Digital Art Zone

 
     
How can I turn “Genesis” into a dressmaker’s dummy?
Posted: 24 May 2013 09:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  322
Joined  2004-11-27

Hi to all,

Can anyone please help me with ideas to turn “Genesis” into a mannequin doll (as seen in clothing shops)? Any tutorials? I am planning to make a shop window displaying clothes with Genesis but have no idea to do such! rolleyes

Various styles:

1. Full Genesis with glossy kind of textures;
2. Headless Genesis;
3. Headless and armless Genesis;
4. Genesis with only torso part as sometimes also seen in shop displays;
5. Only Genesis head and shoulders to use for hat displays
6. Arms only for displaying gloves, etc.
7. Legs only for displaying stockings, socks, etc.
8. Any other styles I can’t think off!

And if it’s possible, can I use the same techniques for the Millennium 1-5 people too, i.e. V2, M2 up to V4, M4, K4, etc.?

Any advice or links to tutors will be much appreciated! grin

EDIT:  I should have rather direct this in the Daz Studio forum.

Regards,

Laura

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 09:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8031
Joined  2012-09-10

You’re not talking about just going into the Scene tab and clicking the eye shut for the body part? Aka, if you click the eye closed on the head, the head disappears. Click on the bones to get the dropdowns to appear.

EDIT: well, it was a thought. It just doesn’t start and stop smoothly, does it?!

 Signature 

SILO Step By Step
The Art Studio: Thread #5   Product Discussions
Beginners Videos Thread-

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1014
Joined  2003-10-09

Have you seen this?

http://www.daz3d.com/v4-mannequin

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  322
Joined  2004-11-27
TimG - 24 May 2013 09:25 AM

Have you seen this?

http://www.daz3d.com/v4-mannequin

Thanks for the reply.  Yes, I have seen the product but can’t buy it currently as Pensioner.  That is why I want to learn to do things myself rather. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 09:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  322
Joined  2004-11-27
Novica - 24 May 2013 09:20 AM

You’re not talking about just going into the Scene tab and clicking the eye shut for the body part? Aka, if you click the eye closed on the head, the head disappears. Click on the bones to get the dropdowns to appear.

EDIT: well, it was a thought. It just doesn’t start and stop smoothly, does it?!

Thanks for the input - I am still learning Daz Studio and actually don’t know much about the program and it’s features.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 10:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1014
Joined  2003-10-09
launok - 24 May 2013 09:28 AM
TimG - 24 May 2013 09:25 AM

Have you seen this?

http://www.daz3d.com/v4-mannequin

Thanks for the reply.  Yes, I have seen the product but can’t buy it currently as Pensioner.  That is why I want to learn to do things myself rather. smile

You could take the individual body parts you want gone and reduce the scale to 0. You might need to do some post-work to clean up, but it won’t give you that hollow look.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1499
Joined  2006-07-04

Try this -

Scale the parts you don’t want to 0%.  It’s not as clean as a regular mannequin, but it may be workable.

And you don’t need to scale them all, just the first part in the chain you don’t want. (shoulders, thighs and head in this case)

Edit - TimG posted the same suggestion while I was setting up the example render.  smile

Image Attachments
Manequin_rough.png
 Signature 

DAZ Gallery * * *DA Gallery

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 10:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  322
Joined  2004-11-27
DaWaterRat - 24 May 2013 10:22 AM

Try this -

Scale the parts you don’t want to 0%.  It’s not as clean as a regular mannequin, but it may be workable.

And you don’t need to scale them all, just the first part in the chain you don’t want. (shoulders, thighs and head in this case)

Edit - TimG posted the same suggestion while I was setting up the example render.  smile

Thanks for the advice! Appreciated. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 10:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1499
Joined  2006-07-04
launok - 24 May 2013 10:24 AM
DaWaterRat - 24 May 2013 10:22 AM

Try this -

Scale the parts you don’t want to 0%.  It’s not as clean as a regular mannequin, but it may be workable.

And you don’t need to scale them all, just the first part in the chain you don’t want. (shoulders, thighs and head in this case)

Edit - TimG posted the same suggestion while I was setting up the example render.  smile

Thanks for the advice! Appreciated. smile

Just a quick add on - if you want the head/hands/legs, then you need to set the parts you don’t want to 0.1%, or else the parts further down the parent-child chain will be scaled to 0 as well.

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery * * *DA Gallery

Profile