Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 9
4
Problems with older products (installer doesn`t work)
Posted: 28 May 2012 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15665
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, it seems to be affecting the Mac archives too - and the newer Windows installers, but they seem to survive it OK.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17

OK, then.  I’ll check my Mac installers.  I’ll need a few hours.  I hope to have something ready this evening.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2003-10-09
Kendall Sears - 26 May 2012 05:36 PM

I have written a small utility to make these installers work again by stripping off the bad appendage.  Is any interested in it?

Kendall

What do you put in the second slot? The output? I find the exe that wont work and put in the first slot and I tried to just rename the file in the second slot with an exe for file extension..it creates an exe file but it still wont run. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17
digitell - 28 May 2012 12:21 PM
Kendall Sears - 26 May 2012 05:36 PM

I have written a small utility to make these installers work again by stripping off the bad appendage.  Is any interested in it?

Kendall

What do you put in the second slot? The output? I find the exe that wont work and put in the first slot and I tried to just rename the file in the second slot with an exe for file extension..it creates an exe file but it still wont run. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks!

Hmmm.  That should do it.  The “broken” installer goes in the input, and a different file name (end it with .exe) goes in the output.  You’ll need to execute the “new” filename, not the original.  This does not affect the input file.


What is your OS?  You’re the first to report problems.  I’d like to make sure that this is going to work for everyone.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17

OK, folks.  The error being appended to the files is now different.  Therefore the length is different.  I’m going to have to change the program to accomodate the new “change.”


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2003-10-09
Kendall Sears - 28 May 2012 12:28 PM
digitell - 28 May 2012 12:21 PM
Kendall Sears - 26 May 2012 05:36 PM

I have written a small utility to make these installers work again by stripping off the bad appendage.  Is any interested in it?

Kendall

What do you put in the second slot? The output? I find the exe that wont work and put in the first slot and I tried to just rename the file in the second slot with an exe for file extension..it creates an exe file but it still wont run. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks!

Hmmm.  That should do it.  The “broken” installer goes in the input, and a different file name (end it with .exe) goes in the output.  You’ll need to execute the “new” filename, not the original.  This does not affect the input file.


What is your OS?  You’re the first to report problems.  I’d like to make sure that this is going to work for everyone.


Kendall

Yep I did it like you said..broken installer into the Input, then I create a different file name ending it with .exe then I try to execute the new file and still nothing happened.
I am running Windows 7 Home Edition on a 64 bit system
Thanks smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2003-10-09
digitell - 28 May 2012 12:49 PM
Kendall Sears - 28 May 2012 12:28 PM
digitell - 28 May 2012 12:21 PM
Kendall Sears - 26 May 2012 05:36 PM

I have written a small utility to make these installers work again by stripping off the bad appendage.  Is any interested in it?

Kendall

What do you put in the second slot? The output? I find the exe that wont work and put in the first slot and I tried to just rename the file in the second slot with an exe for file extension..it creates an exe file but it still wont run. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks!

Hmmm.  That should do it.  The “broken” installer goes in the input, and a different file name (end it with .exe) goes in the output.  You’ll need to execute the “new” filename, not the original.  This does not affect the input file.


What is your OS?  You’re the first to report problems.  I’d like to make sure that this is going to work for everyone.


Kendall

Yep I did it like you said..broken installer into the Input, then I create a different file name ending it with .exe into the Output..then I try to execute the new file and still nothing happened.
I am running Windows 7 Home Edition on a 64 bit system
Thanks smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2003-10-09

Eeeeppps!! Sorry about the double post..just tried to edit and it got posted 2 times. Sorry..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2008-12-15
Kendall Sears - 27 May 2012 06:26 PM

My utility is available at:


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/fix_daz.zip.html


It is zipped to survive bad downloaders.  This is on a low bandwidth server so don’t get impatient.  It is only about 250K.


If the number of people downloading it gets to be too large I’ll move it to my high bandwidth servers.


EDIT:  I coded it to only do a single file at a time.  Hopefully DAZ will have a fix before this becomes a problem.


Kendall


Im sorry, this utility isnt clean, try to clean it pls I would like to test it..Thank you.G

COMODO Internet Security Pro 2012 - Log Viewer Logs
   
Table

:

Antivirus Events
   
Date Created

:

2012-05-28 20:05:03
   
Records count

:

2
Date Location Malware Name Action Status
2012-05-28 19:51:47   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Detect   Success
2012-05-28 19:51:48   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Quarantine   Success
End of The Report

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17
forgottenangel666 - 28 May 2012 01:07 PM
Kendall Sears - 27 May 2012 06:26 PM

My utility is available at:


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/fix_daz.zip.html


It is zipped to survive bad downloaders.  This is on a low bandwidth server so don’t get impatient.  It is only about 250K.


If the number of people downloading it gets to be too large I’ll move it to my high bandwidth servers.


EDIT:  I coded it to only do a single file at a time.  Hopefully DAZ will have a fix before this becomes a problem.


Kendall


Im sorry, this utility isnt clean, try to clean it pls I would like to test it..Thank you.G

COMODO Internet Security Pro 2012 - Log Viewer Logs
   
Table

:

Antivirus Events
   
Date Created

:

2012-05-28 20:05:03
   
Records count

:

2
Date Location Malware Name Action Status
2012-05-28 19:51:47   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Detect   Success
2012-05-28 19:51:48   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Quarantine   Success
End of The Report

The exe is absolutely clean.  It was created and compiled under Linux for Windows.  You have a false positive.  The exe size is 436224 bytes.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2008-12-15
Kendall Sears - 28 May 2012 01:14 PM
forgottenangel666 - 28 May 2012 01:07 PM
Kendall Sears - 27 May 2012 06:26 PM

My utility is available at:


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/fix_daz.zip.html


It is zipped to survive bad downloaders.  This is on a low bandwidth server so don’t get impatient.  It is only about 250K.


If the number of people downloading it gets to be too large I’ll move it to my high bandwidth servers.


EDIT:  I coded it to only do a single file at a time.  Hopefully DAZ will have a fix before this becomes a problem.


Kendall


Im sorry, this utility isnt clean, try to clean it pls I would like to test it..Thank you.G

COMODO Internet Security Pro 2012 - Log Viewer Logs
   
Table

:

Antivirus Events
   
Date Created

:

2012-05-28 20:05:03
   
Records count

:

2
Date Location Malware Name Action Status
2012-05-28 19:51:47   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Detect   Success
2012-05-28 19:51:48   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Quarantine   Success
End of The Report

The exe is absolutely clean.  It was created and compiled under Linux for Windows.  You have a false positive.  The exe size is 436224 bytes.

Kendall

Thank you, I had idea its false positive so I submitted file like this. Problem is I cant open it even in sandbox. File is deleted with AV. Ill wait for DB update and DL it again. Thank you.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17

Hi, Just to ease everyone’s minds.  I dowloaded the current exe from my site and ran it against Nortons, AVG, Avast, and McAfee.  No viruses found.

Kendall

forgottenangel666 - 28 May 2012 01:29 PM
Kendall Sears - 28 May 2012 01:14 PM
forgottenangel666 - 28 May 2012 01:07 PM
Kendall Sears - 27 May 2012 06:26 PM

My utility is available at:


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/fix_daz.zip.html


It is zipped to survive bad downloaders.  This is on a low bandwidth server so don’t get impatient.  It is only about 250K.


If the number of people downloading it gets to be too large I’ll move it to my high bandwidth servers.


EDIT:  I coded it to only do a single file at a time.  Hopefully DAZ will have a fix before this becomes a problem.


Kendall


Im sorry, this utility isnt clean, try to clean it pls I would like to test it..Thank you.G

COMODO Internet Security Pro 2012 - Log Viewer Logs
   
Table

:

Antivirus Events
   
Date Created

:

2012-05-28 20:05:03
   
Records count

:

2
Date Location Malware Name Action Status
2012-05-28 19:51:47   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Detect   Success
2012-05-28 19:51:48   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Quarantine   Success
End of The Report

The exe is absolutely clean.  It was created and compiled under Linux for Windows.  You have a false positive.  The exe size is 436224 bytes.

Kendall

Thank you, I had idea its false positive so I submitted file like this. Problem is I cant open it even in sandbox. File is deleted with AV. Ill wait for DB update and DL it again. Thank you.

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2008-12-15
Kendall Sears - 28 May 2012 01:33 PM

Hi, Just to ease everyone’s minds.  I dowloaded the current exe from my site and ran it against Nortons, AVG, Avast, and McAfee.  No viruses found.

Kendall

forgottenangel666 - 28 May 2012 01:29 PM
Kendall Sears - 28 May 2012 01:14 PM
forgottenangel666 - 28 May 2012 01:07 PM
Kendall Sears - 27 May 2012 06:26 PM

My utility is available at:


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/fix_daz.zip.html


It is zipped to survive bad downloaders.  This is on a low bandwidth server so don’t get impatient.  It is only about 250K.


If the number of people downloading it gets to be too large I’ll move it to my high bandwidth servers.


EDIT:  I coded it to only do a single file at a time.  Hopefully DAZ will have a fix before this becomes a problem.


Kendall


Im sorry, this utility isnt clean, try to clean it pls I would like to test it..Thank you.G

COMODO Internet Security Pro 2012 - Log Viewer Logs
   
Table

:

Antivirus Events
   
Date Created

:

2012-05-28 20:05:03
   
Records count

:

2
Date Location Malware Name Action Status
2012-05-28 19:51:47   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Detect   Success
2012-05-28 19:51:48   C:\Users\Gabriel\Desktop\fix_daz\fix_daz.exe   TrojWare.Win32.Banker.asj@121133570   Quarantine   Success
End of The Report

The exe is absolutely clean.  It was created and compiled under Linux for Windows.  You have a false positive.  The exe size is 436224 bytes.

Kendall

Thank you, I had idea its false positive so I submitted file like this. Problem is I cant open it even in sandbox. File is deleted with AV. Ill wait for DB update and DL it again. Thank you.


Ive controlled it with other AV’s and detection systems and OK. Only Comodo pro - false positive. File was submitted like false positive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1874
Joined  2006-02-17

New version for Windows is available.


http://ovbi.org/gallery/v/krsears/utilities/fix_daz.zip.html


This should handle things unless DAZ’s errors really become strange.  This will work even on zip files downloaded for Windows.


Don’t despair Mac folks,  your version is on the way.


Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 May 2012 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2003-10-09

This still isnt working for me :(..
Now I get a pop up that says:
‘No error found in a reasonable space.
Assuming no problems.’

after hitting the OK button on that message,
It does create the new exe file. When I try to execute that file I get this pop up:

“This program might not have installed correctly.”
“Reinstall using recommended setting”

“This program installed correctly”

I tried choosing both choices at different times but nothing happens.

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 9
4