Digital Art Zone

 
     
Can someone please explain to me….
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2004-09-27

Can someone please explain to me why props are made exclusively for DS? I understand why Genesis won’t work as is in Poser and why it’s supposed to be a lot of work to make Poser versions of Genesis clothing, but what about props? Why is it so difficult to make a Poser version of them too, or to just make a version that works in both programs like before?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3049
Joined  2004-04-14

you mean stand alone sets or included wtih Genesis stuff?

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2004-09-27

Standalone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2004-09-27

I am going to link to the latest product to hopefully make it simpler for someone to answer my question. This thread is not meant to be disrespectful to the vendor or stir up any drama. I just want to understand why props would be made DS specific. If it’s easier, faster, etc.

http://www.daz3d.com/sleeping-cutie-bedroom-furniture

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  621
Joined  2007-08-14

Obtaining Poser—or any new program—and the skills to use it (creating materials fit for sale is not a trivial task) requires an investment some people don’t want to make.

 Signature 

These are not the tutorials you’re looking for. Move along.
My old profile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1747
Joined  2008-11-10
Faerydae - 13 June 2013 09:25 AM

Can someone please explain to me why props are made exclusively for DS? I understand why Genesis won’t work as is in Poser and why it’s supposed to be a lot of work to make Poser versions of Genesis clothing, but what about props? Why is it so difficult to make a Poser version of them too, or to just make a version that works in both programs like before?

Perhaps they don’t have Poser. It’s a huge assumption that a person making an item knows how to convert it in Poser or knows how to actually use Poser, much less they’ve actually bought the program. If the person only knows DS, I can’t really knock them for not making a Poser version, much like when someone asks for DS materials for a Poser made item (or if it actually works in DS)  and the vendor responds “I don’t use DS”.

However, you can load props and scenes using the DSON loader, and works a lot faster than Genesis would. You’ll just have to adjust materials before you render. Once over you can save the scene as a PZ3.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3151
Joined  2004-04-25

Any prop in particular? 

I don’t generally use DS so I’m not sure if it saves props in pp2 format natively.  There used to be a Poser format exporter for earlier versions of DS but I don’t know if it was ever incorporated into the DS4 Pro version or updated for it.

Some vendors may not have Poser or even have much familiarity with Poser formats.  Some may have been created before the DSON and duf and have never been updated from the dsf files. 

In the end, I suppose you would have to ask the vendor.  I do know some PC props that were originally released with duf files only to have the pp2 files when it was brought up.

If it’s a DAZ Original, you might want to contact DAZ.  If it’s a PA item, you would need to contact the vendor.

 Signature 

“...not world enough nor time…” 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17150
Joined  2003-10-09

Whether it is a PA item or a Daz Original. the correct way to post a query about it is to contact DAZ 3D through the Zendesk system. It is there for queries on all products sold in the DAZ 3D store, not merely Daz Originals.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 10:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2004-09-27

I thought props by default were the same file format whether you were in DS or Poser. I can’t use DS so I wasn’t sure. I figured the vendor wouldn’t need Poser if they were in the same format. Thanks for the answers. I do understand better now.

It really wasn’t a gripe as much as me just being confused.

Cho - I didn’t bother with the help desk since I didn’t really need product support. I just had a general question that I figured forum members could answer.

Male-M3dia - even without the Poser companion files it will load through the DSON importer?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1747
Joined  2008-11-10
Faerydae - 13 June 2013 10:17 AM

Male-M3dia - even without the Poser companion files it will load through the DSON importer?

You would have to load the scene in DS then save a scene subset. It’s a quick 2 minute process to load and save. Mec4D or Dimension3D had a script that could access the files without it, but I haven’t tried either.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 11:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6175
Joined  2005-08-29
Faerydae - 13 June 2013 10:17 AM

I thought props by default were the same file format whether you were in DS or Poser. I can’t use DS so I wasn’t sure.

If a prop is saved in the .pp2 format, it will. If it is saved as a .duf, it’s DS/DSON only. The reason can be many, but my first thought is materials. If the items uses shader materials and not textures it can be a pain to convert. I’ve done toe opposite many times for “Poser Only” stuff from Rendo, it’äs very hard to get the same look and feel.

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 11:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5355
Joined  2008-03-06
Totte - 13 June 2013 11:36 AM
Faerydae - 13 June 2013 10:17 AM

I thought props by default were the same file format whether you were in DS or Poser. I can’t use DS so I wasn’t sure.

If a prop is saved in the .pp2 format, it will. If it is saved as a .duf, it’s DS/DSON only. The reason can be many, but my first thought is materials. If the items uses shader materials and not textures it can be a pain to convert. I’ve done toe opposite many times for “Poser Only” stuff from Rendo, it’äs very hard to get the same look and feel.

I quit supporting DSON partly because of advanced shaders.  I can only really do these in DS, and trying to recreate them in Poser would be more work than is worth it.  Further, I would also have to do Poser promos, and I really don’t care for rendering in that program.  There’s also the rigging issues, of course; I make a lot of ERC rigged props now and I don’t think they can even BE converted with their pose controls intact.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery and tutorials.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 01:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  223
Joined  2004-09-27

I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I bought the product I was talking about, downloaded and installed DS 4.6, finally figured out where to find the purchased product in DS, loaded it, and hit render. It actually worked! I’ve attempted to use DS at least a dozen times all the way back to the first release, and it has always crashed at render (if I was even able to get it that far). I don’t know how/if Genesis will work for me, but this prop set at least is working.

Profile