Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
no smart content tab
Posted: 03 May 2013 09:32 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-04-30

Hello world
I’m totally new to Daz studio, and I downloaded pro 4.5 smile
I’m eager to dive into it,
but when I opened up my program, no smart content tab showed up.
It only shows “shaping” and “surfaces (color)” tab on the left side.
Also, no blank character shows up on my screen.

Do I need to download something else to get the character to appear or?...
Like I said, I’m really eager to experiment and play around with this program, but I’m a totally newbie to this (and 3-D art)
so I need this explained to me like you’re explaining to a young child ^^;

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 09:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

If all you installed was the Daz Studio program you still need to download and install the Genesis Starter Essentials file. That gives you the Content.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 12:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2802
Joined  2009-02-24

If you click on Window -> Panes (tabs) in the main menu you will see Smart Content available in the list. Click on it and a small window will appear which can then be docked into the sidebar by clicking and dragging it into position.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 09:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

you can manually download default content zip (genesis Starter Essential) from your web account page,,
and install to your daz contents directory. but Have you installed DIM to your PC too?

http://www.daz3d.com/install-manager-info
http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/install_manager/start

it is beta tool,, but it make you simple to download contents from daz .
though you have not so many items at current,,^^

if you install and set up DIM, I think genesis Starter Essential , Modelator mentioned above, show as Ready to Download in DIM

in this puckage,, there are genesis (base default figure of ds 4.5) ,basic morphs,  some clothings,, hairs,,accessories for genesis,
light sets , and shader etc.

after install genesis starter essential,, if you have some trouble,, you need to check CMS setting
(Content Managements Service is data base aprication, which manage and organize daz contents in ds,
so if it can not work well,, you feel difficulity to use daz contents)

actually you can do manythings with these.

I recommend you play around only with these free items and genesis at start points.
with looking you tube videos about daz studio 4, released by daz.
it help you lot to understand about each tabs.

and sometimes check,, where the contents files are installed,, then gradually learn daz unique folda structure.

the more you installed many product or free items, or different generation figure,, at once,
you may feel difficultiy to understand ,, how manage them. I think.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-04-30
Jaderail - 03 May 2013 09:40 PM

If all you installed was the Daz Studio program you still need to download and install the Genesis Starter Essentials file. That gives you the Content.

http://i44.tinypic.com/8z4e1v.jpg
Do I need to download all of them or are there only specific ones I have to download with it?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 01:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06

For use in DS you don’t need the PoserCF files.

The version labeled DIM is a zip file with no installer.  You can download and/or install it with DIM or you can install it manually.

the file ending trx.exe is an installer for Windows; the one ending trx.zip is an installer for MAC.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-04-30

ok so I downloaded the genisis starter and i now get the figure on the screen, yaaaaay smile
But I still have no “smart content tab”
is it a matter of just downloading material to get the tab to show up? I found a site that has some free things on it, but I don’t know where to put the saved files :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 04:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15
But I still have no “smart content tab” 

Do what this post says, and you will find it.

HeraldOfFire - 04 May 2013 12:23 AM

If you click on Window -> Panes (tabs) in the main menu you will see Smart Content available in the list. Click on it and a small window will appear which can then be docked into the sidebar by clicking and dragging it into position.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 May 2013 11:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-04-30

Awesome, the smart tab I can now view smile

One last question.
I downloaded a character from a site,
but I’m not sure where to put the file so I can access it on the the editor?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 02:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15

You would need to give us some idea of what files the character contains, and by the editor, do you mean DAZ Studio?

If it is in a ZIP file format, can you list what is inside the ZIP?  Is it Poser content, if so, it is probably in a Runtime folder, and you shoukd drop that into your My Library folder to merge the contents (assuming that you are using a PC).  Characters from other sites, will probably not have Metadata, and so will not appear in the Smart Content pane, but you can still find them in the Content Library under Poser Formats.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 May 2013 10:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2013-04-30

**sorry it took me awhile to get back to you :( **

This is what it looks like inside the folder I downloaded
http://i43.tinypic.com/314t1xs.jpg

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 May 2013 11:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15

You can post images on this site, as JPEGs, by using the Browse button just above where you wriite your post.

Is it the Mary INJ and REM files you are reffering to?  If so, they would go into the Poser Runtime folder under Pose.  It may be that other files are required for this to work.  What figure is it for?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2013-05-14

Guys, something very weird is happening to me while installing these programs…

1) Starting with the DAZ 4.5 Pro (windows):

I’ve downloaded & installed it with the default settings but the smart page content is not showing up. Having said that & based on the moderators text below I figured out that DAZ 4.5 Pro won’t download anything from the internet (such as the genesis pack). Ok, I moved to that download session, downloaded DIM Installer & for my surprise after the packages installation (genesis & poses) the content didn’t showed up.

2) My actions so far:
-re installed DAZ PRO 4.5 around 20 times…
-re-imported metadata in the Content DB Maintenance menu…
-firewall turned off (windows & mcaffe)

What’s your advice? Is there any incompatibility with Windows 8???

see attached the main screen of the program..

Thanks in advance
Tiago

Image Attachments
dazpro4.5_.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15

The DAZ Install Manager (DIM), installs it’s content by default into C:\Users\Public\Documents\My DAZ 3D Library  You will need to make sure that you hve that location listed as a DAZ Studio AND Poser Formats folder in the Content Directory Manager.

You can find it through Preferences (F2), Content Library > Content Directory Manager.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 03:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2013-05-14

Hi Jimmy, thanks for your reply.

I’ve tried something more aggressive, unninstaled everything done by DIM & installed everything back through its own .exe files (at least genesis for now)

and.. it’s working smile


Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6425
Joined  2005-08-15

Good to hear that you are up and running.

The DIM is a great piece of software, and I wouldn’t be without it.  It does install into a different location, but it is a simple matter to tell DS where that location is.  Anything that DIM installs, it will update for you automatically as soon as new versions are avaiable, it will install to wherever you want it to, and you can choose to keep the zip files as well (or not) as you like.

It only works with content at the moment, but it is being worked on, and there are lots of new things coming.  It really is a painless way to install and keep track of content, and there is a lot of info available through DIM, like every single file that it installs is listed, with all of it’s contents, and where it was installed to.  It really is worth looking into, especially if you are just beginning to gather up content.

Just thought I would give you my views, best wishes, and have fun with DAZ Studio wink

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1