Digital Art Zone

 
     
No Hexagon for Windows 7?
Posted: 14 June 2013 12:08 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2011-06-25

I wanted to get the hand of Hexagon but noticed it
only works for Windows XP

I run Windows 7 64 bit!
Is an update or new version coming soon so
I can use it?

Alf

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  551
Joined  2005-09-12

The current version works in Win 7 64-bit.

The system requirements list is, like OLD.

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 01:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2011-06-25

Thank you!

I tried to install it a year ago but the install failed and then
I noticed it was only for 32-bit! So I thought that was giving me issue
then trying to install it!

I will give it a new try!

Alf

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 03:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4812
Joined  2005-08-03

You can run 32-bit software on a 64-bit OS.


You can’t run 64-bit software on a 32-bit OS.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 03:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2011-06-25

I run Win 7, 64 bit, OS!

Alf

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 07:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  551
Joined  2005-09-12
alfhak712 - 14 June 2013 01:32 AM

Thank you!

I tried to install it a year ago but the install failed and then
I noticed it was only for 32-bit! So I thought that was giving me issue
then trying to install it!

I will give it a new try!

Alf

One caution - do NOT install to Program Files or Program Files (X86)! In Win7 those are write-protected directories, and Hexagon tries to save a number of its components in its home directory when you use it. Just install to C:\Hexagon or some other such (I used C:\DAZ-3D\Hex, but that’s just me being me).

 Signature 

The only constant is change—and it’s a variable.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  55
Joined  2009-09-16

It runs fine for me on Win8-64bit however I do get quite a few crashes. You can set the program in Win7 & 8-64bit to run in Windows XP compatibility mode which may stabilise the program more.

One caution - do NOT install to Program Files or Program Files (X86)! In Win7 those are write-protected directories, and Hexagon tries to save a number of its components in its home directory when you use it. Just install to C:\Hexagon or some other such (I used C:\DAZ-3D\Hex, but that’s just me being me).

Thats a good tip, thanks. I will reinstall to see if it makes it crash less.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 03:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07

I’ve been using Hex on W7 since I got W7. It’s installed in my DAZ folder in programs x86, no issues.

But as far as I know Hex is dead. Been out of production for 3 years; best that I can tell. I certainly wouldn’t expect a new version.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 03:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  55
Joined  2009-09-16

Here is a good tip on disabling triple buffering in your video card settings if you have problems getting it to work on Win7
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5354/P15

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 04:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2006-05-18

I heard that it’s dead as well. I wonder why they would keep on advertising a dead product.  As our computers technology advances, Hex won’t, and people are going to run into problems with it. There will be no fixes…and then you have an unhappy customer.

 Signature 

Muze’s Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 06:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06
Muze - 14 June 2013 04:49 PM

I heard that it’s dead as well. I wonder why they would keep on advertising a dead product.  As our computers technology advances, Hex won’t, and people are going to run into problems with it. There will be no fixes…and then you have an unhappy customer.

Perhaps the rumors of its death are greatly exaggerated?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 08:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  41
Joined  0

@ fixmypcmike

are you saying that Hexagon is currently being worked on?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 June 2013 09:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8697
Joined  2007-11-06
graham james - 14 June 2013 08:44 PM

@ fixmypcmike

are you saying that Hexagon is currently being worked on?

I wouldn’t know, but for a company as small as DAZ 3D, “not currently being worked on” is not the same as dead.  After all, Carrara IS currently being worked on and some people are saying it’s dead.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2013 01:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  73
Joined  2011-06-25

Hi all!

Thanks for all reply!
I was surprised yesterday cause I manage to install Hexagon now and it
looks like it is working! I don’t install any program at all on the same disk as
Windows on C:. All my programs is either on 2nd or 3rd disk!

Last year then I tried to install Hexagon! It just crashed and shot down during the
install! I know I download a new EXE file but it did not solve the program!
It could be some other program making a conflict that cause the issue!
Yesterday I turn off my Antivirus and Anti Malware program an no problem at all!
I was glad someone told me it is WORKING with Win 7 and 64 bit so I tried
again!

Thanks for all help!

Alf

Profile