Digital Art Zone

 
     
do I have to use the DAZ Install Manager?
Posted: 05 May 2013 06:27 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  135
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t want to use DAZ Install Manager.  I don’t have DAZ Studio or DAZ Install Manager installed on my computer, and do not want to install either of them.

But I can’t figure out how to download my purchases now.  Is there a way?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3488
Joined  2012-02-06

You can download them from My Account>Product Library. DAZ Install Manager is not mandatory. It’s explained in more detail in these threads:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20730/
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/21087/

Note that you don’t need to be a DAZ Studio user to use DAZ Install Manager, though.

 Signature 

Community Volunteer
Monthly New User Contests!

My tutorials and FAQs | My Gallery | My Render Thread
Visit my world… Tornalia.com | http://scottlivingston.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4699
Joined  2004-07-01
randym77 - 05 May 2013 06:27 AM

I don’t want to use DAZ Install Manager.  I don’t have DAZ Studio or DAZ Install Manager installed on my computer, and do not want to install either of them.

But I can’t figure out how to download my purchases now.  Is there a way?

goto my account - they are all there - you can download just like before .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 06:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  135
Joined  2003-10-09
Scott-Livingston - 05 May 2013 06:43 AM

You can download them from My Account>Product Library. DAZ Install Manager is not mandatory. It’s explained in more detail in these threads:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20730/
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/21087/

Thank you!  Looks like I wasn’t the only one confused.  The link from the e-mail receipt you get now leads you to a page telling you to install DAZ Install Manager, not to My Account like it used to.  And the links aren’t under “downloadable products” like they used to be.  I did look in My Account, but I was looking for the magic word “download,” and didn’t think to look in Product Library. 

Another question…there are .exe and .zip files for each of my recent purchases.  I am a PC user.  Can I use the .zip files, or are those for Mac users only?

(Hate the DAZ installers with the intensity of a thousand burning suns.  Much prefer zip files, like other Poser stores use.)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 07:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13934
Joined  2003-10-09

The .zip files will be Mac installers, I think - the plain-zips-with-data are labelled DIM, though you don’t of course have to use them with that.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  341
Joined  2003-11-24
randym77 - 05 May 2013 06:56 AM
Scott-Livingston - 05 May 2013 06:43 AM

You can download them from My Account>Product Library. DAZ Install Manager is not mandatory. It’s explained in more detail in these threads:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20730/
http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/21087/

Thank you!  Looks like I wasn’t the only one confused.  The link from the e-mail receipt you get now leads you to a page telling you to install DAZ Install Manager, not to My Account like it used to.  And the links aren’t under “downloadable products” like they used to be.  I did look in My Account, but I was looking for the magic word “download,” and didn’t think to look in Product Library. 

Another question…there are .exe and .zip files for each of my recent purchases.  I am a PC user.  Can I use the .zip files, or are those for Mac users only?

(Hate the DAZ installers with the intensity of a thousand burning suns.  Much prefer zip files, like other Poser stores use.)

The .zip files are of the installers for Mac users.. But if you download the files that have the DlM image next to them, they are just the files in hierarchy, and you can put them where you want..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 07:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15594
Joined  2003-10-09

At the moment the exe files are ofr PC and the zip files are for the Mac.  However you should also have files labelled with a DIM logo beside them in green.  THese files are zips, and can be downloaded and used mahually as well, just like a normal zip.

Eventually the exe files will be phased out altogether.  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewannounce/20834_4/

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 May 2013 07:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  135
Joined  2003-10-09
chohole - 05 May 2013 07:02 AM

However you should also have files labelled with a DIM logo beside them in green.  THese files are zips, and can be downloaded and used mahually as well, just like a normal zip.

Never would have guessed that in a million years.  I figured those were for DAZ Install Manager users.

Thanks, looks like that will work very well.  Just have to open the Content folder to get to the Runtime folder. 

And thank you, DAZ, for getting rid of the those nightmarish installers.  I won’t miss them at all.

 

Profile