Digital Art Zone

 
     
Render artifacts in Daz
Posted: 20 June 2012 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3520
Joined  2009-08-05

Why am I getting these colour squares?

Image Attachments
error.jpg
 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 06:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2005-01-14

My guess is uberenvironment + deep shadow maps. It’s a known issue, try moving the camera a little and make sure nothing is blocking its pov. I had this happen to me acouple of times but never with version 47. Alternatively you could switch to raytraced shadows.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 06:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3520
Joined  2009-08-05

But I like deep shadows:( oh well…

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3420
Joined  2007-06-22

I use deep shadows the majority of the time and have only had this problem on the very odd occasion, I’m sure I’ve also read somewhere that it has to do with memory.
The time I had it the worse was when using the Visual Toon shaders.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 11:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3520
Joined  2009-08-05

But I have an I7 2600 with 8GB DDR3 running daz64bit.. I doubt its ram. I can easily fix with postwork but sometimes it appears on a place that I cannot just clone stamp out lol. Oh well, Just to be safe I’ll try with raytrace and soften the shadow blur and see if I like it. Thanks guys.

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 11:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1308
Joined  2006-03-14

My understanding is that this is a renderman (the render engine behind DS) issue.  The slight camera tweak ( alittle roll or angle) and often they’ll go away.  The only sure fire method to eliminate them is to switch from DSM to Raytraced Shadows.

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 12:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1167
Joined  2007-11-30

I used to get some of them using LDP2, but not very often. I think it’s something to do with the angle of what is reflected (due to how the adjusting the camera might fix this issue). But I am mostly using raytracing with UE2, so this issue is moot for me. Besides, I discovered that UE2 gave better shadows than Shadow-mapping does, and is waaaay faster on rendertime!

Profile