Digital Art Zone

 
     
Duplicate Content Directories with Download Manager
Posted: 24 May 2013 05:43 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2010-04-04

Hey, the first thing I want to say is that I am really enjoying the new Install Manager.  It takes all the guesswork out of the installs, and the way it automatically lets you know that something has been updated and needs to be downloaded again is outstanding.

I do have one question though:  Originally DAZ Studio 4 was installing things to the user/DAZ3D/Studio/MyLibrary Directory with a mostly empty user/DAZ3D/Studio4/MyLibrary directory.

The Download manager of course likes the default of public/My DAZ 3D Library, and we were told it worked best if it did an install to a fresh directory, which I let it do.

Which leaves me with two very large generally duplicate runtimes.  Now much as I like to buy bigger and bigger hard drives to accommodate this, it’s sort of getting to the point of silliness (especially when you consider I have the whole older set of D/S 3 runtime in yet another separate directory.

So…

What are the issues with removing the old library?  I realize I will need to re-install such content as I purchased, um, “elsewhere”

We aren’t talking any small amount of disk space, I have over 3,500 downloads from here alone and my old runtime is over 300 GB

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 05:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7544
Joined  2006-03-19

Poll removed.

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 05:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2010-04-04

Sorry, did I break any rules with that?  Didn’t mean to cause a problem.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 06:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7544
Joined  2006-03-19

we don’t allow polls to be done. It is suppose to be disabled but isn’t. I sure they’ll get to it once everything else is running smoothly

 Signature 

ARTCollaborations Store on DAZ3D    ARTCollaborations on Facebook

*****Mad Chemistry Lab*****  

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 06:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8426
Joined  2007-11-06

One thin to be careful of when removing your old content folder is making sure you save the Data folder, so that old .daz scenes will work.  You can just leave a content folder with only the Data subfolder, so it won’t give you duplicate entries in your Content Library, but is available if a .daz file needs it.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 06:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2010-04-04

Gotcha.  Don’t touch all the pretty buttons tongue rolleye

Seriously, the site is coming along really well at this point, it’s a whole lot better than it was a year ago.  I’m sure it will get taken care of in due time.  A lot of the recent stuff has been nothing short of awesome.  It’s nice to see DAZ getting back on track, you guys had me worried there for a bit.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 06:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  151
Joined  2010-04-04
fixmypcmike - 24 May 2013 06:27 PM

One thin to be careful of when removing your old content folder is making sure you save the Data folder, so that old .daz scenes will work.  You can just leave a content folder with only the Data subfolder, so it won’t give you duplicate entries in your Content Library, but is available if a .daz file needs it.

Actually I am prepared to lose that ability.  The problem is just saving the data folder will not help with non-DAZ content, and many of my old scenes would access at least some of that.  I was more worried that the program itself would hang because it would be expecting to find something in the old location even when everything is loaded from the new one. 

I made some unwise decisions on freebies in the early days of Genesis (Warrior Princess anyone?) and I want to make sure the “gene pool” stays uncontaminated this time.

Profile