Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
NEW MAC PRO! Bout TIME
Posted: 27 October 2013 07:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2011-06-20

I’m also in the “should I buy a MacPro?” boat.

My iMac is a 3.4 GHz quad-core, so I would be looking at a 6-core 3.5 GHz MacPro probably bumping the lower end model with D300 GPUs as opposed to getting the higher one with the D500s.  I don’t need 4K and will only probably have two displays.

I know 6 cores will beat my current 4, but will Carrara 9 benefit from the GPUs?  Or would I need LuxRender? If so, how easy is it to use?  I am not a pro user but I want to make animations that are lengthy and thus time-consuming.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2013 08:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4951
Joined  2006-08-27
That Other Persona - 27 October 2013 07:36 PM

I’m also in the “should I buy a MacPro?” boat.

My iMac is a 3.4 GHz quad-core, so I would be looking at a 6-core 3.5 GHz MacPro probably bumping the lower end model with D300 GPUs as opposed to getting the higher one with the D500s.  I don’t need 4K and will only probably have two displays.

I know 6 cores will beat my current 4, but will Carrara 9 benefit from the GPUs?  Or would I need LuxRender? If so, how easy is it to use?  I am not a pro user but I want to make animations that are lengthy and thus time-consuming.

Carrara’s render engine is CPU only. You may get a boost in the Assembly room performance as that’s OpenGL driven. I see there is a thread about an Octane Carrara plugin. Does that use the GPU?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2013 09:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2011-06-20
evilproducer - 27 October 2013 08:01 PM
That Other Persona - 27 October 2013 07:36 PM

I’m also in the “should I buy a MacPro?” boat.

My iMac is a 3.4 GHz quad-core, so I would be looking at a 6-core 3.5 GHz MacPro probably bumping the lower end model with D300 GPUs as opposed to getting the higher one with the D500s.  I don’t need 4K and will only probably have two displays.

I know 6 cores will beat my current 4, but will Carrara 9 benefit from the GPUs?  Or would I need LuxRender? If so, how easy is it to use?  I am not a pro user but I want to make animations that are lengthy and thus time-consuming.

Carrara’s render engine is CPU only. You may get a boost in the Assembly room performance as that’s OpenGL driven. I see there is a thread about an Octane Carrara plugin. Does that use the GPU?


It seems to work with Nvidia GPU cards and CUDA.  [I profess ignorance of what that is]

The new MacPro has AMD FirePro cards that use OpenCL.  [Again, I profess ignorance; just seems one works with one, not the other and vice versa or something like that]

Apple, on their webpage, do show a Luxmark score (LuxRender) for the MacPro comparing it to the previous MacPro (which of course I don’t have, but I did have several models back but wasn’t into 3D at the time; yes, I’m confused; why did’t they just put a Luxmark score??)

It would be really, really nice if it was all internal in Carrara, because I am not after anything that complicated… 

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2013 10:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5966
Joined  2007-12-04
That Other Persona - 27 October 2013 07:36 PM

I’m also in the “should I buy a MacPro?” boat.

My iMac is a 3.4 GHz quad-core, so I would be looking at a 6-core 3.5 GHz MacPro probably bumping the lower end model with D300 GPUs as opposed to getting the higher one with the D500s.  I don’t need 4K and will only probably have two displays.

I know 6 cores will beat my current 4, but will Carrara 9 benefit from the GPUs?  Or would I need LuxRender? If so, how easy is it to use?  I am not a pro user but I want to make animations that are lengthy and thus time-consuming.

I went from two cores to eight, building my own Windows machine for less than a grand. The render times are not even close. But in this field, you just do more stuff to slow them down again. But now when I get onto my little two-core, the wait for simple tasks can feel overwhelming sometimes - just being used to my monster! My lower cost graphics card is on the list of ones that will work fine with Octane as well.

evilproducer - 27 October 2013 08:01 PM

Carrara’s render engine is CPU only. You may get a boost in the Assembly room performance as that’s OpenGL driven. I see there is a thread about an Octane Carrara plugin. Does that use the GPU?

Yeah!
Talk about adding a huge pile of coin onto the ol’ Christmas wishlist, eh? Graphics card shopping, when you’re looking to really get speed from a GPU cranking render engine, you’re looking for something that costs some serious coin. Then Octane ain’t cheap, either!

Beyond all of that, I still think that, if you can at all afford to, always go for more CPU cores if you’re going for a serious Carrara machine. I want another 8! I was originally planning on making another 8 core as a render node. But instead, maybe I’ll just network them anyways but build the new one to have two eight core chips. AMD made one sweet rendering chip when they developed Zambezi Eight core cpu! Spooky and I both bought them around the same time - but he got the high-end one… I went the other way to save several hundred - I had to at the time.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2013 06:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  124
Joined  2004-07-19

I find that the Mac Pro got a nice new update and the design is cool.

But at that price, I find it too much for a computer like that.

 Signature 

Denis

| Carrara 8.5 Pro | Moi 3D v2 | Cinema 4D R15 Prime | CorelDraw X6 |

http://spaceland.cgsociety.org/gallery/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2013 08:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5966
Joined  2007-12-04
Spaceland - 28 October 2013 06:04 AM

I find that the Mac Pro got a nice new update and the design is cool.

But at that price, I find it too much for a computer like that.

I’m with you on this. While I applaud the amazing design, the price for something that the company gives me no-to-very little say in how I can upgrade as the times dictate is just not the answer. The way technology is absolutely flying right now, I find it a better answer to build my own stuff. I get what I want at a much lower price, as I can dictate in my own way which technology is fresh and which is following on it’s heels by going with yesterday’s best. While I think it’s a very cool design, it’s at least twice the cost, and a twelve-core powerhouse, to what I can build, myself, as a sixteen-core monster. Since every core counts, when it comes to Carrara, I’ll go with the cheaper sixteen. Or if I’m on a tight budget, like I am now… I’ll take the eight over the six.
The other huge consideration, especially if you’re considering the addition of Octane, is the idea of being locked into only a few choices of graphics upgrades compared to having everything made in the industry at your disposal. I can see Apple’s take, I guess. They want nothing but the best of the best - so that they have less issues in customer service. But that removes me from their system entirely. I need my choices. My darn phone has a dual core proc in it now. Why would I want to spend so much on a six-core as a Carrara render machine? Truth is… I don’t.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2013 04:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  164
Joined  2003-10-09
Dartanbeck - 28 October 2013 08:56 AM
Spaceland - 28 October 2013 06:04 AM

I find that the Mac Pro got a nice new update and the design is cool.

But at that price, I find it too much for a computer like that.

I’m with you on this. While I applaud the amazing design, the price for something that the company gives me no-to-very little say in how I can upgrade as the times dictate is just not the answer. The way technology is absolutely flying right now, I find it a better answer to build my own stuff. I get what I want at a much lower price, as I can dictate in my own way which technology is fresh and which is following on it’s heels by going with yesterday’s best. While I think it’s a very cool design, it’s at least twice the cost, and a twelve-core powerhouse, to what I can build, myself, as a sixteen-core monster. Since every core counts, when it comes to Carrara, I’ll go with the cheaper sixteen. Or if I’m on a tight budget, like I am now… I’ll take the eight over the six.
The other huge consideration, especially if you’re considering the addition of Octane, is the idea of being locked into only a few choices of graphics upgrades compared to having everything made in the industry at your disposal. I can see Apple’s take, I guess. They want nothing but the best of the best - so that they have less issues in customer service. But that removes me from their system entirely. I need my choices. My darn phone has a dual core proc in it now. Why would I want to spend so much on a six-core as a Carrara render machine? Truth is… I don’t.

Same here. I would love to have one, but on my current budget…not gonna happen. Not for the build I’d want.  I hope to retire my 5-year-old iMac early next year. If my choice is a baseline Mac Pro or a completely blown-out iMac for $3300-ish, the iMac wins.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2013 07:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2010-05-22
dhtapp - 28 October 2013 04:20 PM
Dartanbeck - 28 October 2013 08:56 AM
Spaceland - 28 October 2013 06:04 AM

I find that the Mac Pro got a nice new update and the design is cool.

But at that price, I find it too much for a computer like that.

I’m with you on this. While I applaud the amazing design, the price for something that the company gives me no-to-very little say in how I can upgrade as the times dictate is just not the answer. The way technology is absolutely flying right now, I find it a better answer to build my own stuff. I get what I want at a much lower price, as I can dictate in my own way which technology is fresh and which is following on it’s heels by going with yesterday’s best. While I think it’s a very cool design, it’s at least twice the cost, and a twelve-core powerhouse, to what I can build, myself, as a sixteen-core monster. Since every core counts, when it comes to Carrara, I’ll go with the cheaper sixteen. Or if I’m on a tight budget, like I am now… I’ll take the eight over the six.
The other huge consideration, especially if you’re considering the addition of Octane, is the idea of being locked into only a few choices of graphics upgrades compared to having everything made in the industry at your disposal. I can see Apple’s take, I guess. They want nothing but the best of the best - so that they have less issues in customer service. But that removes me from their system entirely. I need my choices. My darn phone has a dual core proc in it now. Why would I want to spend so much on a six-core as a Carrara render machine? Truth is… I don’t.

Same here. I would love to have one, but on my current budget…not gonna happen. Not for the build I’d want.  I hope to retire my 5-year-old iMac early next year. If my choice is a baseline Mac Pro or a completely blown-out iMac for $3300-ish, the iMac wins.

I am 90% sure I am getting the new 2013 Mac Pro!  But the question is which configuration?  The new AMD/ATI FirePro GPUs are sort of a mystery.  I am not sure if the comparisons are accurate but everyone is trying to figure out what a FirePro D300, FirePro D500, and FirePro D700 are?

Here is a question and answer that I got on macrumors.com.

    > Quote:

    > I can’t find any info on these GPUs on AMD/ATI’s web site?

    > Are these totally new cards or reincarnations of AMD/ATI’s existing cards?

Not so much “new” as “custom”/“proprietary”. Apple designed and makes these cards not AMD. Apple has licensed some stuff and buys a few basic components from AMD but it Apple’s card.

    > Quote:

    > Anyone find anything on the web? My google search yielded nothing.

It will show up once macrumors and other rumors sites get indexed.

roughly

D300 approximately a W7000 ( less VRAM 2 versus 4 ) [ approximately AMD HD 7870 ]

D500 approximately a W8000 ( less VRAM and fewer cores and tweaked memory width ) [ approximatel AMD HD 7950 or AMD HD 7870 XT ]

D700 approximately a W9000 [ approximately AMD HD 7970 ]

I know Apple is really going to push OpenCL and with the abundance and volume of the dual FirePro GPUs that are going to be out there I can see a lot of products taking advantage of them via OpenCL.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2013 08:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5966
Joined  2007-12-04
Curved Design - 28 October 2013 07:44 PM

I am 90% sure I am getting the new 2013 Mac Pro! 

 

Congrats!
Whichever the choice, it’ll likely be sweet and fast!
Happy for you already. wink

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 January 2014 09:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2011-06-20

Has anybody gotten a new Mac Pro?  It would be awesome to hear how it performs with Carrara / Daz3D.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2014 07:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2010-05-22
That Other Persona - 03 January 2014 09:12 AM

Has anybody gotten a new Mac Pro?  It would be awesome to hear how it performs with Carrara / Daz3D.

I am getting one but the Build To Order (BTO) configurations are sold out until February!

I am thinking of getting the 3.7 Ghz Quad Core Xeon E5 with Dual Fire Pro 700s?

1. In another thread it was mentioned that DAZ Studio does not use the GPU for rendering.  That does not sound right?

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/34277/

Does DAZ Studio 4.6 even use the GPU for rendering?

2. Luxus add on Renderer…  I think it uses OpenCL which I think would be a great fit for the new 2013 Mac Pro but I am not sure?

3. Not sure about Carrara?  I have Carrara 8.5 beta but never upgraded to the final version…

4. I am also getting it for Final Cut Pro X and also Blender 3D.  Although the Bender Cycles unbiased render engine does not work with the AMD/ATI FirePro GPUs yet?  It looks like AMD and Apple are working on drivers and support in the yet unrelease of Maverics 10.9.2 OS.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2014 04:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2011-06-20

Neither Daz nor Carrara uses the GPU for rendering.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2014 12:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5966
Joined  2007-12-04

The main thing that will help you in rendering is the number of cores in the cpu. The only Mac Pro that I’ve seen that I really liked was the 12 core. Perhaps the 8. But I built my eight core Windows machine for less than $1,000.00 USD, which still makes me shy away from Mac OS.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2014 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  187
Joined  2011-06-20

He said he also uses Final Cut Pro X, which is only on Mac and is a dream to work with.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 January 2014 07:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5966
Joined  2007-12-04

Love to try Mac and Final Cut Pro some day.

 Signature 

Dartanbeck @ Daz3d          Check out the Carrara Cafe          ►►►  Carrara Information Manual   ◄◄◄

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2