Digital Art Zone

 
     
ADA-type question about Bryce…
Posted: 03 May 2013 04:42 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  64
Joined  2013-04-03

Hey all,

So here’s the thing—I would LIKE to be able to use Bryce and not have to go to Vue. If it were just a matter of paying $175 for Vue Esprit, that might be one thing, but I really don’t know exactly what would be impossible to do in Esprit vs. Studio et al. Someday I’ll buy the most complete version of everything…  But NOT now!! HOWEVER…

The difference in size in the preview window (Vue vs. Bryce) is important if you have any visual issues. NOT going to call it a disability. Positive attitudes are important… smile I would LOVE to know if anyone knows about any way to make that window larger…  some kind of general accessibility solution if nothing else? I really think it might be preferable to go with Vue if I can’t work this one out. And I’d rather not! (Well, Powerball IS up to $162 million, I think. (goes off to find a lottery ticket. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 04:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15660
Joined  2003-10-09

Do you mean like this

Image Attachments
bryce_screen.jpg
 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        August Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 05:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  64
Joined  2013-04-03

I’m a LITTLE confused…

I mean the eentsy preview window in the upper left hand corner of the screen.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6491
Joined  2005-08-15

I think it’s called the Nano Preview in Bryce, and the size of it cannot be changed to the best of my knowledge.  There may be a new 64 bit version of Bryce sometime in the future, and who knows what may be possible then, but it wont be any time soon.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 05:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  248
Joined  2005-09-28

Yeah… Oddly, the main Nano Preview window is the smallest preview size in Bryce.

I often use one of the Preview windows in a Lab to get a better idea of the entire scene, usually the Light Lab or Sky Lab… But even these guys are pretty small.

Last year I started ‘wire-framing’ a new interface for Bryce. The largest objections raised were by the extremely small yet highly ‘passionate’ Bryce fanbase who tend to resist change out of hand. Good thought exercise at the time - I enjoyed it, and it led to my current position with an IT firm, as well as interest from a sound company looking for an interface designer.

 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 09:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1590
Joined  2007-12-10

Yes, sadly the only way to make the nano preview window bigger is to clip a large magnifying glass onto the top left hand side of your monitor.

Or run your monitor in the old fashioned 640x480px resolution which will make everything bigger.

 Signature 

I’ve got nothing of my own to promote, no models, no tutorials, no website, nothin’, nada, nill, nowt.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 01:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3479
Joined  2004-10-01

Problem is, the preview renders very slow and often needs to be set to wireframe in order to work on a more elaborate project. The other previews in the labs also render slow. None of them takes advantage of multicore processors.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2567
Joined  2004-07-06

In the mean time… I wonder if there are any desktop magnifiers that might work over Bryce?  I’ve seen people use these in FPS video’s, it would make the preview a bit larger?

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 01:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3479
Joined  2004-10-01

I don’t think this is a helpful option. Information is missing. You can multiply the pixels to get a pixelized version or blur while enlarging. What I sometimes do is set the document size low and render this “preview”.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 May 2013 05:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4717
Joined  2004-07-01
anise_leinen - 03 May 2013 05:13 PM

I’m a LITTLE confused…

I mean the eentsy preview window in the upper left hand corner of the screen.

the preview is not any bigger in Vue - not in my copy any way

Profile