Digital Art Zone

 
     
The ‘Fit to’ bar has ‘come off’
Posted: 24 May 2013 04:35 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  723
Joined  2008-02-24

Hello!

After installing DAZ 4.6 and selecting ‘fit to’ for a clothes item or something, the drop-down meny beneath the selection button becomes a new message box instead of staying where it’s supposed to be (beneath the button). Is there a way to fix that so it becomes as it was earlier?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 04:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15208
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s been a dialogue for some time, as I recall. I don’t believe there is - though it could be done with a script, to an extent (that is, a dialogue could still open but it would close as soon as a figure was chosen). One reason for this is to allow the option of parenting the clothing to the figure, as well as fitting it, for better scene organisation.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2013 04:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  723
Joined  2008-02-24

But I can’t see any functional difference, the only difference is that the fit-to is a separate dialog box instead of a drop-down parented to the bar.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2013 06:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15208
Joined  2003-10-09

I’m rendering right now, but as I recall there’s a check box at the bottom of the dialogue for parenting the fitted item to it’s fitted-to figure.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2013 04:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  723
Joined  2008-02-24

I tried toggling that, but the box is still not docked/parented.
Is there some other setting somewhere I need to tinker with?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2013 07:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
Herakleia - 31 May 2013 04:59 AM

I tried toggling that, but the box is still not docked/parented.
Is there some other setting somewhere I need to tinker with?

You can NOT dock the NEW Fit to. It was removed from the Menu as the same function is in the Parameters tab and will force the Pop up to run. Redundant code was needed to have it in the Menu and Parameters.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 May 2013 08:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15208
Joined  2003-10-09

The check box is why it needs to be a separate dialogue, not a way of changing that.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile