Digital Art Zone

 
     
Subsurface Shader Base
Posted: 03 June 2013 01:35 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  39
Joined  2005-09-19

Seeing as it has a DSON core installer, does this mean that this item is compatible with Poser, or am I reading it wrong?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 04:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6616
Joined  2005-08-15
inspired_art - 03 June 2013 01:35 AM

Seeing as it has a DSON core installer, does this mean that this item is compatible with Poser, or am I reading it wrong?


These are a shader base for DAZ Studio only.  Unfortunately DS shaders don’t work in Poser, and vice versa.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2013 11:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  63
Joined  2003-10-09

Am using DS 4.6.0.15.  I downloaded the SSSB using the DS installer but I don’t see it listed as a plugin.  The list of plugins is long, is it easy to overlook?  Is it called “Subsurface Shader Base”?  I have rebooted and restarted DS.  I’d like to try it out but cannot find it.

 Signature 

My Deviant Art Gallery

My DAZ Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 June 2013 11:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4794
Joined  2005-08-03

It’s not a plugin, it’s a shader, so you’ll find it the same way you would any other shader.

Content Library > Daz Studio format > My Library > Shaders > Age of Armor

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  63
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s not there.  Age of Armor is not there.

 Signature 

My Deviant Art Gallery

My DAZ Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 01:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4794
Joined  2005-08-03

Go into your DIM and check that the library location in it matches your library location for DS.

Cogwheel in the upper right > Installation tab
Check the paths in the lower box in there.


For DS.. Edit > Preferences > Content Library tab > Content Directory Manger @ the bottom > Expand both DS and Poser files and make sure they’re set to where you want your library to be.

The path you set in DS must match that lower pane in the Installation tab in DIM.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  63
Joined  2003-10-09

Okay that did it.  I created a new profile or folder location (whatever it’s called) in the DIM which is the same as the one listed in DS.  When I re-installed SSB, it showed up.  Apparently I have not used the DIM before because there is no way it would have worked.  Should work fine now though.

 Signature 

My Deviant Art Gallery

My DAZ Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 June 2013 09:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4794
Joined  2005-08-03

You’re probably safe to remove the incorrect location from DIM and your PC if you have nothing else in it.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
Bulk convert V4/M4 mats for Genesis2

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2013 06:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2009-01-14

I’ll use this, than i don’t need to make a new topic, and i think, my problem is similar… at least at the beginning.
I can’t see the shader, even after the third installation.
I’m using the DazStudio 4.6.1.17, i thought the shaders are included, but i couldn’t find them. I downloaded them separately and installed with this install software… nothing. Ich downloaded it and sorted it manually… the same.
BUT: i can see the folder, Age of Armour/Subsurface/ but inside the folder ther’s only the User Guide and ONE file, the ‘!Subsurface Base Shader’ not the many different shaders like shown in the user manual.

What’s my mistake?
Can anyone help me?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2013 08:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3236
Joined  2007-06-22

Its only 1 shader you can create different effects by altering the settings in the surfaces tab.
You can also buy some presets in the store here

http://www.daz3d.com/subsurface-toon-shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/subsurface-gummy-plastic-shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/subsurface-goop-shaders

AoA also has his metalised shader

http://www.daz3d.com/metalized-glass-shaders-for-daz-studio which I think might be referred to in the Guide which can be confusing.

Profile