you are up to messing with it again to see if you have better luck. Also, if you don’t mind too much, resume support is coming soon in DIM so if you did want to download from home, it could be a simple “set it and forget it” type thing that runs over night.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 11:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10938
Joined  2007-11-06

...tried that but it didn’t work.  DIM on the workstation wouldn’t load anything into its database.

As to overnight downloads, that still isn’t an option as again my connection is also somewhat unstable due to the fact I’m in a slight “shadow” for wireless signals. Therefore my connection is prone to timing out or resetting which interrupts the download process.  I’ll usually get only a portion of the total installer as a “PART” file or on some occasions the complete installer but with corrupted data.

When I tested the the Genesis Essentials one time, the remaining download time that was returned was 56 hours.  The next day I went to a hotspot and it took 22 minutes.


Note: As I was writing this, the signal dropped completely and I had to reconnect. That is how unstable my connection is.


I cannot afford to go with a direct cable or hard wire connection as they involve long term contract obligations with penalties for early termination and have monthly connection limits which govern not only downloads, but uploads, streaming, as well as any other activity on the net (which includes participating on these forums). The plan I am on is a month to month one with no activity limit.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2013 12:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  533
Joined  2005-09-12
Kyoto Kid - 01 July 2013 10:14 PM
Vaskania - 01 July 2013 08:42 PM
Kyoto Kid - 01 July 2013 08:36 PM

The Zips would be nice if they included a readme.txt file with the product like other stores and even most freebie creators provide.  I mean how much space does this take up, 2 - 5K?  No instead it has to be more complicated in that the product information files are only accessible online and are often woefully inadequate (and in some cases, nonexistent).  I don’t download to my workstation as it is a standalone. I don’t even bother with DL-ing from home as I have a slow connection which experiences frequent timeouts and resets which kill or corrupt the download. I DL to a notebook at a hotspot that has a high sped connection then go home to transfer the files to the workstation via USB stick.

I have the ReadMe info in my DIM zips. o_O

/edit
I’ve never installed a DIM zip by hand. All of the ReadMe info gets installed to a subfolder of whichever runtime I’m currently installing to in DIM.

...as I mentioned, the DIM has never worked right for me since it was introduced. I found I was wasting more time struggling with getting it to work, than it would take me to simply extract the components to a temp folder and doing the ol’ drag & drop from there.

Again I use two systems The workstation is not online.  I cannot download from home because of my slow erratic connection. A 40 - 50MB file can take up to an hour provided it isn’t interrupted by a timeout, or corrupted by a network reset.  Something highly detailed that is 100MB or more can take several hours.

So for my purpose, the DIM is totally useless.  Daz went too far in optimising it’s installers exclusively for the DIM. This was something that I was afraid might possibly occur once they abandoned the .exe installers.

Either they need to return to the option of .exe installers again, or also offer .zip files set up for manual installation as well as the DIM ones that include a detailed readme.txt in the package.

Yeah - my workstation is off-line as well.

And I’ll trade you home connections. Mine is 50 Kbs dial-up, with a mandatory disconnect at 8 hours.

So I use my laptop to do my downloads - with DIM. I fire it up, pick & choose what I want to pull down, and hit ‘add to queue’. Then I read the forums here or do general web surfing while the downloads click along.

When I get home I transfer the files to the other system (I use a shared disk, but thumb drive is just as viable). And then I use DIM in off-line mode to do the installs on the workstation. I’m not running into any trouble with this (so far - 2,000 + items installed).

On the laptop, after copying the files to the main system I ‘install’ with DIM to a dummy directory and let DIM delete the installers. Then I delete the contents of the dummy directory. Net result - my laptop copy of DIM knows what I’ve downloaded, and can inform me of updates. And I don’t have gigabytes of laptop storage occupied by zip files.

All I can say is—it works for me.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2013 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  147
Joined  2012-03-06

Is there someplace in the Forum where there is a list of what the extensions on the downloadable files mean?

Like which files go with what software and which version?

They seem to be changing regularly (Granted I don’t download too often.)

Can an explanation of the files be made into a “Sticky”?

And kept updated.

And locked so people won’t have to search between comments.

 Signature 

The Cashew Gallery (PG-13)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2013 04:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15586
Joined  2003-10-09

https://helpdaz.zendesk.com/entries/22890557-Understanding-Content-File-Types

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2013 06:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1489
Joined  2010-02-14

Something I’ve always suspected with the ZIP files was, everything from those to the DIM is setup to get people to use the Smart Content feature, not that I’m complaining (I LOVE the DIM and Smart Content). I know content installed via DIM can be accessed just as well in the Content Library, but still…

Image Attachments
39451972[1].jpg
 Signature 

“I’m sorry, I can’t hear you over the sound of how awesome I am!” ~ Brextor Ultimus

FORUM MEMBER POST RANKS
New Member = 0
Member = 25
Active Member = 250
Power Member = 1000
Addict = 2500

My Art Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2013 06:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10938
Joined  2007-11-06

...after what I just learned today, definitely more than just coincidence.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2013 07:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
RCDeschene - 05 July 2013 06:26 PM

Something I’ve always suspected with the ZIP files was, everything from those to the DIM is setup to get people to use the Smart Content feature, not that I’m complaining (I LOVE the DIM and Smart Content). I know content installed via DIM can be accessed just as well in the Content Library, but still…

I’m not sure I follow—other than removing the readme’s and having them online (which is unrelated to DIM or zips), how are they setup to get people to use Smart Content?  You can look in a zip to see exactly what the folder structure is, which you can’t in an installer.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 July 2013 07:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
Kyoto Kid - 05 July 2013 06:46 PM

...after what I just learned today, definitely more than just coincidence.

What does not having version numbers have to do with using the Smart Content tab?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 8
4