Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 4
1
Cloudflare Annoyance
Posted: 27 June 2013 05:50 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19

For the last week or so, my desktop keeps giving me the Cloudflare ‘This website is down’ page when I try and read individual forum messages - I can get as far as the individual sub-forums such as The Commons, which shows that topics are updating and the website isn’t down, but not further than that.

My laptop can get straight through without an issue.

Both are running Opera 12, the only difference between the two is that the laptop runs under XP, the Desktop under Vista.

Deleting DAZ cookies has no effect.

Any suggestions?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15238
Joined  2003-10-09

Hard refresh will often help

Ctrl+F5   or     Shift+Browser refresh button   or           Shift+Ctrl+R   depending on the browser.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 05:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  99
Joined  2012-04-12

That was only happening to me when I was browsing via mobile. I kept getting around it by going to the DAZ3D homepage and going back into the forums from there. It wasn’t a fix but I got around it. :S

 Signature 

I’m usually on deviantART or Tumblr.
Find my renders at here, there and at DAZ.

Soy de otras tierras.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 05:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  665
Joined  2006-11-10

I can reproduce this consistently on mobile if I’m not logged in.

 Signature 

Old post count: 3,394,206

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 06:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19

Thanks for the suggestions.

Hard refresh doesn’t make a difference - not too surprising given I’m having it happen even on pages I haven’t looked at before.

Coming in from the DAZ homepage doesn’t help.

Even emptying the cache, exiting Opera and restarting it isn’t helping.

I’ve also deleted Cloudflare and DAZ cookies without effect.

Any other suggestions?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 07:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2009-08-21

I’m having the same problem with Opera, works fine if I log in though ...so far.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 09:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2549
Joined  2004-04-25

Is this anything like a solar flare?  Just kidding…

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  390
Joined  2012-02-05

I’m on a broadband service on my desktop and this happens, too. Not always, but often enough it gets annoying.

 Signature 

Follow the exploits of SERVANT in this digital comic series! The First Issue is Free to Download!
or as a webcomic at http://servant.thecomicseries.com/

Check out my Deviantart Gallery, Facebook page, and over at the DAZ Art Studio.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

I have no idea what Cloudflare is, but I use Chrome on both Win7 and Android and have zero issues.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-02-12

Don’t know for Opera but I had it with FF recently. As I use Noscript Cloudflare was forbidden to launch script. After allowing it I had no more problem till now

 Signature 

My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  892
Joined  2007-01-04

Someone has changed something so that now to view threads you need to be logged in.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 11:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  787
Joined  2005-09-19

Logged in, logged out, it makes no difference.

For the ppl who don’t know what Cloudflare is, it’s a sort of web-backup service, if a site crashes, it’s supposed to direct you to a copy (or at least a site-down message) on the Cloudflare servers until it comes back up, but I’m getting their basic ‘This site is down’ message even when DAZ is up and running.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 12:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2549
Joined  2004-04-25

I looked it up.  CloudFlare is a content delivery network and domain name server that is supposed to improve website performance and security.

It’s a company and not something that happens to cloud servers.

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15238
Joined  2003-10-09
DWG - 27 June 2013 11:53 AM

Logged in, logged out, it makes no difference.

For the ppl who don’t know what Cloudflare is, it’s a sort of web-backup service, if a site crashes, it’s supposed to direct you to a copy (or at least a site-down message) on the Cloudflare servers until it comes back up, but I’m getting their basic ‘This site is down’ message even when DAZ is up and running.

IT is a network of servers, so it could be that the local Cloud server had a hiccup. They are world wide it appears.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        E Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2549
Joined  2004-04-25
chohole - 27 June 2013 01:08 PM
DWG - 27 June 2013 11:53 AM

Logged in, logged out, it makes no difference.

For the ppl who don’t know what Cloudflare is, it’s a sort of web-backup service, if a site crashes, it’s supposed to direct you to a copy (or at least a site-down message) on the Cloudflare servers until it comes back up, but I’m getting their basic ‘This site is down’ message even when DAZ is up and running.

IT is a network of servers, so it could be that the local Cloud server had a hiccup. They are world wide it appears.

Do clouds hiccup?  Sorry, Cho, couldn’t resist…

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 June 2013 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  10698
Joined  2007-11-06

...my issue is it keeps giving me a blank reply form after I click on Submit Post. or I’m routed to my account page rather than back to the thread I’m on.


And yes, I clear my cache regularly.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 4
1