Digital Art Zone

 
   
3 of 6
3
Griffin Wings, Griffin Wings Daz Horse2, and Griffin Lord(Out Soon) (Commercial )
Posted: 11 May 2013 08:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 31 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1279
Joined  2005-02-25
Pendraia - 11 May 2013 07:34 PM
SickleYield - 11 May 2013 07:23 PM
Pendraia - 11 May 2013 07:15 PM
SickleYield - 11 May 2013 06:58 PM
I prefer conforming for something like this. Geograft usually only works with the body texture it's made for, and with wings that's a bad idea.


I've been thinking about this issue and was wondering if anyone had created lie presets to help blend the geografts? If it was done in the same colour as the geograft it could ease the transition from the graft texture to the character texture....


The geograft does not share the UV map of the main body, it just blends with it at the edges. So you'd need a separate LIE preset for the body and the graft, and you'd have to blend them in the same way the original was made (probably in a 3d program). That's not impossible, but it's hard enough that the people who could do it are probably just making a body texture to go with their geografted piece.
Fair enough...

With the horse wings I took into account the UVs so the seams were hidden under the feather that way I could use the textures from the horse and use them on the wings. I had tried several months before with geografting but could never get the textures to line up I even tried the Geo Shell but had no success, so conforming was what I went with.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5PFxIf8pMw
 Signature 

The Mind on the other side!
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/midnight_stories/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 09:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 32 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4808
Joined  2011-10-04
ZOMG, so you DID the griffin idea :D
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 11:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 33 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1279
Joined  2005-02-25
Skiriki - 14 May 2013 09:59 PM
ZOMG, so you DID the griffin idea :D

Yes it's been some time since I did a stand alone not too many people are stupid enough to do it LOL!
He sitting in the store don't know when he's out but I guess sometime this month. Plus may have a friend for him to rule over.
Cheers
 Signature 

The Mind on the other side!
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/midnight_stories/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 May 2013 11:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 34 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4808
Joined  2011-10-04
SQUEE! So waiting to get the main star of the show. smile

PS: Hippogriff for DAZ Horse 2. Srsly!
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2013 03:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 35 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1279
Joined  2005-02-25
OK they are finally out and I will say a griffin is in the wind or wings so to speak, may be next month or 2.
Image Attachments
Horse-Wings.jpg
 Signature 

The Mind on the other side!
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/midnight_stories/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2013 02:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 36 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  282
Joined  2006-05-09
Do you know if the Griffin Wings for DAZ Horse 2 will work in Carrara 8.5 (it supports Genesis etc).
 Signature 

Carrara Cafe

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2013 10:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 37 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2003-10-09
I bought the Griffin Wings but only 3 of the Griffin Wings texture sets work properly. The ones that work are the texture sets that come with the basic DAZ Horse 2: Bay, Black and Grulla. The other 8 Griffin Wings material options require the body textures from the Horse 2 Pro bundle, which I do not have, and which there is no mention of as being a requirement on the product page.

I don't want to buy the entire Pro bundle. I already purchased the Starter Bundle and that is part of the Pro bundle. I would like to buy just the textures from the Pro bundle so I can get the other 8 Griffin Wings textures to work, and because I'd just like to have more material options for the Horse 2.

Does anyone know if I can purchase the Hose 2 Pro bundle texture sets separately from the Pro bundle?

Thanks in advance.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2013 10:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 38 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1807
Joined  2012-04-14
No, they only seem to be for sale as part of the pro bundle.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 May 2013 06:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 39 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1279
Joined  2005-02-25
Dkal - 26 May 2013 10:02 AM
I bought the Griffin Wings but only 3 of the Griffin Wings texture sets work properly. The ones that work are the texture sets that come with the basic DAZ Horse 2: Bay, Black and Grulla. The other 8 Griffin Wings material options require the body textures from the Horse 2 Pro bundle, which I do not have, and which there is no mention of as being a requirement on the product page.

I don't want to buy the entire Pro bundle. I already purchased the Starter Bundle and that is part of the Pro bundle. I would like to buy just the textures from the Pro bundle so I can get the other 8 Griffin Wings textures to work, and because I'd just like to have more material options for the Horse 2.

Does anyone know if I can purchase the Hose 2 Pro bundle texture sets separately from the Pro bundle?

Thanks in advance.



I got caught myself as a vendor they usually only give us the base version of the product to work with but some how I ended up with all the textures, so had no idea that. That they were only in the pro bundle sorry about that!
 Signature 

The Mind on the other side!
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/midnight_stories/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2013 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 40 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  184
Joined  2007-03-10
These wings work great!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zj0s2Ixu9rA&feature=youtu.be
Image Attachments
WingedHorse_Octane.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 June 2013 06:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 41 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1279
Joined  2005-02-25
Great video !
Looks like you're using an older version of Daz Studio that had the mapping bug in it, it's best rendered in DAZ Studio Pro 4.6.0.18 where the mapping work right or you haven't got the Pro bundle with the extra texture set. Is this an Octane render ?
Image Attachments
Horse.jpg
 Signature 

The Mind on the other side!
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/midnight_stories/

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 11:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 42 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2006-03-27
how do I access the prop! I only have prop -dazhorse2-wings-griffin wings-materials!?
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 43 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1006
Joined  2005-11-27
So the wings weren' t made for importing into Poser?
 Signature 

The Revolution is coming…

==========================================================

“The universe is big. It’s vast and complicated and… ridiculous and sometimes, very rarely, impossible things just happen and we call them miracles…”

- The 10th Doctor, Doctor Who: The Pandorica Opens (Series 5, Episode 12)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 01:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 44 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  21
Joined  2006-03-27
I am using daz studio 4.6 pro
need help since I do not have anything in props except for material
Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 August 2013 01:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 45 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4808
Joined  2011-10-04
According to product info wiki, you should be able to see the wings under Animals:DAZ Horse 2:Props:Wings:Griffin-Wings

Can you do a screencap of what's there, if the wings themselves aren't?
 Signature 

Remembering Jaderail. Rest, my friend.
My DeviantArt page.
My DAZ Studio 4 freebies.
My ramblings/blog

Profile
 
 
   
3 of 6
3