Digital Art Zone

 
     
Different shading for objects
Posted: 06 May 2013 12:16 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  671
Joined  2008-02-22

How would I make the locked object I am modeling around, be a different shader than the object I am modelling? (i.e. smooth solid object under, wireframe for the one I am tweaking, so I can see the object under it)

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 May 2013 03:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5177
Joined  2012-04-07
3doutlaw - 06 May 2013 12:16 PM

How would I make the locked object I am modeling around, be a different shader than the object I am modelling? (i.e. smooth solid object under, wireframe for the one I am tweaking, so I can see the object under it)

You’ll have to unlock it and change its colour(s), then lock it again.

 Signature 

  For those out of the news loop, 2 Suns.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 May 2013 04:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  231
Joined  2006-11-17
3doutlaw - 06 May 2013 12:16 PM

(i.e. smooth solid object under, wireframe for the one I am tweaking, so I can see the object under it)

On the bottom menu, enable “Activates the transparent display of sub-objects”. When then in sub_object selection(poly/edge vertex selection mode), the selected object will become transparent.

You can change the amount the object will become transparent in “Edit-> Preference editor->” “3d display-> Selection”

 

 

 

Image Attachments
06-05-2013_23-16-19.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 May 2013 06:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  671
Joined  2008-02-22

Very good, I will try that, thank you!

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile