Digital Art Zone

 
     
Nothing works anymore. Don’t even know where to start
Posted: 11 May 2013 01:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2011-11-07

I’ve been busy the last few months, and probably haven’t used my DAZ Studio 4.5 for about three months. I opened the program today and—shock, horror—nothing works anymore. My models are corrupted, files won’t load, shaders don’t work, and the program crashed when I tried to save something.

But… I’ve changed nothing on my computer (PC Windows 7). I haven’t installed new software.

I don’t even know where to start fixing this. I’ve got a fair bit of purchased content. I’m pulling my hair out.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 02:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-08-20

I would try to reinstall DAZ Studio, saved models (and even the contents) are not affected by a reinstall

 Signature 

My DAZ 3D Gallery http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/#users/1403/

you can also take a look at my Facebook Gallery
https://www.facebook.com/people/Roland-Schiller/100008020545162

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 04:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7090
Joined  2005-08-15

My models are corrupted, files won’t load, shaders don’t work, and the program crashed when I tried to save something.

We would need a lot more information to help you.

When you say the models are corrupted, what models, and how are they corrupted?  Can you load a base Genesis?  What version of DS4.5 are you using, and is it 32 bit or 64 bit, Help > About DAZ Studio will give you the version number.  The current stable release is DS4.5.1.56, but there is a beta version available as well.

What shaders don;t work, what are they, and what are you trying to apply them to.  Shaders are only visible when rendered, and to apply them, you must select the object in the Scene pane AND select the surface in the Surfaces pane as well.

When there is a crash, DS usually writes out to the log file, which you can find in Help > Troubleshooting > View Log File.  If you go back to the end of the previous session, there may be some information on what happened.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 04:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2011-11-07

I’m using 4.5.1.6 Pro 64 bit.

The program starts normally, and loads a Genesis figure, but so far, none of the hair models work properly. The files are distorted. The lines zig-zag randomly. I can’t change the colours. I can’t apply the ubershader to any surface.

I used to be able to do all of this, and I’ve made no changes to my computer that I’m aware of. I will try re-installing.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 04:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7090
Joined  2005-08-15

Try a reinstall and see if that helps, if not, you would need to check a few other things for me, but see how the reinstall goes first though.

It may be a good idea to download and install the latest version from your Product Library, DS 4.5.1.56, it wont remove any content, but it will uninstall your previous version for you

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 10:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3807
Joined  2012-02-06
mikandra - 11 May 2013 04:18 AM

I’m using 4.5.1.6 Pro 64 bit.

The program starts normally, and loads a Genesis figure, but so far, none of the hair models work properly. The files are distorted. The lines zig-zag randomly. I can’t change the colours. I can’t apply the ubershader to any surface.

I used to be able to do all of this, and I’ve made no changes to my computer that I’m aware of. I will try re-installing.

The problem with the hair might be caused by the hair trying to follow the character’s eyelashes. Try selecting the hair, going to the Parameters tab, showing hidden properties*, and zeroing out any eyelash-related morphs appearing in the list. Less often, it’s due to a non-eyelash-related morph…may take some trial and error to find the right one.

*To show hidden properties, on the Parameters pane, click the Active Pane Options menu icon (the little icon with four horizontal lines and a triangle) and select “Show Hidden Properties.”

Hopefully a reinstall will solve your other problems…let us know how it turns out.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8344
Joined  2009-05-14

are you sure Windows hasn’t installed any updates in the last 3 weeks? As if it was working on day and not the next then I highly doubt the issue is with Daz Studio. Things like this don’t happen on their own.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile