Digital Art Zone

 
     
Meistro for DAZHairCap
Posted: 13 May 2013 11:52 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

my second free hair MEISTRO for the DAZHairCap is up at the Cafe Freepository:
http://carraracafe.com/forum-3/?cid=25&show=211#cid=25,tid=211

This is a mature male style with a custom shader (saved internally). It is ready to apply to the DAZHairCap that comes free with Carrara.

I’m trying to produce a new hair every few weeks as I figure out a larger “hair kit"system that will consist of universal hair shaders that can be applied to many different styles…. That’s my goal anyway, a mix-n-match system that could rival anything done in Poser or Studio. I’m using the haircaps because everyone has them, and they are figure agnostic… and should be future-proof so long as someone is willing to create a “fit pose”. In the meantime I offer my learning “prototypes” so please try them out and dissect them and give me feedback. I’d be very proud if anyone made use of them…

Image Attachments
Meistro_hair_for_DAZHairCap.png
 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 05:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2006-09-30

I got really excited when I saw this thread!

Very nice hair, but I thought it was going to be what I have been looking for ever since this thread : http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9130/ (which generated a huge silence!)

Would it be hijacking the thread to ask if you know where to get hair for a Maestro instead of Mr. Meistro there?  I’m downloading Meistro momentarily and will let you know how it fits various cows tongue rolleye

Here’s the Maestro I had in mind, just to complete the hijacking properly!

Image Attachments
LeopoldStokoski.jpg
 Signature 

MOO!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=gt1V61SPI_w&desktop;_uri=/watch?v=gt1V61SPI_w

I’ll see what I can do.

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2006-09-30

That would be wonderful, Holly!  I wanted the classic “Le…  Le…  Leopold!” Hair from that Bugs Bunny Cartoon parody of Leopold Stokowski for a contest our local Classical Music Station had for their 60th Anniversary Logo - but never found one and somebody else won :(

Still, it would be nice for any number of ideas.

Back to your Miestro…

I got it, but ...

Ummmm…

Where exactly did we get those haircaps?

I recently got a new ‘puter when my old one died, and they don’t seem to be easily found.  They may be in my back-ups someplace, but I’m not sure where to look, and those drives are terrabytes big and full.

Guess I’ll try the search feature, but if they’re in an installer - they may not turn up without knowing the name of it.  Nothing turned up in a “filter” of my products in my account here. but this site and working search features have a ...  History!

Anyone know where I should look?

 Signature 

MOO!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2006-04-13
Sockratease - 14 May 2013 05:01 PM

Ummmm…

Where exactly did we get those haircaps?

I recently got a new ‘puter when my old one died, and they don’t seem to be easily found.  They may be in my back-ups someplace, but I’m not sure where to look, and those drives are terrabytes big and full.

Guess I’ll try the search feature, but if they’re in an installer - they may not turn up without knowing the name of it.  Nothing turned up in a “filter” of my products in my account here. but this site and working search features have a ...  History!

Anyone know where I should look?

I have a separate entry in my Product Library for the haircaps. The file is 8443_1_ca_CarraraHairCaps_1.exe

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 05:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  658
Joined  2006-09-30
Eximorph - 14 May 2013 05:39 PM
Sockratease - 14 May 2013 05:01 PM

Ummmm…

Where exactly did we get those haircaps?

I recently got a new ‘puter when my old one died, and they don’t seem to be easily found.  They may be in my back-ups someplace, but I’m not sure where to look, and those drives are terrabytes big and full.

Guess I’ll try the search feature, but if they’re in an installer - they may not turn up without knowing the name of it.  Nothing turned up in a “filter” of my products in my account here. but this site and working search features have a ...  History!

Anyone know where I should look?

I have a separate entry in my Product Library for the haircaps. The file is 8443_1_ca_CarraraHairCaps_1.exe

Not only does this site and working search features have a ...  History, they have a Present!

I searched for HairCap, Hair Cap, and even Hair…  but nothing turned up.

Forgot to just search Carrara.  Surprisingly, even 8443_1_ca_CarraraHairCaps_1.exe turned up a blank.

I had forgotten they were Carrara Specific, or I would have done what worked earlier - just search for Carrara!  It was in the list of results for that one.

Mooch-Ass Grassy-Ass!

That was a big help.

Now let’s see which cows those haircaps fit best…

 Signature 

MOO!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 09:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2006-04-13
holly wetcircuit - 13 May 2013 11:52 PM

I’m using the haircaps because everyone has them, and they are figure agnostic… and should be future-proof so long as someone is willing to create a “fit pose”.

It’s not too difficult to fit the haircap to Genesis with the DS Transfer tool. Remember to transfer to the V4 clone shape.
It works well on the human shapes I tried, but has some poke through on the more extreme head shapes like Gorilla.
Here’s a screenshot with V5.

 

Image Attachments
DAZHairCap.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 01:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5462
Joined  2006-08-27

Couldn’t you just edit the mesh in the assembly room to get it to fit the more extreme shapes?


@Holly, nice hair! I’ll have to DL those when I get the chance. How’s the tentacle working for you?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 May 2013 07:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2042
Joined  2008-01-28

thanks Holly!
I will have some time next week to grab and use.
It’s very kind of you to share

cheers!

 Signature 

http://andrewfinnie.blogspot.com.au/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 12:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2006-04-13
evilproducer - 15 May 2013 01:53 PM

Couldn’t you just edit the mesh in the assembly room to get it to fit the more extreme shapes?

I’ve never been able to get that to work with Triax figures. I didn’t worry about poke-through because I figured the HairCap would be invisible most of the time. I can edit the original version, but then I don’t have auto-generated morphs.
Unfortunately, it looks like the polygon order changed somewhere in DS and the dynamic hair doesn’t work with the converted HairCap.


Holly,
Thanks for the hair.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 06:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5462
Joined  2006-08-27
Eximorph - 17 May 2013 12:42 PM
evilproducer - 15 May 2013 01:53 PM

Couldn’t you just edit the mesh in the assembly room to get it to fit the more extreme shapes?

I’ve never been able to get that to work with Triax figures. I didn’t worry about poke-through because I figured the HairCap would be invisible most of the time. I can edit the original version, but then I don’t have auto-generated morphs.
Unfortunately, it looks like the polygon order changed somewhere in DS and the dynamic hair doesn’t work with the converted HairCap.


Holly,
Thanks for the hair.


You can’t have the figure in a standard T-pose, position the cap, then switch to edit the haircap model in the Assembly room and adjust it’s shape to fit the head of the model, then get out of edit mode and drag the hair-cap into the figure’s hierarchy and drop it under head, or whatever it’s called? It wouldn’t be conformed to the genesis figure, but parented to it like a simple prop.


I don’t have the beta and don’t use genesis so my question isn’t meant to be facetious or anything. It seems really strange that would somehow be broken or disabled with genesis.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 May 2013 09:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  35
Joined  2006-04-13
evilproducer - 17 May 2013 06:33 PM
Eximorph - 17 May 2013 12:42 PM
evilproducer - 15 May 2013 01:53 PM

Couldn’t you just edit the mesh in the assembly room to get it to fit the more extreme shapes?

I’ve never been able to get that to work with Triax figures. I didn’t worry about poke-through because I figured the HairCap would be invisible most of the time. I can edit the original version, but then I don’t have auto-generated morphs.
Unfortunately, it looks like the polygon order changed somewhere in DS and the dynamic hair doesn’t work with the converted HairCap.


Holly,
Thanks for the hair.


You can’t have the figure in a standard T-pose, position the cap, then switch to edit the haircap model in the Assembly room and adjust it’s shape to fit the head of the model, then get out of edit mode and drag the hair-cap into the figure’s hierarchy and drop it under head, or whatever it’s called? It wouldn’t be conformed to the genesis figure, but parented to it like a simple prop.


I don’t have the beta and don’t use genesis so my question isn’t meant to be facetious or anything. It seems really strange that would somehow be broken or disabled with genesis.

I can still edit a normal model in the Assembly room like previous versions. I just checked with the .obj I exported previously. The problem is with Triax rigged figures, like clothing or even Genesis itself. I think DAZ disabled that functionality. What I did was convert the haircap to a conforming figure. I think that’s the only way to get all those nice auto-generated morphs. Of course, DS changed the vertex order which breaks the dynamic hair, and defeats the whole purpose of the haircap.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 May 2013 04:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5462
Joined  2006-08-27

Bummer. I’d love to move up to C8 or C8.5.  Genesis, not so much.

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile