Digital Art Zone

 
     
Unsure how to save hand pose
Posted: 13 June 2013 02:39 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-06-08

Hi.  I’m very new.  I have searched for this some, but keep finding either “saving a whole pose” or discussions about advanced stuff that I’m not ready to deal with.

What I am trying to do is save *just* the hand posing.  I spent time making it into a “grip” (or a fist, whatever) and don’t want to have to do that every time.

I select the hand, then choose file>save as>Pose preset…and it saves the whole pose.

If I select the hand, then look in the scene hierarchy and click on the arrow-with-a-checkmark beside everything *except* the hand (so only the hand and it’s children have the arrow-with-a-checkmark), it saves the whole pose.

What am I doing wrong?  I want just the hand saved so that I can pose another figure however I want, but then use the pose on the hand.  Is this possible?

Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

That is done like this, here I did just the right hand and the pose only effects the hand not its location.

Image Attachments
Capture1.png
 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-06-08

Thank you, sir!  You are a gentleman among scholars!  A pearl before swine!

I had the right-ish idea, but was doing it in the wrong place.

Thank you again!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2014 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-07-09

I am not so new and should be ashamed… (but I have never tried to develop a “product” before)

Here is my question to add to this.

I Create and save a few poses using the right hand - everything works just fine (just for the right hand).

How do I make it so it ask me to apply the hand pose to the right or left hand?

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2014 04:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15695
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m afraid you can’t do that, you would have to save left and right versions (you can use the Symmetry command to copy the pose from one and to the other - it’s in the Parameter pane option menu, reached by clicking the lined button in the pane’s top corner).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2014 04:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-07-09

Thank you Richard.

How is it that some products I buy have hand poses and when I click on them I am asked whether to apply it to the Right or the Left Hand?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2014 05:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15695
Joined  2003-10-09

Poser had a specific format for hand poses, and it does that. DS just has a generic pose preset, so it doesn’t have the handedness switch. Back when we were using script-based presets I did (partially, I think) work out how to add that by hacking the code, but with the pure data .duf files that isn’t possible any more. You can save out a Poser-format .hd2 hand pose with the Poser Format Exporter script, that may be worth trying - especially if you are using an older figure.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 November 2014 06:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2005-07-09

Thank you so much for you help and input

Profile