Digital Art Zone

 
     
CMS in offline mode?
Posted: 02 June 2013 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-05-25

I noticed that smart content and my categories vanish when my computer goes offline for any reason. (And sometimes CMS simply hangs when I’m offline; in that event I can’t even start Studio unless I stop the service.)

Is there even a way to use the content service on a computer that’s not connected to the net?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2013 10:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06

Yes, I use it all the time.  What is causing you to be offline?  Unless something is blocking CMS from communicating with DS, it should be working.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2013 10:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-05-25

I tested this by blocking the net with my firewall. That should not block local connections, right? I thought it also happened when my connection simply gave out. I’ll test this too.

I am relieved that it’s possible, though. Now if only I could figure out how to make this work for me…


Edit: Ah. Okay, you are completely right, of course. Unplugging the modem did NOT affect the CMS.

I’m happy but also a little confused. Why would blocking outward connections affect program-to-program communication?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2013 02:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4708
Joined  2005-08-03

Is Daz installed on the same machine you’re running it from, or is it installed to a different machine that you’re networked to? I’m only asking because if you’re actually loading Daz that’s installed to a machine other than the one you’re trying to load it from then that would account for the hangups as your system would be losing connection to the other networked machine.

 Signature 

Wearing duck crap doesn’t make you a duck - Floki
@Deviantart | @ShareCG
Tutorial: V4 Transmap Brows on Genesis via DS only.
——————————-
Websleuths - Help bring the missing home and give names to those who don’t have them.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2013 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
May Dream - 02 June 2013 10:18 AM

I tested this by blocking the net with my firewall. That should not block local connections, right? I thought it also happened when my connection simply gave out. I’ll test this too.

I am relieved that it’s possible, though. Now if only I could figure out how to make this work for me…


Edit: Ah. Okay, you are completely right, of course. Unplugging the modem did NOT affect the CMS.

I’m happy but also a little confused. Why would blocking outward connections affect program-to-program communication?

Make sure you’re only blocking external ports.  What firewall are you using?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile