Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 6
1
Where to put…
Posted: 30 May 2013 04:24 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1658
Joined  2013-04-23

Hey guys, first off.. if I sound a tad annoyed I apologize, but the truth is I am quite annoyed and disapointed. Though not at all at you guys smile

I went onto Share and found a nice weathereffect, rain in this case. Since I haven’t learnt to work photoshop yet, I figured it could help me be able to render a entry for the mini RRRR pull. So I downloaded it, unzipped it…. opened the unzipped folder (named rain)... and wanted to cry :(


Cause in the folder named Rain there is just files, no other folders at all to indicate where to actually put these things. And the ReadMe doesn’t even mention anything about either..Below is a screen with how it looks in the Rain folder, as well as the ReadMe.

My question is simply, where do I actually put these different files? Or should I simply not bother at all with it and try to find something else?

Image Attachments
rainfolder.jpg
 Signature 

My Art Thread  **  My Gallery  **  My Deviant Art  (includes mature content)

Playful Ferret, Proud Wizard Companion of BWC

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 04:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6134
Joined  2005-08-29
carola.ottosson - 30 May 2013 04:24 AM

Hey guys, first off.. if I sound a tad annoyed I apologize, but the truth is I am quite annoyed and disapointed. Though not at all at you guys smile

I went onto Share and found a nice weathereffect, rain in this case. Since I haven’t learnt to work photoshop yet, I figured it could help me be able to render a entry for the mini RRRR pull. So I downloaded it, unzipped it…. opened the unzipped folder (named rain)... and wanted to cry :(


Cause in the folder named Rain there is just files, no other folders at all to indicate where to actually put these things. And the ReadMe doesn’t even mention anything about either..Below is a screen with how it looks in the Rain folder, as well as the ReadMe.

My question is simply, where do I actually put these different files? Or should I simply not bother at all with it and try to find something else?

As it’s a .pz3,  an .obj and a bunch of textures, you can drag the .pz3 to the DS main window and it will load. Next issue will be setting the materials to work well in DS, but I guess they are just alpha masks (I did my rain and snow that way).

Or, you can import the .obj into DS and then apply the textures manually, and save it out as a subscene or a .duf-prop.

pm me if you need more help (and I can reply in Swedish instead if it’s easier)

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 10:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1377
Joined  2004-06-13

The only way to know for sure is to open the pz3 file with either WordPad or better Notepad++.  If this is a free item could you post a link?

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 10:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8322
Joined  2009-05-14

Why be annoyed, think positively and consider this a learning excercise on what is what and how to use files with no structure. You will probably come across this again and again. Reverse your attitude and have more fun. smile

PZ3 is a Poser format scene file which as Totte said will work in Daz Studio. You can neither drop it in like Totte suggested or go to File - Import and navigate to where the PZ3 is located, select it aand accept the selection.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1658
Joined  2013-04-23
jestmart - 30 May 2013 10:14 AM

The only way to know for sure is to open the pz3 file with either WordPad or better Notepad++.  If this is a free item could you post a link?

Here is the link, http://www.sharecg.com/v/61663/gallery/11/Poser/Poser-rain-effect and the rain do look fabolous and I woud have liekd.. but I eventually gave up truth to be told.

Szark - 30 May 2013 10:31 AM

Why be annoyed, think positively and consider this a learning excercise on what is what and how to use files with no structure. You will probably come across this again and again. Reverse your attitude and have more fun. smile

PZ3 is a Poser format scene file which as Totte said will work in Daz Studio. You can neither drop it in like Totte suggested or go to File - Import and navigate to where the PZ3 is located, select it aand accept the selection.

I tried, and I went back and tried with both the drag it into and importing it.. but while I eventually got soemthing in there, it acted more like a very big, very strangely formed background picture than a prop. So as I said above, I kinda gave up. One day I might be able to go through and learn more about that, but it’s still so much else I need to learn that I think I will push that to the future… or atleast until next time smile

Thanks for the replies though smile

*hugs*
Carola

 Signature 

My Art Thread  **  My Gallery  **  My Deviant Art  (includes mature content)

Playful Ferret, Proud Wizard Companion of BWC

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8322
Joined  2009-05-14

I just DLed and unzipped the folder, used the Import function and choose the PZ3 It then asked me to locate the texture map so I poiinted it to the extracted zip folder and hey presto Rain


So the process

1 File > Import
2 Locate the PZ3
3.Locate the named texture when asked

as you can see the prop is just a series of vertical planes with a rain texture applied with an opacity maps hiding all but the rain drops.

Image Attachments
rain.jpgrain1.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 12:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8322
Joined  2009-05-14

Here is the Imported OBJ without any textures applied.

Image Attachments
rain2.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 12:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8322
Joined  2009-05-14

Then all there is left to do is go in to the Suraces pane and apply the diffuse map and opacity map.

If you don’t know how to manually load a texture map then shout. We will take you through the very simple process.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  666
Joined  2007-05-26

If you would rather pay for a rain product that comes organized you might try Nerd 3d rain tool http://www.daz3d.com/rain-tool or Flinks rain over at Rendo

 Signature 

If I want to be a fool then I will be a fool! That is my God given right as an American!

—- Jason from True Blood

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 01:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1658
Joined  2013-04-23

Thank you Szark, I tried again and did get it in this time. Probably did something wrong last time I tried *sheepish look* Tried it in one of my (thankfulyl saved) scen subsets… and realised it took away all my lighting and cameras… So I am going to play aroudn with that rain and the lights and cameras that came with it smile

MrPoser - Thanks for the link to Nerd3d’s rain, have put it on my wishlisht now.. unfortunately, a girl has to eat so can’t buy it at this time smile

 Signature 

My Art Thread  **  My Gallery  **  My Deviant Art  (includes mature content)

Playful Ferret, Proud Wizard Companion of BWC

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 01:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9588
Joined  2007-11-06

The current appropriate place for .pz3 files is Runtime:Libraries:Scene

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 02:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8322
Joined  2009-05-14
carola.ottosson - 30 May 2013 01:20 PM

Thank you Szark, I tried again and did get it in this time. Probably did something wrong last time I tried *sheepish look* Tried it in one of my (thankfulyl saved) scen subsets… and realised it took away all my lighting and cameras… So I am going to play aroudn with that rain and the lights and cameras that came with it smile

MrPoser - Thanks for the link to Nerd3d’s rain, have put it on my wishlisht now.. unfortunately, a girl has to eat so can’t buy it at this time smile

I didn’t mean to come of as preaching earlier but I often see folks getting frustrated when there is no need to. Learning all this is time consuming and sometimes hard but things like this are easy to overcome and is a great learning excercise. Just take a step back and as you did here ask away. Yes some aspects are a lot harder to teach in a forum in one thread in a short period of time. Lighting for example, my nemisis. But even then I don’t rely on Presets all the time and fight to light my own scenes from scratch. Same principle as this issue. I won’t learn if I don’t do it myself and not relying on others ata cost to my pocket. LOL

Yeah sorry about that yes loading a PZ3 will delete other cam and lights that are in the scene. I didn’t think to mention it. :( But you won’t have that trouble now when you load the Scene Subset. smile

Thanks Mike for adding that nugget.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2013 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1658
Joined  2013-04-23
Szark - 30 May 2013 02:47 PM

...I didn’t mean to come of as preaching earlier but I often see folks getting frustrated when there is no need to. Learning all this is time consuming and sometimes hard but things like this are easy to overcome and is a great learning excercise. Just take a step back and as you did here ask away. Yes some aspects are a lot harder to teach in a forum in one thread in a short period of time. Lighting for example, my nemisis. But even then I don’t rely on Presets all the time and fight to light my own scenes from scratch. Same principle as this issue. I won’t learn if I don’t do it myself and not relying on others ata cost to my pocket. LOL

Yeah sorry about that yes loading a PZ3 will delete other cam and lights that are in the scene. I didn’t think to mention it. :( But you won’t have that trouble now when you load the Scene Subset. smile

Thanks Mike for adding that nugget.

You didn’t came off as preaching hun, so no worries smile atleast I didn’t take it like that. And I much prefer to loud my own lights too, even if I use preset ones too.. most of the time aftehr aving adjusting them *grins*

I do need to learn to work with linear and pointlights though.. my current tries with them has ended in disaster and made me go back to my spotlights *sheepish smile* I paln to re-read that thread you made once I find it again smile

And thanks Mike, I will put it in there smile

*hugs all*
C

 Signature 

My Art Thread  **  My Gallery  **  My Deviant Art  (includes mature content)

Playful Ferret, Proud Wizard Companion of BWC

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2013 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8322
Joined  2009-05-14

Good. Great little prop too, simple but effective.

I can’t promise anything these days due to personal issues but I have typed up an intro to Point lights last night. I need to finish it of and do some small renders and get it posted. If or hopefully when it gets posted I will send you a PM. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2013 08:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1658
Joined  2013-04-23
Szark - 31 May 2013 08:47 AM

Good. Great little prop too, simple but effective.

I can’t promise anything these days due to personal issues but I have typed up an intro to Point lights last night. I need to finish it of and do some small renders and get it posted. If or hopefully when it gets posted I will send you a PM. smile

Oohh.. Thank you *pounces to give more hugs* I really appreciate that smile And don’t feel pressed for time or anything, just take as long as you need. Your personal life/issues are more important smile

/C

 Signature 

My Art Thread  **  My Gallery  **  My Deviant Art  (includes mature content)

Playful Ferret, Proud Wizard Companion of BWC

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2013 10:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6134
Joined  2005-08-29

Great work there Pete (Szark), some well needed Wizardry wink

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 6
1