Digital Art Zone

 
     
Fire and Smoke by smay won’t render…
Posted: 08 May 2013 06:50 AM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

I have a predicament that I can’t work out.
I’m using smay’s Fire and Smoke and if I do a spot render of a flame I just loaded, it comes out fine, but, when I turn the flame so that it comes out from a point to the back towards a point to the fore, i.e., Translate X -160, Y 77, and Z -5, It disappears all together.

Has anyone had a similar problem and can anyone offer a solution?

EDIT:
Also, the scale is X 15%, Y 36%, and Z 15%.
If the camera intersects the flame, it’s fine, but when it is head-on, nothing.

 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 07:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

Is the flame made of intersecting planes? I thought that set used volumes, but it’s quite common for flames to be a set of planes crossing in the middle and of course if you look down the flame you are then seeing the planes edge on.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 07:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

It appears voluminous but I am not really sure how to tell. I don’t have any other flames to compare it with. In the scene, it shows 3 dimensionality regardless of the angle of view, but in the render it disappears.

 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 07:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14

Go in to WireFrame mode and see how the mesh is made, that will tell you what it is made up of.

I did think that all these props were made from one envolping mesh and not planes.

As to your problem sorry can’t help I don’t have them yet.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 07:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

I viewed it in WireFrame and it appears as a geometric object, not intersecting planes. So yes, it is volumetric.

 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

What are your render settings?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

My Render Settings are below.

Image Attachments
Render_Settings.png
 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14

Render settings look good.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 08:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2875
Joined  2004-04-14

I have the set and have not had a problem using it. 

Can you please screen shot from your camera angle that its not rendering from?

Also, what version of DS are you using?

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 10:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

Studio Version 4.5.2.40

Here are screens of how it looks in scene and how it looks in render.

In each picture, the top half is in the scene editor and the bottom half is spot-rendered (full renders are identical in the rendered areas).

As you can see in ‘a’, the flames render fairly well, but in the other three positions, you can see that the closer you get to a head-on shot, the less it produces.

I have also included a Wireframe shot so you can see the makeup of the flame.

Image Attachments
a.pngb.pngc.pngd.pngWire.png
 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 05:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

Clutching at straws, but try turning up ray trace depth.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 12:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

I ran it at 5, 10, and 16. No difference.

 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 01:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2875
Joined  2004-04-14

Inner and Outer Colour on the surface tab controls the transparency of the shader.  When you are viewing the props from such an angle that they start to disappear like that then you need to adjust the inner or outer colours to compensate.  Also, lighting will effect how these look.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

That did it!
Thanks Mattymanx!
That was just the tweak it needed. I bumped the Outer Colors by just a bit and got just the effect I was looking for.

I never realized what those were for. Thanks again for the tip!

EDIT:

This is what I was aiming for…

Image Attachments
4.png
 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 May 2013 06:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-03-31

Mattymanx, while you’re here, could you tell me how to make your skin shader “Vladimir” a little less plastic and a tad more realistic.
That is the skin I chose for my attempt at the Bald Wizard’s Club, but it’s just a bit “toony” for my taste. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

 Signature 

Forget world peace…
    visualize using your turn signal!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 May 2013 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2875
Joined  2004-04-14

Glad the issue is solved.

For the Vladmir skin, if you are refering to my pwSurface2 skin preset I would suggest adjusting the spec and gloss levels along with spec sharpness.  May want to add some bump or displacement to help add a touch of realism too.

If you want to move the discussion to a different thead so things are not too mixed up, feel free to post addition questions and comments in the freebie thread for the pwS2 presets - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/10847/

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile