Luxus for Carrara released! Intro sale price at 30% off.

«13456711

Comments

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 1969

    Cross posted news at
    http://www.renderosity.com/mod/forumpro/showthread.php?thread_id=2868029
    and
    http://www.luxrender.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=10092

    Please help to spread the word about the biggest release for Carrara this year.

  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Purchased!

  • ProPoseProPose Posts: 136
    edited December 1969

    Me Too!! HaHoo!

  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    You should inform Luxrender that a plugin is now available for Carrara.

  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    Is there something different you have to do to get it to work in the 8.5 beta? I installed it, and the 3 files are in the extensions folder, but I have no Luxus option in the render room.

  • JimJim Posts: 491
    edited December 1969

    This is very cool news. I wrote a brief thing about it on my blog... which eventually degenerated into rambling about cool specials that make me wish I had money.

    Here's to the beauty of unbiased rendering.

  • ProPoseProPose Posts: 136
    edited December 1969

    Kodiak3D said:
    Is there something different you have to do to get it to work in the 8.5 beta? I installed it, and the 3 files are in the extensions folder, but I have no Luxus option in the render room.


    Works for me big bear, C8.1 production build and C8.5 Beta

  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    ProPose said:
    Kodiak3D said:
    Is there something different you have to do to get it to work in the 8.5 beta? I installed it, and the 3 files are in the extensions folder, but I have no Luxus option in the render room.


    Works for me big bear, C8.1 production build and C8.5 Beta

    Well, while I'm glad that it's working for you (and I'm envious of that), clearly I've done something wrong. Suggestions?

  • ProPoseProPose Posts: 136
    edited December 1969

    check the install path is what comes to mind

  • edited December 1969

    I use Luxus on DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro and love it!

    Could you kindly tell me if this version will work on Carrara 6 PRO?

    If so I will buy it in a second.

    Charles

  • ProPoseProPose Posts: 136
    edited December 1969

    choover said:
    I use Luxus on DAZ Studio 4.6 Pro and love it!

    Could you kindly tell me if this version will work on Carrara 6 PRO?

    If so I will buy it in a second.

    Charles

    As far as I know it's for C8+. I have C6Pro but I'd have to install it to check if it works

  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    ProPose said:
    check the install path is what comes to mind

    Well, as I said earlier, the files are in the Extensions folder. That's where they're supposed to be, correct?

  • edited December 1969

    H! I don't understand: each time I'm cliking on "in cart", it doesn't work... it's really frustrating! I'm the only one???

  • ProPoseProPose Posts: 136
    edited December 1969

    Kodiak3D said:
    ProPose said:
    check the install path is what comes to mind

    Well, as I said earlier, the files are in the Extensions folder. That's where they're supposed to be, correct?

    I'd start by deleting the existing files and reinstall with the installer

  • ProPoseProPose Posts: 136
    edited May 2013

    celmar said:
    H! I don't understand: each time I'm cliking on "in cart", it doesn't work... it's really frustrating! I'm the only one???

    Happened to me too. put something else in your cart to see if it gets added, if it does the go to your cart and delete what you don't want. that what I did and it seemed to work

    Post edited by ProPose on
  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    ProPose said:
    Kodiak3D said:
    ProPose said:
    check the install path is what comes to mind

    Well, as I said earlier, the files are in the Extensions folder. That's where they're supposed to be, correct?

    I'd start by deleting the existing files and reinstall with the installer

    Still no.

  • Kodiak3DKodiak3D Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    OK, I figured it out, but it was odd. I didn't have 8.1 installed, so I installed it and installed Luxus there as well. Now it works in 8.1 and 8.5.

  • booksbydavidbooksbydavid Posts: 404
    edited December 1969

    Oooooo! New toys! I've been using Luxrender via Reality in Poser for a while. I'm very happy that I can now use Lux via Luxus in Carrara. Outstanding news!

  • booksbydavidbooksbydavid Posts: 404
    edited December 1969

    No joy in Mudville. :(

    This is the first item I've tried to purchase here at DAZ in ages and it's not going well. The purchase will not go through. The cart says I have 1 item in my cart but when I try to purchase it tells me my cart is empty.

    Frustrating. Contacting support now.

    So sad.

  • JamyJamy Posts: 97
    edited December 1969

    Hi,

    I'm very happy to see something new about Carrara on the Daz shop,
    but is it a good idea to purchase "Luxus for Carrara" whith a Mac ?

    I downloaded the "luxus render plugin" on Carrara cafe but I just get a yellow window (same as holly wetcircuit)
    is the luxus plugin for Carrara needed to use the "Luxus for carrar" ?

    Most of the time Daz sell products without documentation and it's not very easy when your language is not english to understand all the forum explications.

    My dream is to have a tutorial step by step

  • rk66rk66 Posts: 158
    edited December 1969

    Hi,

    here you find more informations: http://carraracafe.com/forum-3/#cid=1,tid=59

    rk.

  • Jay_NOLAJay_NOLA Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

    The product has a PDF instruction manual. See the Spheric Labs Labs entry in the Carrara plugin FAQ & Information post. I put a link to it, links to other things, and stated to compile a FAQ about the plugin. (Did all last night at around 2:30 AM and have been doing minor edits during the day.)


    http://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/15970/P105/#290982

    Hi,

    I'm very happy to see something new about Carrara on the Daz shop,
    but is it a good idea to purchase "Luxus for Carrara" whith a Mac ?

    I downloaded the "luxus render plugin" on Carrara cafe but I just get a yellow window (same as holly wetcircuit)
    is the luxus plugin for Carrara needed to use the "Luxus for carrar" ?

    Most of the time Daz sell products without documentation and it's not very easy when your language is not english to understand all the forum explications.

    My dream is to have a tutorial step by step

  • araneldonaraneldon Posts: 621
    edited December 1969

    No joy in Mudville. :(

    This is the first item I've tried to purchase here at DAZ in ages and it's not going well. The purchase will not go through. The cart says I have 1 item in my cart but when I try to purchase it tells me my cart is empty.

    Frustrating. Contacting support now.

    So sad.


    That's a known problem that has been around for a while. To get around it you need to add another item -- anything -- to the cart. After that the hidden item should show up along with the new one which can then be deleted.

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 1969

    Kodiak3D said:
    You should inform Luxrender that a plugin is now available for Carrara.

    Thanks, made a thread and PM's the main dev, more info here:
    http://www.luxrender.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=10092

  • 3drendero3drendero Posts: 642
    edited December 1969

    Sweet, got a news post and a Carrara link on the main Luxrender site:
    http://www.luxrender.net/en_GB/index

    Carrara is now part of the Luxrender team together with 3dsmax, Cinema4D, XSI, Poser, Blender.
    There are many more expensive 3D apps that does not have Luxrender exporters, a big thank you to Spheric Labs!

  • JimJim Posts: 491
    edited December 1969

    Yep LightWave still doesn't have a Lux exporter despite several valiant attempts in the past. My primitive skills just aren't up to the task of taking something like this on.

  • MiloMilo Posts: 318
    edited December 1969

    Oh looks good.

    BTW anyone know when the sale ends. I am juggling things as I just shot my budget signing up for HitFilm Ultimate 2 kickstarter to get a killer price .

  • Salem2007Salem2007 Posts: 442
    edited December 1969

    I hope it's ok to ask a few questions, here. If not, I'll start a new thread.

    Is there a way to saved the scene to render later?
    Does DOF work in this version?

  • JimJim Posts: 491
    edited May 2013

    DOF didn't work in the first release of Luxus for DS (much to the annoyance of many-a user), so I would assume it was added this time around.

    With Luxus for DS you had to use very small F-stop settings to get desired results. You could need to use anything as low as .01 - maybe more. F-stop isn't actually tied to DOF in LuxRender, so that might have something to do with the strange settings. Hope this helps. It has been too long since I did any rendering/playing with cameras in Carrara, so I don't even recall how DOF works there.

    You should be able to save the scene as a .lux to render later (will do this at export from Carrara). Luxrender will intermittently save a .flm while rendering which you can use to resume your render. You can also manually save a .flm yourself by going to File > Save FLM. I don't know where exports from C are being saved, but with Luxus for DS they were being saved to a temp location that wiped every time you rest your computer (or was it whenever you ended a DS session?). Make sure you're scenes aren't being saved to a temp location - or doom!

    Post edited by Jim on
  • holly wetcircuitholly wetcircuit Posts: 0
    edited December 1969


    but is it a good idea to purchase "Luxus for Carrara" whith a Mac ?

    I downloaded the "luxus render plugin" on Carrara cafe but I just get a yellow window (same as holly wetcircuit)

    I did get it to work, although I didn't keep up with all the betas during his very fast development cycle...

    The thing is to be very thorough with all your shaders, to convert them all to the Lux shaders. I actually had at least 1 non-lux shader that sneaked through (not really sure how it rendered, I didn't see anything horrible in the render), but it seems having Carrara shaders in the scene was the problem I had....

    I hope it's ok to ask a few questions, here. If not, I'll start a new thread.

    Is there a way to saved the scene to render later?
    Does DOF work in this version?

    I don't know about DOF..., but when I used the beta Carrara writes a LuxRender scene file. I was able to double-click these scene files to launch LuxRender.... Writing the scene file seems to launch LuxRender, but I assume can just cancel the render....

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel