Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
REALLY Need To Know About Version 4.6 As Genesis 2 Won’t Work Right V4.5
Posted: 23 June 2013 01:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6688
Joined  2012-09-10

Um, well this is weird. I rebooted the computer to see if that would help the lag (even though I had just reinstalled v4.6) and now where that thing was on the shelf, there is nothing. It was a squarish white vase/container, if I recall. It is the Opus Magnum bookcase full of stuff.

I really, really can NOT work with this version if it is going to lag so horrendously when you click on the figure to move it. Using Parameters is only for fine tuning for me- I am very good at maniupulating the figure with click and pull. When I click and pull on her, there is a five to eight second OR MORE delay.  I reinstalled the essentials just to be sure it wasn’t that- and no change. And having objects disappear is just weird.  I clicked on every single jar/bottle, and it is jar 5_1 and it is INVISIBLE when I move it.

This version is wonky.Don’t know what I can do to fix it, will probably reinstall my 4.5 as I always keep a copy of the old version. And put v.6 on a spare computer. There is NO reason for it to work fine when first installed, then when I shut the computer off and reopen, for it to lag and make things disappear. Nothing was done to that jar- NOTHING. If anyone wants to try the opus magnum set and see if it does it for them, then we have the need for a bug report. But since my character won’t behave either, I don’t think it’s the set.

Totally exasperated.

EDIT: The blank spot on the upper shelf behind her head is where the jar was.

 

Image Attachments
cassinihair2.jpg
 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #4   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 01:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3391
Joined  2012-02-06

Lag in working with a clothed figure is often due to smoothing. Either strip her down until you’re done posing, or turn smoothing off until you are ready to render.

Whether that much lag is normal I couldn’t say, though…it depends on your computer and on the scene. I’m not sure about the issue with Opus Magnum…if I owned it I would take a look, but alas it’s still sitting on my wish list.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6688
Joined  2012-09-10
Scott-Livingston - 23 June 2013 01:34 PM

Lag in working with a clothed figure is often due to smoothing. Either strip her down until you’re done posing, or turn smoothing off until you are ready to render.

Whether that much lag is normal I couldn’t say, though…it depends on your computer and on the scene. I’m not sure about the issue with Opus Magnum…if I owned it I would take a look, but alas it’s still sitting on my wish list.

We are posting about the same time, lol- see next comment.  Stripping her down is not an option as the clothes are part of the pose process- and I just can’t get the image of what I want to do with a naked lady, lol.

You came in with the answer about the time I was checking out smoothing- because I had to do that with the robe- it is tricky- and it was the smoothing.

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #4   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6688
Joined  2012-09-10

Still can’t explain that jar disappearing though- I have moved the x, y, z, and the Universal tool cube moves and shows me where the thing is “at” but it isn’t there- totally invisible. You’ll love the Opus Magnum set (am doing a review on it, that’s what started this entire thing) and you get tons of bottles, jars, etc- the set is huge and chocked FULL of goodies. Everyone get it on the wish list if you don’t have it!

And thanks Scott-L. If I hadn’t figured it out by sheer coincidence, you would have been a godsend!!!! I thought of it only because I am NOT a fan of the robe, it took so much tweaking and collision that was why I remembered it.

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #4   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 04:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

I have an Idea about the set, but like Scott do not have it to test. If the Jar loaded with a Poser Shader that is not supported in DS now it would just disappear. It’s a known issue for some Older Content.

As I say I’m not able to test this myself.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 05:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  842
Joined  2004-04-05

Besides smoothing one thing I did that seemed to have helped my lag was to adjust the Display Optimization setting in preferences.

Edit->Preferences->Interface-Display Optimization to Best.

I seem to see more lag with certain objects, any time I add one of the new motorcycles my viewport bogs down. I know it’s basically see through in places until I render it, does that mean it’s “transmapped”? If so maybe it’s OpenGL with transmapped objects that’s causing the issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6688
Joined  2012-09-10
Sisca - 23 June 2013 05:44 PM

Besides smoothing one thing I did that seemed to have helped my lag was to adjust the Display Optimization setting in preferences.

Edit->Preferences->Interface-Display Optimization to Best.

I seem to see more lag with certain objects, any time I add one of the new motorcycles my viewport bogs down. I know it’s basically see through in places until I render it , does that mean it’s “transmapped”? If so maybe it’s OpenGL with transmapped objects that’s causing the issues.

Thanks Sisca, I’ll check that- I’m in the middle of a render so can’t mess with it at the moment. If you folks want to see the Opus Magnum bookcase and the goodies in it, (RENDERED)  go to my art studio thread (signature) and check out the image. The jars have detailed labels and are awesome- I did a screenshot of the items listed- so many!- and I’m going to be doing more of the set as the night progresses. Doing full renders though and it takes awhile for even one.  This is a great set!

After this render is done, I’ll check those settings. What exactly is the Display Optimization- how things look in the viewport?

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #4   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 08:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6688
Joined  2012-09-10
Jaderail - 23 June 2013 04:35 PM

I have an Idea about the set, but like Scott do not have it to test. If the Jar loaded with a Poser Shader that is not supported in DS now it would just disappear. It’s a known issue for some Older Content.

As I say I’m not able to test this myself.

BTW, love “Fire Fight” and “You Talking To Me?”  over in your Deviant Art gallery. EDIT: And the Alone one is so sad- caught the emotion wonderfully. Of everything, do you have a favorite?

 

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #4   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2013 08:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  842
Joined  2004-04-05
Novica - 23 June 2013 08:10 PM

...After this render is done, I’ll check those settings. What exactly is the Display Optimization- how things look in the viewport?

I have no clue, I would look it up in the manual but…

I was looking for settings that might improve performance and went into Properties. Being a long time gamer I’m used to clicking things in the display sections of programs to see what effect they have. Adjusted this from None to Better and it seemed a bit more responsive so I bumped it up to best. Turning the Texture slider below it all the way down to performance didn’t seem to impact things though.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2013 01:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6688
Joined  2012-09-10

BTW- that interface setting was NONE. Was yours when you loaded Version 4.6?

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #4   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 June 2013 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  842
Joined  2004-04-05

Yes was set to None but I changed it to Best I believe it is - whatever the third choice was.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2