Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Genesis 2 female / Victoria 6 has no numbered surface names
Posted: 21 June 2013 10:18 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2013 12:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14004
Joined  2003-10-09

You can, if you wish, rename the materials using the Polygon Group Editor in DS. It might even be possible to write a script to do the job that could be run just before export.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2013 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2013 03:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14004
Joined  2003-10-09

Permanently changing the names would break material presets, that’s why I was suggesting having a script to do the job as the last step before exporting. The Developer Discussions forum is for scripting.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2013 05:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 June 2013 06:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2013 12:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1142
Joined  2004-06-13

Never mind, late and didn’t understand the question on the first reading.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2013 03:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2013 06:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  636
Joined  2011-03-26

edited and removed by user

 Signature 

DAZ User Gallery / Facebook / Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2013 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2832
Joined  2004-04-14

The numbered surfaces only excist on Genesis, M4 and V4.  No Generation 3 character has numbered surfaces.  However, on the surface tab in DS46, if you look under “Legacy Surfaces” you will see the surfaces for G2F listed by number so you can cross check what belongs with what.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2013 09:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1142
Joined  2004-06-13

Now I am fully awake and understand the problem.  Mattymanx the legacy surfaces are a function of DS’s new surface grouping, it doesn’t help when exporting G2F to other programs.  The number prefixes in the actual surface names for surfaces that share a texture map is a handy time saver.  G2F really needs to go back to beta and have this fixed along with adding separate left and right eye surface materials.  Maybe even separate left and right surfaces for most of the mesh, after all the morph packs have several asymmetrical left and right morphs.

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2013 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  357
Joined  2005-11-24

I’ve read the entire thing and am aware of your problem but AFAIK the plug-in creators are always the ones that need to update when there are problems with how it works.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 02:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  195
Joined  2005-10-18

HHUUUUMMMMM….

I suspect the same issue will occur with the Reality plugin…I must check this out later when I get home from work….

If it is so, then it will be just ANOTHER reason not to bother with this figure….

S.K.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 02:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  195
Joined  2005-10-18
gingercakes47 - 22 June 2013 01:52 PM

I’ve read the entire thing and am aware of your problem but AFAIK the plug-in creators are always the ones that need to update when there are problems with how it works.

This is not a plugin Creators issue, so much as a LOSS of functionality in how GEN 2 material Zones are defined / indentified.

S.K.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 05:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  51
Joined  2010-04-04
swordkensia - 23 June 2013 02:05 AM

HHUUUUMMMMM….

I suspect the same issue will occur with the Reality plugin…I must check this out later when I get home from work….

If it is so, then it will be just ANOTHER reason not to bother with this figure….

S.K.

I just did a Reality 2 test render of the figure with the default Genesis 2 female materials and another with V6 materials applied.
The default textures translated really well, the V6 ones only seemed to have some issues with the eyes. I didn’t look into it further, so I don’t know what material zone is actually affected here, but all in all I don’t think there should be a problem using the figure with Reality 2.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 02:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  491
Joined  2003-10-09

Apparently it’s not a big issue for user Paper Tiger over at Renderosity. They posted a very nice nude render of V6 out of DS 4.6 into Octane Render. EDITED OUT link since she’s naked.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1