Digital Art Zone

 
     
i dont see new render quality in 4.6.
Posted: 17 May 2013 03:48 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  134
Joined  2012-01-23

hello, sorry if this is a naive question, but i just upgraded to 4.6, and in the description it says “new render engine”,  and yet when i take my old scene files and then render them, they look exactly the same as in 4.5.  as you can see here in these quick example pics. the one on top is rendered in daz 4.5, the last one is in daz 4.6     is there something i am not doing right? or something i am missing?  i somewhat thought render quality would improve or something with new versions, maybe thats further in the future though?

Image Attachments
dwarf_with_armor_-_Copy.jpgdwarf_with_armor.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 04:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14033
Joined  2003-10-09

It’s an updated version of 3Delight. it should be a bit faster, at least (depending on what you compare it with) and should have bug fixes. It wasn’t an ideal way to describe the change, I think, as a lot of people would expect it to mean a new renderer rather than a new version of the existing renderer.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 04:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  134
Joined  2012-01-23

oh.  well any improvements are good ones i suppose, do you know what bugs were fixed? or of any other changes i might see to renders?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 06:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14033
Joined  2003-10-09

If you look at the 3Delight site and compare the versions from the old and new DS that should give an indication of what has changed.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 10:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3521
Joined  2012-02-06

Some of the information about DS4.6 has touted “increased realism.” My understanding is that this is a function of the new subsurface shader—it allows for more realistic skin (edited to add: and some other types of material too). Like anything else, though, to see the results you have to have a good understanding of how to use the tools, and since this is a new tool everyone is still figuring it out. I have seen some rather impressive renders, though (edited for clarification: impressive renders from other users, that is! I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet myself). There’s a user guide available here: http://docs.daz3d.com/lib/exe/fetch.php/public/read_me/index/16324/16324_subsurface-shader-base.pdf

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1144
Joined  2004-06-13

You may want to check the Render Settings, mine where all reset from my usual settings and the Shading Rate was set at 2.00 where it should be set to .20

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  719
Joined  2012-09-24
Richard Haseltine - 17 May 2013 04:50 AM

It’s an updated version of 3Delight. it should be a bit faster, at least (depending on what you compare it with) and should have bug fixes. It wasn’t an ideal way to describe the change, I think, as a lot of people would expect it to mean a new renderer rather than a new version of the existing renderer.

I have run a few tests. A test scene I have been working on that took about 18 min to render in 4.5, renders is 14 min in 4.6.

I also re-render the biggest scene I have have rendered. It seemed to render faster than I remembered. It took 2 hr and 24 min on 4.6. As I remember it was over 3 hours on 4.5.

Memory usage rendering that big scene also appears to be similar, around 14 GB of RAM for DAZ process, 15 GB total system.

 Signature 

DAZ Gallery

Renderosity Gallery

Deviant Art Gallery

My Art Studio Thread

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2013 12:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2012-03-31

Personally I notice faster animation speed maybe it’s just me,however
scenes that use to take an hour are down to about 15- 20 minutes.

Profile