Digital Art Zone

 
   
24 of 40
24
DAZ Studio Pro 4.6.0.18 General Release, Now Available!
Posted: 24 May 2013 11:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 346 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8552
Joined  2007-11-06
XiMiX - 24 May 2013 11:34 AM

I am having several issues with the CMS not working properly in the new DS 4.6 Pro. I was going to reinstall the CMS but I do not want to lose my database because I prefer to work with my own categories. Can I back it up and then reinstall it? What are my options?

p.s. I read the first 10 pages of this thread and got conflicting answers, again I do not want to lose my database.

If it’s working at all, Content Library > options menu > Content DB Maintenance > Export User Data will save your categories.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 11:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 347 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  167
Joined  2009-09-15
fixmypcmike - 24 May 2013 11:39 AM

If it’s working at all, Content Library > options menu > Content DB Maintenance > Export User Data will save your categories.

Yes, the CMS works just fine until I ask it to do something other than load an asset into the scene. I ran the EXPORT function. So I can reinstall now? and when it is finished where do I import?

 Signature 

My clients call me “the web guy” and my friends call me “the photoshop guru”, but I digress….
Wanna know how I do it? check out my randomly updated blog on jimmulvaney webdev

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 348 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8552
Joined  2007-11-06

After resetting the database (or deleting the database files after uninstalling and before reinstalling, Content DB Maintenance > Re-Import Metadata

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 349 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  167
Joined  2009-09-15

One last question, does the EXPORT create a file somewhere? I want to back IT up before I do anything.

 Signature 

My clients call me “the web guy” and my friends call me “the photoshop guru”, but I digress….
Wanna know how I do it? check out my randomly updated blog on jimmulvaney webdev

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 12:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 350 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8552
Joined  2007-11-06
XiMiX - 24 May 2013 12:07 PM

One last question, does the EXPORT create a file somewhere? I want to back IT up before I do anything.

Yes, it creates files in Runtime/Support starting with UserData (UserData_1.dsx, etc.)  They are plain-text files so you can back them up whether CMS is running or not.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 351 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11069
Joined  2007-11-06

...sometimes i miss the old 2.3 days.  No messing with all this database management rubbish.

Just install your content, fire up Daz Studio, and start making art.

Why did it have to become so complicated?

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 01:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 352 ]
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1001
Joined  2007-10-17
Kyoto Kid - 24 May 2013 01:43 PM

...sometimes i miss the old 2.3 days.  No messing with all this database management rubbish.

Just install your content, fire up Daz Studio, and start making art.

Why did it have to become so complicated?

You can still do that. The database is to address the number one and number 2 customer complaints from DS 2.3. Where is my content? And How do I know what content works with what figure?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 01:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 353 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8552
Joined  2007-11-06
Kyoto Kid - 24 May 2013 01:43 PM

...sometimes i miss the old 2.3 days.  No messing with all this database management rubbish.

Just install your content, fire up Daz Studio, and start making art.

Why did it have to become so complicated?

Because of all the complaints about the Runtime folder structure, and about DS and Poser format files being in different places.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 02:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 354 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11069
Joined  2007-11-06

...I actually don’t use smart content as I have no issue finding things in my runtimes and would even ditch the CMS altogether but I have noticed that some new content (particularly some of the shaders) is apparently dependent on it running.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 03:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 355 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  503
Joined  2005-01-18
Kyoto Kid - 24 May 2013 02:22 PM

...I actually don’t use smart content as I have no issue finding things in my runtimes and would even ditch the CMS altogether but I have noticed that some new content (particularly some of the shaders) is apparently dependent on it running.

?? which shaders are dependent for this CMS running? I never used it and never will, ... I think… and I can use shaders like the latest subsurface gummy shaders for instance.

Love, Jeanne

 Signature 

I am what I am, my own special creation

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 May 2013 09:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 356 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
JeanneM - 24 May 2013 03:17 PM
Kyoto Kid - 24 May 2013 02:22 PM

...I actually don’t use smart content as I have no issue finding things in my runtimes and would even ditch the CMS altogether but I have noticed that some new content (particularly some of the shaders) is apparently dependent on it running.

?? which shaders are dependent for this CMS running? I never used it and never will, ... I think… and I can use shaders like the latest subsurface gummy shaders for instance.

Love, Jeanne

I’m with you, which? No shader I own needs the CMS ruuning that I’ve noticed.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2013 12:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 357 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  11069
Joined  2007-11-06

...this was something I heard in a thread concerning either the base SSS or Toon SS shaders.

 Signature 

...it’s five minutes to midnight…

I’d rather have a blue sky above me than a blue screen in front of me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2013 12:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 358 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2012-03-27
XiMiX - 24 May 2013 11:34 AM

I am having several issues with the CMS not working properly in the new DS 4.6 Pro. I was going to reinstall the CMS but I do not want to lose my database because I prefer to work with my own categories. Can I back it up and then reinstall it? What are my options?

p.s. I read the first 10 pages of this thread and got conflicting answers, again I do not want to lose my database.

just my experience here on CMS issues.


First, be sure to back up the data base file(WIN XP:C:\DAZ 3D\Content management Service\Databases, WIN Vista/7)C:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\databases),
Stop cms BEFORE you try to copy the files(Start>programs>Daz3d>Content Management service, or Start task manager and stop it manually, or use the services under admin tools(my preferred way as you can more easily stop and restart it)).
Copy the whole folder.
Restart CMS when done.
Then create a user data file(Content library or smart content tab,right click>Content database maintenance(check)>Export user data>accept).
Be aware this can take a long time to create(hours generally). and even longer to recover(2-3 times as long).
This will create file(s) under MY Library>Runtime>Support, called USERDATA_1.dsx. The more data(stuff+categorization) the more will be created.

Any time you are working with the database files, always stop CMS.

Thanks to adamr001 and linvanchene for a posts related to this type of issue.


I usually backup the database and userdata files prior to any upgrade/update.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2013 01:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 359 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2012-03-27
fixmypcmike - 24 May 2013 01:46 PM
Kyoto Kid - 24 May 2013 01:43 PM

...sometimes i miss the old 2.3 days.  No messing with all this database management rubbish.

Just install your content, fire up Daz Studio, and start making art.

Why did it have to become so complicated?

Because of all the complaints about the Runtime folder structure, and about DS and Poser format files being in different places.

There’s actually a structure to runtime folders?
Somebody needs to tell content creators that.
(i’m being sarcastic here people).

Personally i find the general layout of the runtime folder a bit mucked up, and no real standardization of where stuff should go.
Such as a Hair can wind up in figures, hair or props.
Sets going in Figures or props.
Materials wind up in shader presets, shaders, materials or pose(who came up with that last one?).
Poses and materials mixed together.
With cms, create a category (shirts, pants, poses, skins etc) and group all the mats/cams/lights/props
Subdivide as needed.
You can rename the reference, without messing with the base file name(we won’t go into how many files I couldn’t find/broke after doing that)

I haven’t seen much difference in performance(except mine) with or without the cms on. Just something new and after messing with a copy of v3 and poser and carrara(i love 8.5), i’ve come to appreciate it.
Not having to try to remember the name of a material folder for a certain item, or having to try to make sense of the content creators layout, or having to spend time renaming a ton of stuff, or editing cr2/pz2 etc files is a blessing.

To each there own though.
As long as the software works, and i can figure out where stuff is, it’s all good.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 May 2013 08:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 360 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  167
Joined  2009-09-15
fixmypcmike - 24 May 2013 12:12 PM

Yes, it creates files in Runtime/Support starting with UserData (UserData_1.dsx, etc.)  They are plain-text files so you can back them up whether CMS is running or not.

Thanks again for all your help and patience.

RESULTS: Well, it kind of worked. When all was said and done all but two of my shader categories were missing and a bunch of content was listed under the “Uncategorized” default category. So I still have some tedium ahead of me but not nearly half as bad as I thought it was going to be. Funny though, the only shaders that showed up were the ones that only work in Poser.

Let me ask you, what does everyone else use as far as content management is concerned do the majority of you stick with folder trees? I am lead to understand that smart content has not been all that well received. I would use it if there were a user-friendly way to customize the way it associates with other content, but alas I do not understand it as of right now.

 Signature 

My clients call me “the web guy” and my friends call me “the photoshop guru”, but I digress….
Wanna know how I do it? check out my randomly updated blog on jimmulvaney webdev

Profile
 
 
   
24 of 40
24