Digital Art Zone

 
     
DAZ Studio 4 - where does it store data?
Posted: 18 June 2012 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2006-07-16

DS 4.0.3.9 64-bit, Windows 7

My backup software fumbled the ball, and I can’t restore.  The good news is, I have all the data backed up, I just have to restore anything I want to keep by hand because partition restore isn’t working properly.

So, I need to know every nook and cranny that DS4 hides data.  I could go through what I’ve done already but I think it would be easier if I was just served up a list of all the folders.  I’ve restored everything I can find or think of, but DS isn’t showing the UI, content, etc., from when I backed up, so I must’ve missed something.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 June 2012 12:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2004-06-24

Questions:
Why did you need to use a backup?
Does windoze 7 not have “system restore”?
Have you tried a new install of DS and then a search for content?

Cheers
GG

 Signature 

WHO said Kiwis can’t fly ?????

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 June 2012 06:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  285
Joined  2012-02-21
kiwi_gg - 19 June 2012 12:52 AM

Why did you need to use a backup?
Does windoze 7 not have “system restore”?

Just in case this was not a joke, but “system restore” is not intended to backup “personal” files.
You need also a regularly backup of your data.

But as kiwi_gg mentioned I would also recommend to install the application (if you mean with UI the applications user interface) and just restore your library data (into the library folder you defined).

The library folder is stored in the registry
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\DAZ\Studio in ContentDir0 (if you only have one)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 June 2012 07:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1336
Joined  2006-03-14

The answer varies a bit depending on what versions you have installed, but what is listed below should cover DS3 and higher on a Windows Vista or Windows 7 machine.

On the File Systems:
c:\users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\DAZ 3D\  (Your UI customizations, etc. are stored here)
c:\users\<username>\Documents\DAZ 3D\ (Default content library and other misc stuff)
c:\Program Files\Common Files\DAZ\ (DS3 and earlier location for dzInstall.ini)
c:\Program Files\DAZ 3D\ (Default application installation directory)
c:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\ (DS4 and later location for dzInstall.ini)
Plus any manual content directories you’ve defined

In the registry:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\DAZ\

 Signature 

My Tutorials and Freebies Index

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 June 2012 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2006-07-16

W7 Restore, hahaha, that’s a good one.  smile

Man, I was sweating this one last night.  Acronis is not on my “recommend” list any more, to keep a long story short, and the backup I spoke of went “poof!”  Fortunately, I had already restored almost everything I needed.  I had already restored everything from the folders Adam mentioned (thanks BTW, Adam) and it turns out that was everything, I just had to load my saved Layout.  I did have to re-add my runtimes, but no big deal there.  I’m so glad I restored everything, or I might be on a plane headed for the Acronis team at this very moment.

Profile