Digital Art Zone

 
   
19 of 51
19
What features would you like to see appear in dazstudio 5?
Posted: 16 May 2013 12:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 271 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14442
Joined  2003-10-09
artistb3 - 16 May 2013 08:39 AM

I suggest that fixing the design flaws in Smart Content should be high on the list.  I assume that DAZ has spent a lot of money on providing metadata in the past couple of years.  Why not make it a priority to then provide a feature in DS that makes good use of this metadata.  As is, Smart Content is barely usable.

That’s not a very useful feature request - you need to say how it’s failing you, or what it would need to do to be useful.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 272 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4311
Joined  2011-11-25

Here’s my wishlist

1. I would like the ability to tilt background images at different degrees other than vertical/horizontal.  Sometimes I want to pan a camera at an angle, and it would be useful to me if I could also change the angle of the background picture, so that say a cloudy sky picture I’m using could match the camera angle, because sometimes it looks funky if the clouds are going horizonatl and the screen image is not angeled that way.

2. Would like it if backgrounds/backdrops could be affected by the depth of field camera lens. I use backdrops/grounds a lot, to save resources, but they usually are behind something. It looks odd to have them sharply in focus. Yeah, I can post work them to be blurry but, it would be cool if I didn’t have to.

3. I’d like some way to capture the perspective camera. When I was a newbie starting out, I was so frustrated when I’d use the perspective camera, get the angle right, and it wouldn’t save. I didn’t realize I could create my own camera, but sometimes that perspective camera has a great angle or shot I’d like to caputer.

4. I’d like a better way to handle interior lighting. I love light sets, but I have difficulty lighting a room that has a ceiling if lights aren’t included with the model. PErhaps an ‘adhere to ceiling option’ for a light set?

5. I want to backup categories reliably and easily. I don’t want to have to ever make them again. I think dim is a great improvement for reinstalling content but the categories and setting those up takes hours. I want to spend time with daz not organizing.

6. I would like the import metadata tab to have items listed by product name. It is sometimes hard to find items there unless you know their number. Perhaps a columnular search. I have increasingly had to use this feature and it is frustrating not to be able to find my items.

7. Would like better way to troubleshoot database issues. I seem to be getting an increasing problem where content doesn’t appear properly in the content directory and I must reimport metadata. I find it frustrating to spend so much time troubleshooting content., reimporting its metadata etc. I know this is a problem with my database, but it seems to get constipated now and then.

8. Would like daz to tell me when the daz content manager isn’t running so that it can be started. when I was just starting out, this was a constant issue and I spent hours trying to figure out why content wasn’t showing when this was the culprit.

Thats all I have for now.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 01:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 273 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14442
Joined  2003-10-09

1 & 2 can be handled by putting the image on a plane isntead of using the backdrop function.

3 you can already do - Create new camera, click the More options button (if the extra options aren’t showing) and then select Apply active viewport transforms.

4 Have you tried using the Align pane?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 01:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 274 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8780
Joined  2007-11-06
SereneNight - 16 May 2013 12:44 PM

5. I want to backup categories reliably and easily. I don’t want to have to ever make them again. I think dim is a great improvement for reinstalling content but the categories and setting those up takes hours. I want to spend time with daz not organizing.

Export user data does that—I’ve found it to be very reliable.  It can be slow if you have a lot of custom categorization (which I do —I categorize EVERYTHING my way).

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 02:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 275 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3430
Joined  2009-08-05

This!!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHySGIqEgyk

 Signature 

My Daz Store
My Rendo Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 May 2013 11:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 276 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2012-05-25
Zev0 - 16 May 2013 02:43 PM

This!!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHySGIqEgyk

ah nice to read others share the same idea about this. raspberry
i created a request in dazbugzilla/request tool here: (Dazstudio 5 request) Real-Time Skin Deformation with Contact Modeling

 Signature 

Very Happy that i save $$$ for products that have no manual and invest this in the great lux modo :p

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 12:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 277 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2249
Joined  2005-09-05
icprncss - 16 May 2013 06:36 AM
Pendraia - 16 May 2013 01:10 AM
icprncss - 15 May 2013 09:15 PM

One major problem with mt5 and mc6 files, even if DS could read them, they wouldn’t work.  Procedural shaders are tied to the render engine.  DS and Poser use similar but different render engines.

I don’t know about mt5 files but mc6 files show up in ds. They will even apply to a certain extent. As you mention though they are tied to a different system and I’m sure they don’t fully apply all functions just some of the basics.

DS can read the basics settings found on the first level of Poser material room shaders.  However, DS and Posers render engines handle even something as simple as a bump map differently.  Poser is pretty much black and white in bump mapping whereas DS tends to the shades of gray.

Ambient and specularity are another known issue between the two.  There are probably more as you get deeper into the shader tools.

. Agreed,  they don’t apply all the settings correctly.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 278 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  699
Joined  2008-02-24

Four things (Sorry if they have been mentioned already, I’ve been reading this thread to and from & don’t remember everything)

1. To open the latest file from within daz, perhaps beneath File, the way you can do it in for instance MS Office or Adobe applications

2. To load several instances of smth at a time. Say I want to make bubbles and want to create 65 spheres for that. Then loading 65 spheres is a pain in the XXX today!

3. To see the result of more than 7 light sources in the working window. A chance to pre-view shadows would be nice too, but not a top priority from my end.

4. To change the colours of the pulleys for translation, rotation etc. I’ve never been that found of the pastella colours. They were much nicer to the eyes back in DS3 imho. And smaller also.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 279 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5715
Joined  2005-04-16
Herakleia - 03 June 2013 11:40 AM

3. To see the result of more than 7 light sources in the working window. A chance to pre-view shadows would be nice too, but not a top priority from my end.

I think that is a function of OpenGL and your video card, not the software.

Dana

 Signature 

Old post count: 7511

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 12:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 280 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2847
Joined  0

- Motion Paths, definitely
- Particles!

Extra credit:

- Particle collision handling (death on contact, bounce, etc.)
- Illustrator import of motion paths

Then I’d shut up for, oh, at LEAST six months! (chortle)

 Signature 

My bloggity blog: http://the-serpents-fang.blogspot.com/
My Red Room Authors Page: http://redroom.com/member/edward-averill

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2013 01:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 281 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14442
Joined  2003-10-09
Herakleia - 03 June 2013 11:40 AM

2. To load several instances of smth at a time. Say I want to make bubbles and want to create 65 spheres for that. Then loading 65 spheres is a pain in the XXX today!

You could load one and create 64 instances or geometry shells (both from the Create menu) as long as you wanted identical copies as far as shape was concerned.

 

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2013 05:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 282 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1198
Joined  2007-11-30

...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2013 11:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 283 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5004
Joined  2008-03-06
Norse Graphics - 04 June 2013 05:15 AM

I would wish for a complete revamp of their export-writing software; eg., when exporting to another program (in my case AD 3DS Max), the morphs aren’t getting through. It’s a far cry from previous experiments in this regard as the mesh doesn’t break, the texture is exported properly. For the record I use the FBX, and I don’t know how things aren’t properly translated, but the dials doesn’t show up at the other end.

Blender intercompatibility with Max and Maya has always sucked.  This is too bad because better support for working with it at the same time as the big suites would forward the program’s interests in general.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2013 06:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 284 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1615
Joined  2012-01-04

I want a feature that says, ” I wouldn’t do that if I were you”, or “You might think about doing this first”, or “If you do this it may give you better results”.

Well, maybe not that far, but maybe somewhat like that.

 Signature 

Old Post Count: Maybe 3 or 4.
O/S: Windows 7x64
D/S: 4.6.0.18

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2013 12:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 285 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5967
Joined  2006-02-20

Old joke about Microsoft building cars:
The airbag system would ask “Are you sure?” before deploying.

 Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?
Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki: https://poserdazfreebies.orain.org

Profile
 
 
   
19 of 51
19