Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
any interest still in new content for DS3?
Posted: 09 May 2013 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12038
Joined  2005-10-07

trying to decide whether to retire my ds3 or keep it installed for test rendering.  what to do ?

 Signature 

Ð tongue laugh ° ° ° ° ° ö Ø

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 11:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2798
Joined  2006-07-31

I keep DS3 installed because I think Poser-based content behaves differently (rigging, smoothing) in DS4, but I don’t use it anymore except for testing.

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 11:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  12038
Joined  2005-10-07

DS4.0 had the smoothing in the material zone, in poser7 it’s on the obj or body part.  learned that making the engagement ring. smile

 Signature 

Ð tongue laugh ° ° ° ° ° ö Ø

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 12:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2798
Joined  2006-07-31
Misty Whisky - 09 May 2013 11:41 AM

DS4.0 had the smoothing in the material zone, in poser7 it’s on the obj or body part.  learned that making the engagement ring. smile

No, I’m talking about smooth/subdivision modifier applied to geometry itself, not a surface angle smoothing (which is in Surface tabs)

 Signature 

Original Genesis shape and Genesis morphs transfer to G2F/G2M, G2F/G2M clones for Genesis
a way to transfer morphs to Genesis without Gen-X

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3034
Joined  2004-04-14

I didn’t reinstall Ds3 when I reformatted a while back.  I see no point since it has fewer features and renders slower then DS4.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 02:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  449
Joined  2006-12-31

I still use it, I have a lot of things that never got a conversion for DS4.5: some dynamic clothings, some tools etc.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 03:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2737
Joined  2003-12-06

Setting aside the Genesis stuff, quite a lot of the new goodies in the store still work perfectly well in D|S3 — particularly if it’s specified as having a “legacy” installation. The only things that will definitely not work are anything with D|S files only in .duf format, which is D|S4.5 only. And even then, it’s frequently possible to load something in 4.5, save the materials as a dsa script, load the Poser figure or prop in D|S3 and apply the dsa material.

(FWIW, I have to stay with D|S3 for the moment at least, since I use heavily customised figures that aren’t well behaved in D|S4.5.)

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 03:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16403
Joined  2009-01-22

I’ll keep my DS3A installed for the Pluggins I have in it. I use it for setting up layers for images that will later have Genesis characters in the finished render.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 03:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  501
Joined  2011-04-14

Sure.  I only have Daz3 right now, not all of us has tip-top, state of the art computers loaded with gigs and gigs of memory at our leisure.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2955
Joined  2010-11-30
Mattymanx - 09 May 2013 12:37 PM

I didn’t reinstall Ds3 when I reformatted a while back.  I see no point since it has fewer features and renders slower then DS4.

It loads and runs faster than DS 4, though. Set up the scene in 3, do the finishing touches and rendering in 4…

 Signature 

Rob Kelk (a.k.a. “the guy with all those freebie lists”)

Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki - rather small at the moment, but with big dreams to be the one-stop list for all D|S and Poser freebies

Come take part in the December Freebie Challenge! (And see who won November’s Challenge, too!)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 04:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3034
Joined  2004-04-14
robkelk - 09 May 2013 04:05 PM
Mattymanx - 09 May 2013 12:37 PM

I didn’t reinstall Ds3 when I reformatted a while back.  I see no point since it has fewer features and renders slower then DS4.

It loads and runs faster than DS 4, though. Set up the scene in 3, do the finishing touches and rendering in 4…


Not for me it doesn’t.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 04:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2955
Joined  2010-11-30
Mattymanx - 09 May 2013 04:19 PM
robkelk - 09 May 2013 04:05 PM
Mattymanx - 09 May 2013 12:37 PM

I didn’t reinstall Ds3 when I reformatted a while back.  I see no point since it has fewer features and renders slower then DS4.

It loads and runs faster than DS 4, though. Set up the scene in 3, do the finishing touches and rendering in 4…


Not for me it doesn’t.

I suspect you’re using a 64-bit OS, perhaps?

 Signature 

Rob Kelk (a.k.a. “the guy with all those freebie lists”)

Poser and Daz Studio Free Resources Wiki - rather small at the moment, but with big dreams to be the one-stop list for all D|S and Poser freebies

Come take part in the December Freebie Challenge! (And see who won November’s Challenge, too!)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 10:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2004-10-18
Jaderail - 09 May 2013 03:24 PM

I’ll keep my DS3A installed for the Pluggins I have in it. I use it for setting up layers for images that will later have Genesis characters in the finished render.

The vast majority of people I know do 3D as hobbyists or part-time professionals.  We aren’t game developers or full-time commercial artists, so we don’t generally have unlimited funds for this addiction.  Me personally, I’m a longtime hobbyist who has spent many hundreds of dollars to build my extensive content library.  I use DS3A(on a custom built computer) for the same reason as Jaderail, I have custom settings and Pluggins that I don’t want to lose.  For many reasons including the economy, I no longer have time or funds to invest in a new version of a software program, especially when significant issues remain unresolved. 

I appreciate your question and I hope you don’t mind a frank answer.  Way off topic, I’m a wee bit miffed that when the new forums were opened, my post history was erased.  I had close to 1000 posts.  I am far from a “new” user.  I’ve been here long enough to see history repeat itself and I’m not even a Time Lord.  grin

Cheers,

Cat

PS My answer is “yes”.  I would be interested in new content for DS3.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 10:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1519
Joined  2010-06-29

I have ds3 installed all my content is based on ds3

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  492
Joined  2008-06-25
robkelk - 09 May 2013 04:05 PM

It loads and runs faster than DS 4, though.

Same here. 32-bit dual core. Also uses less memory. When I started using “shader lights” from the scripting kit ( here’s a topic about their kin in DS4: http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/12191/ ), I also found I can make it render almost as fast - and when I’m using UberSurface2 with SSS and UberEnvironment2 with AO or IDL (i.e. 90% of the time), DS3A renders faster for me. Either US2 hasn’t been truly natively recompiled for DS4.5’s 3Delight, or the update didn’t find its way to my account, but the automatic recompiling does eat away quite a part of performance on my system.

Besides, I still haven’t been able to consistently setup DS4.5’s interface to use colours that I find readable (black letters on pale greyscale backgrounds) // I have no idea why all those complicated colours were ever introduced without an option to switch to bare Windows skin - I can’t be the only one who much prefers the unified look for all the software Windows has always been famous for //. And then there’s that issue of not being able to position my own category tree (the one I could navigate without even looking at) above all those “folders”, “products” etc.

And yeah, there’s the issue with vintage Poser content behaving differently in DS4.5 - and I still primarily use oldschool items.

Having said that, I love Genesis and the whole weightmapping technology, let alone RiCurves, point-based AO and other neat new features. It’s just that I don’t see my DS3 going away anytime, soon or not. Thankfully they can peacefully coexist on the same machine.

 

 Signature 

do your research before blaming 3Delight for shortcomings of your renders

dA gallery link in profile along with anything else you may need to know about me

my thread with freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 May 2013 01:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  237
Joined  2010-11-26

I like DS4.5 ... having said that, I must admit that I still prefer setting up scenes in DS3, the handling suits me better, less possibility to totally drag a figure out of pose and better ‘if I click that you highlight it, dear DS’ results. That’s one reason why I still use Gen4 so much, I guess. ^^

When it comes to rendering though or effects, lights, etc., DS4.5 gives way more opportunity and is faster. I would never have rendered my scenes in DS3 with the same high quality settings than I use in DS4. They’d either have crashed DS or taken way to much time.

So… I like both of them for their nice sides and dislike them for their pita sides. Funny… if DS would purr when I move the mouse it would be just like my cats O.o

And to answer the question… Yes, I am still interested in content that works in DS3 smile

 Signature 

A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.  ~Herm Albright

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1