Digital Art Zone

 
     
Exporting obj files from DS4.6 with correct group names
Posted: 28 June 2013 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2007-10-30

Basically, how do I get DS4.6 to export an obj file with the correct group names, like “hip” and “chest”?

I’ve tried all of the options under “Write Groups” but none of them give the correct names. “Use existing groups” seems to get the groups right, but gets the names wrong. “Use Node Name(s)” and “Use Figure Name(s)” dumps everything into a single group with the wrong name. And of course “Use Material Name(s)” isn’t it either.

 Signature 

You can follow my work on the following sites:
http://www.sharecg.com/p…p?pf_user_name=semicharm
http://semicharm.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2013 03:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13642
Joined  2003-10-09

Use existing should do it - remember that the group name may not be the same as the bone label, though it should still be recognisable.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 June 2013 10:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2007-10-30

Nope, all I get is names like “Group_01”, “Group_02”, “Group_03”, etc. None too helpful. I had to re-import it to figure them out and then edit the obj by hand to fix names. It would have made more sense to just use the bone label in the first place.

 Signature 

You can follow my work on the following sites:
http://www.sharecg.com/p…p?pf_user_name=semicharm
http://semicharm.deviantart.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2013 12:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  412
Joined  2007-07-15

Is this likely to be of any interest?  It has just been released.

 Signature 

Cayman’s ROOFTOP (DAZ Gallery)      ***      Cayman Studios (Store)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2013 01:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  707
Joined  2012-07-21

Write groups -> Use Existing Groups does work for me.
What figure are you trying to export, and what software are you loading it into ?

 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
me at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 June 2013 05:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13642
Joined  2003-10-09

ZBrush, at least 4R5, has been losing group names at some point, not sure if that’s import or export though and I haven’t installed the new version yet to see if that’s better.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile