Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 4
2
All of my characters just updated in DIM
Posted: 30 June 2013 02:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2008-02-26

Eh, this DIM crap is annoying. We will not spend another dime on content, until DAZ sets up an update notification section. It’s just another move to force people to put more of their software on our machines.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4990
Joined  2005-08-03
TheKD - 30 June 2013 02:29 PM

Eh, this DIM crap is annoying. We will not spend another dime on content, until DAZ sets up an update notification section. It’s just another move to force people to put more of their software on our machines.

You mean like this?
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/3885/

Other than that, the product updates will be shown in DIM separately in the Ready to Download tab above the rest of your products.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 02:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  182
Joined  2008-02-26

Not quite, I am talking about from DAZ themselves, users should not have to notify each other of updates, that is DAZ job. We don’t use the DIM, don’t want to use the DIM.. Not everyone wants the program. We do not allow the art machine to touch the internet at all, it doesn’t have an ethernet or wifi adapter installed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 02:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4990
Joined  2005-08-03

Some people install DIM to their internet machine, and then manually transfer the zips to their workstation. The problem I see with on-site product updates vs DIM is that on-site can’t keep track of your currently installed version the way DIM can.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 02:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2009-01-09

At this point, I think I’m going to leave them alone until Monday when DAZ is open for work again. All of those characters seem to be perfectly functional without being updated at the moment. Hopefully, on Monday, maybe one of the moderators might ask someone at DAZ what’s going on?

It looks like Gabi was DUFed for DSON back in October 2012. Gorilla may have been DUFed in March 2013, when Poser CF files were added.

 Signature 

VWrangler at deviantArt (NSFW for some images; login required to view those)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4990
Joined  2005-08-03
vwrangler - 30 June 2013 02:56 PM

At this point, I think I’m going to leave them alone until Monday when DAZ is open for work again. All of those characters seem to be perfectly functional without being updated at the moment. Hopefully, on Monday, maybe one of the moderators might ask someone at DAZ what’s going on?

It looks like Gabi was DUFed for DSON back in October 2012. Gorilla may have been DUFed in March 2013, when Poser CF files were added.

That’s what I’m doing. I have them downloaded, but not installed, same with M5’s updated nether region. After the fiasco with the change in V5’s girly bits, I haven’t installed M5’s updated bit either.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  472
Joined  2007-07-15
Slosh - 30 June 2013 12:31 PM

Well, now 6 of this morning’s updates are on the list again.  Gabi for V5, Gunner for D5, Mavka for Genesis, Riley for S5, Tori for V5, Arashi for H5 were all updated at the time of my original post, but here they are again in DIM, and actually not in the “Products to be updated” category, just listed as Products to dl and install.

LOL.  I’ve just been writing about this in another thread:
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/24869/

 

 Signature 

Cayman’s ROOFTOP (DAZ Gallery)      ***      Cayman Studios (Store)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 05:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1060
Joined  2010-11-30

I’ve got most of the stuff I know that has been updated added to the Genesis Update list and I’m mentioning when the DIM files were updated when I know that.  (Which has been me actually spending a good bit of time looking at files that have been reported as being updated.)  So hopefully all that work will result in some of the updating problems not occurring for some updating.

Pulling all the older stand alone installers and leaving just the DIM versions wasn’t a good idea as many of the older ones still had the current versions.  It would have been better to pull the standalone installers only when a newer version of the product was released that would be in DIM only format as the only way to tell when something was updated is to download and look at the files now.

Aside from files having the same names and different dates.  I also saw some that had slightly different spellings in the name so both show up.

I don’t use DIM because of limited net access and prefer to have actually installers.  Plus, I sometimes am on a temp work computer that has no net access because of security issues that I need to load DAZ stuff on to do evidence displays.

I also haven’t been installing a lot of newer content because of the constant updates.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 07:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3055
Joined  2004-10-25

I also had a few Gen5 updates today as well.  I, for one, would like some way for DIM to show (perhaps in the Show Details area) what was actually updated.  Sometimes I think there’s been an update because the tags have been changed.  I have a spreadsheet with all the items I’ve downloaded through DIM and what their tags are, and sometimes that’s the only change I can see.

Other than that, it would be nice to be able to know what was actually updated, especially if someone submitted a bug report because something was missing from the new zip file for the product.

 Signature 

OK . . . Where’s my chocolate?     Post Count —> 3,263 and growing!     Visit my Renderosity Gallery

It’s what you learn after you know it all that counts ~ John Wooden

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 08:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  447
Joined  0

I just let them update, No noticeable changes. Nothing to worry about…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 08:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9572
Joined  2007-11-06
Jay_NOLA - 30 June 2013 05:58 PM

Pulling all the older stand alone installers and leaving just the DIM versions wasn’t a good idea as many of the older ones still had the current versions.  It would have been better to pull the standalone installers only when a newer version of the product was released that would be in DIM only format as the only way to tell when something was updated is to download and look at the files now.

My guess is that they are pulling the installers for ordinary content (as opposed to plugins/software) because of the number of times people are confused over what they need to download.  Since the DIM zips and installers have the same content, it was just causing confusion to have both available.

Jay_NOLA - 30 June 2013 05:58 PM

I don’t use DIM because of limited net access and prefer to have actually installers.  Plus, I sometimes am on a temp work computer that has no net access because of security issues that I need to load DAZ stuff on to do evidence displays.

You can install with DIM in offline mode—next time you need to download an installer, download the zip instead, sneaker-net it into the downloads folder on the offline machine, and install with DIM there.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 08:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8017
Joined  2012-09-10

I don’t use DIM and unless I’m mistaken, all I need to do s go to Product Library and look and see if the version number has changed, right? I normally install when I’m getting ready to use it.

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 08:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2695
Joined  2012-02-04

The Product Library doesn’t show version numbers for DIM ZIP files. (:

 Signature 

New member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 08:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4990
Joined  2005-08-03

Post is invalid thanks to Barbult. lol

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis (DS)
Free Script: Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2 (DS/Poser)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 June 2013 10:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8017
Joined  2012-09-10

Well, guess it doesn’t matter if I a downloading when I need it, it will be the latest file there is smile

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 4
2