Digital Art Zone

 
     
RuntimeError: Bad magic number in .pyc file in talk designer
Posted: 17 June 2012 05:57 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2004-03-03

I get a RuntimeError: Bad magic number in .pyc file in talk designer http://www.daz3d.com/shop/talk-designer-assistant-for-poser-8/ , which i just got from the shop today and it does not work… or do i need to use an older version of poser ?

Image Attachments
Untitled.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 June 2012 05:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14035
Joined  2003-10-09

Unfortunately the latest version of Poser uses an updated Python engine, and as a result compiled Python scripts (.pyc) aren’t running, with the Magic Number error. With luck all that’s needed is a recompile from the original script, though I believe some scripts need more work than that; in any event if you’ve only just purchased and downloaded that obviously isn’t yet done. I would suggest opening a support ticket, asking if there’s a status update, and if need be asking for a refund.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 June 2012 09:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2004-03-03
Richard Haseltine - 18 June 2012 05:14 AM

Unfortunately the latest version of Poser uses an updated Python engine, and as a result compiled Python scripts (.pyc) aren’t running, with the Magic Number error. With luck all that’s needed is a recompile from the original script, though I believe some scripts need more work than that; in any event if you’ve only just purchased and downloaded that obviously isn’t yet done. I would suggest opening a support ticket, asking if there’s a status update, and if need be asking for a refund.

Thank you very much for the message, how would I recompile the scripts to fix the error ?  Yes i purchased it two days ago and downloaded it, how would i open a support ticket ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 07:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14035
Joined  2003-10-09

Recompiling needs the original code, so it has to be done by the author.


To open a ticket, click on Contact Us under help at the top of this page.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 June 2012 10:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2004-03-03
Richard Haseltine - 20 June 2012 07:59 AM

Recompiling needs the original code, so it has to be done by the author.


To open a ticket, click on Contact Us under help at the top of this page.

O.k Thank you, since |I have DAZ studio as well, can talking be done as well ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 June 2012 08:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14035
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, though you need to have the 32 bit version of DS installed (the LipSync plugin doesn’t work in 64 bit, fortunately you can have both 32 and 64 bit versions installed on the same machine). LipSync works from a recoding, as I recall, while Talk Designer works from a transcript - but I’m not certain of that.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 July 2012 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2004-03-03

Thank you very much, i have not heard any response from the creator of talk designer http://www.daz3d.com/shop/talk-designer-assistant-for-poser-8/ why dont you have it built in DAZ ? since the whole idea is to animate , and talking is very much part of humanoid entities.

Profile