Digital Art Zone

 
     
import a group
Posted: 03 May 2013 09:45 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2004-10-05

Hello!  it seems that, in C8pro, the import as separate objects doesn’t work… usually, I import as one, but right now, import as several objects would be handy!..;  did you notice, or I miss something to get that import?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 11:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1694
Joined  0

I don’t have an answer, but maybe add a little more detail? like what filetype you are importing, etc…

 Signature 

320+ TUTORIALS for Carrara at CARRARA CAFE
C3DE - CARRARA 3D EXPO MAGAZINE - the showcase for Carrara Artists

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 11:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2004-10-05

it’s obj… when using C3, if I remember well, importing 4 objects grouped, for example, if you check “separate” they arrive in Carrara as 4 objects, not a single obj file…  as it comes from Rhino, to be honest, maybe it’s the export from rhino which is the problem! if I’m the only one to see that in carrara, it’s probably that!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4871
Joined  2006-08-27

There are many options when importing an .obj. What options are you selecting? Can you post a screen shot?

 Signature 

I find it somewhat liberating not to be encumbered by accuracy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 May 2013 11:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  260
Joined  2006-05-09

That would be handy.  An artist put some MLP type and I managed to go into the vertex room and manually select the tail and was able to move it but that would make things easier

 Signature 

Carrara Cafe

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 03:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1816
Joined  2004-08-24

Hi Celmar,. smile

As Evil Producer mentioned,. there#‘s an option in the OBJ import panel which allows you to import the model in parts based on the shading domain or the part name.

If you import an object,. and forget those options,. then you can go to Edit / Split object
which will do the same thing,. ....split the object into it’s separate parts.

Hope it helps smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 08:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2004-10-05

thank you for your answers, guys!!
  I don’t understand why, but nothing works, in that import question: attached is a screen capture, with my import set up… and as you can see, the cube, tore, cone and sphere are as a single object!... and I don’t have access to “split object”... sob….

Image Attachments
test-import.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  318
Joined  2006-02-03
celmar - 07 May 2013 08:38 AM

thank you for your answers, guys!!
  I don’t understand why, but nothing works, in that import question: attached is a screen capture, with my import set up… and as you can see, the cube, tore, cone and sphere are as a single object!... and I don’t have access to “split object”... sob….


What software are you using to make the objects?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 10:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2004-10-05

in that case, Rhino…  except for zbrush, I do nearly everything in nurbs…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 10:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  210
Joined  2006-11-17

Hi celmar,

Export from Rhino (in .obj export options-> Export Rhino object names) as “As OBJ groups”. Carrara will then see the groups with the settings for import you show earlier.

If you do not see that option in the version of Rhino you are using, then apply a different material to each object in Rhino,  set Rhino to export materials(in obj exporter), Carrara will then see the material groups.

If you are using Carrara pro, you have the option to export from Rhino as native .3dm.  Carrara will read that file format and convert (into separate objects).

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 11:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  159
Joined  2004-10-05

thank you, steve athome…
    effectively, I can import directly the 3dm… but in most cases, I want to convert in a single object… for example, I did a castle door… all the tiny screw, and sphères, I’m ok to import merged in C8… but some parts, it’s interesting to import not merged, to adjust in C8… so I’m looking for that option.. I use rhino 4, and don’t find your import options…...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 May 2013 12:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  210
Joined  2006-11-17

I just made a post, hit “submit post” and got sent to log-in page LOL, logged in again, and got sent to my account. Now each time I try to post, I get sent to my account. Hope this makes it eventually LOL

————————————————————-


In Rhino 4, place your objects (that you want to keep separate) into different layers. On obj export from Rhino, enable options:-
Export layer name
Export material definitions
Y-up

On import into Carrara, with the setting you posted before, each object will import (separate) with layer name/color.


If you need further help, I will be around for a while.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 May 2013 06:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1231
Joined  2004-11-07
3DAGE - 07 May 2013 03:12 AM

Hi Celmar,. smile

As Evil Producer mentioned,. there#‘s an option in the OBJ import panel which allows you to import the model in parts based on the shading domain or the part name.

If you import an object,. and forget those options,. then you can go to Edit / Split object
which will do the same thing,. ....split the object into it’s separate parts.

Hope it helps smile

 

Image Attachments
Doc1.jpg
Profile