Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 3
1
Morphs applied to figure and then posed produce some ugly effects.. IMHO! 
Posted: 17 June 2012 02:15 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

Hi,

Back to working on Bruno for Genesis.  Cleaning up some of the morphs and found that when I applied the morph it looks very nice,  MOST poses look OK but extreme poses, like arms all the way up or down the shoulders and pecs look very odd to me. 

.

I’ve created a bug report so perhaps folks can also add their notations to mine along with screen grabs so the team has something to go on when looking into this.

The first image is when I loaded up Bruno Chunky 03, Raised the arms using the Arms Up-Down dial to UP spin and see what I got.  Then when I released the cursor from the dial the deformations happen as you see in the second image. 

.

Also to note it made ZERO difference when I turned off the High Resolution.  Base Resolution does the same thing!

.

https://bugs.daz3d.com/view.php?id=47111

.

Image Attachments
Morph-BeforeReleasingCursor.jpg
Morph-AfterReleasingCursor.jpg
 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 06:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

Another little issue popped up with this new RC II that was released…. Yea, pretty scary.  I’ve tried restarting DS to no avail so now all the morphs I was updating via GoZ are done but they are all dialed to 100% when a new instance of Genesis is loaded up!  big surprise

Image Attachments
Bruno-EveryMorph.jpg
 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 06:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2005-11-15

I would imagine that you saved modified assets while those morphs were applied to genesis, so it set their default values to 100%. I’ve done something like that before to much annoyance. I think if you zero all the morphs and save modified assets again (in the property editor), it might fix things.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 06:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

I do recall Saving Modified Assets one time to see what would happen… there was little flash of the UI but no dialog came up so I assumed it didn’t do anything.  So what is this then… some sort of a recall script??  It’s really annoying!  lol

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

Hmm, tried zeroing out the figure and then resaving the modified assets and it just returns a “No modifications found” and then tried to reload Genesis .... same issue!  :-(

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

Wow….ohh...that’s interesting


I think jwood331 is right about resetting the values and resaving the assets.


As to what you are seeing with the arms up-down, I’ve seen that also, even in 4.0. I believe it has to do with the weight maps on the joints that are controlled by the up-down parameter, mainly the bulge maps.


In the below image, I removed the bulge maps on the left collar, left shoulder and left pectoral and you can see a difference from the right side. This is Genesis with 100% base male and 100% body volume in 4.5RC2


Also I believe the reason it looks different from before you release the cursor to after is that while moving the slider the maps on the moving joints have not yet applied. When you release the slider the maps kick in and you see the changes to the mesh
.

I could be off on my assumptions, this is just based on what is see while experimenting with the controls and maps.


Now I know that Genesis currently does not support multiple weight maps for use by different shapes and it would be ill-advised to edit the weight maps and save them.


I think the only way to correct for this would be to create JCM’s that are linked to your Bruno and controlled by the arm up-down parameters


I hope this helps… grin

Image Attachments
Capture.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18
RAMWolff - 17 June 2012 06:59 PM

Hmm, tried zeroing out the figure and then resaving the modified assets and it just returns a “No modifications found” and then tried to reload Genesis .... same issue!  :-(

 

Have you tried setting the default values for each morph to zero in the Property Editor and then re-saving the Modified Assets?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2005-11-15
RAMWolff - 17 June 2012 06:59 PM

Hmm, tried zeroing out the figure and then resaving the modified assets and it just returns a “No modifications found” and then tried to reload Genesis .... same issue!  :-(

Edit: Yes, niccipb is right I believe. Now I remember. You need to change the default values, not just what the current values are by zeroing them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

I see that the weight/bulge maps are indeed the culprit but I think they WAY over compensate and it makes it harder for content creators to do a more natural job….. I don’t know why DAZ always takes the long road with stuff like this.  Keep it simple and you will have happier merchants and happier customers.

OK.. not sure HOW I can zero out the morphs in the Properties manager.  If I right click on each other 12 morphs that are set to 100% when Genesis is loaded up it doesn’t give me any way through that menu.  So where does one look for that that in the Properties manager?

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2005-11-15

You can also change default values for morphs (at least in 4.5) using the parameter setting on each individual morph in the shaping tab by clicking on the gear icon, then parameter settings.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

I don’t use the shaping tab.  I use the Parameters tab only.  I’m old fashioned in that way.

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 07:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18

It’s the same in the Parameters tab, just select the gear cog and choose Parameter Settings.


I actually like the way they have redesigned it in 4.5, it’s allot easier to use IMHO smile

Image Attachments
Capture.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 08:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

I’ve created another ticket to get this resolved.  Thanks for the attempts at helping me understand this better!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  480
Joined  2010-06-18
RAMWolff - 17 June 2012 07:32 PM

I see that the weight/bulge maps are indeed the culprit but I think they WAY over compensate and it makes it harder for content creators to do a more natural job….. I don’t know why DAZ always takes the long road with stuff like this.  Keep it simple and you will have happier merchants and happier customers.

 

With some poses, mainly extreme ones, they do seem way over-board. But if you look at the image I attached before, you will see how the left chest and lats really bulge out to the side with out the bulge maps.

 

It’s kind of a trade off I guess rolleyes

 

Although I have seen this to a lesser degree on things that I have weight mapped in Blender also, but that doesn’t have bulge maps or Tri-Ax for that matter shut eye


But like I mentioned before, I think JCM’s are the only answer. I have looked extensively at how some of the other shapes are created and it looks like they make use of JCM’s and MCM’s to handle alot of these issues.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11

yes, I’m very much aware of this area, use it all the time to create my morph limits and naming and what not… went through and zeroed out each one through this area and attempted to save the “Modified Assets” and returned the same notice so that’s not fixing it either.  Thanks!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 08:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2004-08-11
niccipb - 17 June 2012 08:10 PM
RAMWolff - 17 June 2012 07:32 PM

I see that the weight/bulge maps are indeed the culprit but I think they WAY over compensate and it makes it harder for content creators to do a more natural job….. I don’t know why DAZ always takes the long road with stuff like this.  Keep it simple and you will have happier merchants and happier customers.

 

With some poses, mainly extreme ones, they do seem way over-board. But if you look at the image I attached before, you will see how the left chest and lats really bulge out to the side with out the bulge maps.

 

It’s kind of a trade off I guess rolleyes

 

Although I have seen this to a lesser degree on things that I have weight mapped in Blender also, but that doesn’t have bulge maps or Tri-Ax for that matter shut eye


But like I mentioned before, I think JCM’s are the only answer. I have looked extensively at how some of the other shapes are created and it looks like they make use of JCM’s and MCM’s to handle alot of these issues.

Just seems like unnecessary over kill though to me.  If my guy looks just PERFECT before I release the cursor and these maps kick in and deform things like that what’s that say about the validity of using such maps?  I say it’s a crock of horse manure!

 Signature 

    —- Wolff On The Prowl—-

Pan Project

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1