Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 8
2
DAZ! PLEASE bring back the DAZ Installers!
Posted: 01 July 2013 03:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  487
Joined  2011-11-12

I hated the hell out of the installers. If you had to do a mass install it would take HOURS! With zips, even if you’re using DIM, it takes much, much less time. It might help if you told us a bit about your runtime structure. Life without installers is a simpler life. Once you’ve got it figured out you’ll see that you’ve needlessly wasted countless hours of your life.

 Signature 

My 3D/DAZ/Poser news blog - DigiSprawl

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13928
Joined  2003-10-09

What did the installers give that DIM doesn’t, generally with fewer clicks?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
ilnyne - 30 June 2013 10:43 PM

It would have been nice if they could have given us ZIP files, and kept the installers too. But I guess that would have made too much sense.

Also, it would be nice if the ZIP files were set up so that I could actually UNZIP them to my Runtime, instead of drag-and-drop. I guess they’re optimized for DAZ Studio users?

Actually they’re optimized for the Daz Install Manager.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2011-02-06

I think the new zip files are much better, because downloading and installing them is faster.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  927
Joined  2003-10-09
Richard Haseltine - 01 July 2013 07:02 AM

What did the installers give that DIM doesn’t, generally with fewer clicks?

Readme’s : )

The issue I think really is you’re trying to get people that have been used to doing things a certain way for years, to do things in a totally new way. For people like that, used to doing things the old way, who were comfortable with how things were and didn’t ask for a change. They’re being forced to have to adopt a new way with no perceived benefits. People that didn’t like the installers if nothing else have the perceived benefit of having their request for zips granted and so they generally are okay with the change.

In time people will adjust even stubborn ones, because they’ll have to. Over time hopefully they’ll recognize benefits like that the zips should take up less space to store and that if they have Norton anti virus they don’t have to deal with files being quarantined simply because not enough of the Norton community has downloaded and trusted them yet.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  433
Joined  2009-07-24

If not for DIM, I would not like the current zips. With DIM, I think they are an improvement. I’m not one to tweak where I place my files, I use the content manager to find them.
Much saner for me.

 Signature 

Someone please tell me what is so great about this century.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 07:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18

At first I was worried about the zips, but after I got a bunch of them I can say it saved me a ton of time installing. And I don’t use DIM because I like to organize my content manually and there is no way the program could tell how to do it.

So the zips did win me over. I just extract all of them at once into my fake runtime. Then I move them over to my real runtime accordingly.

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  521
Joined  2006-07-28

I’ve stopped extracting them.  I drag the folders I need right out of the zip to my temp install location.  This copies them to the new location, not moves them.  Once there, I rename the folders to match the product names, then drag them to the proper location in my runtimes.  I also move all files from the temp install folder before I move on to the next zip file.  It causes less grief this way.

I still get excess folders that I have to delete when vendors put files in their subfolders because I only categorize a few products by vendor.  But I don’t have to deal with deleting the Content folder (I still don’t get why DAZ puts it in the zips), or the “support” folder/files (which I also can’t see any purpose for).

Still ... despite the extra clicks the installers needed and the annoyances of installers that wouldn’t run, I am even more annoyed to find I also prefer them over DAZ zips.  And that just makes absolutely no sense because zips should be easier to deal with than those installers. 

I also prefer to download manually.  Not like it’s all that difficult to do.  I either take a few extra steps to download the file manually into the proper download folders, or I take more extra steps to cleanup after D3DIM.  Those few extra steps are less masochistic than having to cleanup after D3DIM.  The majority of product updates seem to be for DS anyway, so it doesn’t bother me that by not using D3DIM, I don’t know when there are updates.

larsmidnatt - 01 July 2013 07:54 AM

At first I was worried about the zips, but after I got a bunch of them I can say it saved me a ton of time installing. And I don’t use DIM because I like to organize my content manually and there is no way the program could tell how to do it.

So the zips did win me over. I just extract all of them at once into my fake runtime. Then I move them over to my real runtime accordingly.

 Signature 

Satira Capriccio on deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  161
Joined  2004-01-07

Yeah I like the new system, the old way when you had a long list of files, both PC and Mac was a nightmare..  Not sure what happened to the sort by and show only PC or Mac files mode of the old system..  Not sure why they removed it back then but now with this new system it is just easy to tick a bunch of files and hit download and have them installed where you want them to be..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1581
Joined  2008-11-10

I finally had to use the DIM on my Mac since you have to be careful with zips on older MacOS version as it doesn’t merge directories… it replaces them… so you could easily wipe gigs worth of data if you aren’t careful.

That said it was a lot easier to install the files I wanted without a bunch of clicks.

But I did remember thinking when people demanded zips… “be careful what you ask for, ‘cause you just might get it”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2302
Joined  2010-12-18
Satira Capriccio - 01 July 2013 09:22 AM

I’ve stopped extracting them.  I drag the folders I need right out of the zip to my temp install location.  This copies them to the new location, not moves them.  Once there, I rename the folders to match the product names, then drag them to the proper location in my runtimes.  I also move all files from the temp install folder before I move on to the next zip file.  It causes less grief this way.

Sounds like we are doing about the same thing. Sounds like you are extracting them too, just in a different way. Other difference is I do dump a months worth of zips into my temp runtime and clean up afterward instead of one zip at a time. I select all the zips at once, tell winrar to extract them all into the same temp folder. Then I go in and organize as needed.

It took me two months of gathering before I installed content this go around, I’m going to try to be better about it. It’s just been that I grab stuff that I don’t need immediately so it just sits around. I’ve got a ton of stuff that is indefinitely on the “not installed” list that may never get used.

Some of that stuff I purchased really thinking I would use immediately. LOL

 Signature 

My deviantArt Pinup Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 09:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2826
Joined  2006-07-31

I like zips better. Don’t use DIM but manual installation is so much quicker than via installers: open hotkeyed folder, with embedded zip viewer open the zip, select all, copy, done, - instead of going step by step through the same bajillion clicks.

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2656
Joined  2004-04-25

The DIM works well as a download manager to get the downloads done.  If you are a Poser user with multiple and, in some cases, very specific types of external runtimes, it doesn’t do much as an install manager.

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 11:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  746
Joined  2005-12-12
FSMCDesigns - 30 June 2013 10:12 PM

LOL, and to think there was such an outcry FOR the zips.

Well there were always some who wanted to keep the installers, so it was to be expected there would be a sort of anti-outcry. That being said, I was and am still surprised how well the change to zips has been received.

But frankly, I don’t see that much of a difference, anyway. With the installers you have to know where to extract your stuff. With the zip files you have to know where to extract your stuff.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 July 2013 12:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03
LordHardDriven - 01 July 2013 07:20 AM
Richard Haseltine - 01 July 2013 07:02 AM

What did the installers give that DIM doesn’t, generally with fewer clicks?

Readme’s : )

All of my stuff, save for a few, all have the ReadMe’s in the zips. If your products don’t have ReadMe’s, then the product itself needs to be upgraded to have one. That’s not a fault of DIM, it’s a fault of whoever creates the ReadMe’s and packs the zip.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 8
2