Digital Art Zone

 
     
Re-setting a messed-up surface (solved - taken that you have Supersuite)
Posted: 29 May 2013 04:45 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  721
Joined  2008-02-24

Hi!

After playing around with a lot of SSS shaders and so on, I’ve managed to mess up a few surfaces in a scene, and not even applying the original materials helps. The only way to fix it I’ve figured out seems to be to add a completely new item and pose it to the same place and shape as the ‘ruined’ one. Or is there an easier way? Like resetting a surface completely to ‘zero’/‘default’  (the white thing) ??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2013 05:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8184
Joined  2009-05-14

Well Daz Studio does have a Daz Default surface preset in the library but I cannot check exactly were it is or if it is working now. I have been having the same trouble and found what you found..yes a royal PITA.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2013 05:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15145
Joined  2003-10-09

Also applying a Poser material file or any DS preset that uses the DAZ Default Shader will set the sahder to the default, which should clear and problems.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2013 01:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  721
Joined  2008-02-24

I found a reset surface among the supersuite stuff which works for me, but perhaps it’d be interesting to know if there’s a defalt one in case someone don’t have the ss. Like this Daz Default surface preset

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 June 2013 04:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8184
Joined  2009-05-14

Load a fresh Geneisis and save out a new Material preset, now you have a reset base material.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile