Digital Art Zone

 
     
Bryce under parallels?
Posted: 15 June 2012 12:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-12-28

Has anyone had any success running Bryce under Parallels? Probably a stupid question - can PC-based Bryce open Mac created files? I also wonder about purchased content - if something is already in a .obj format, will the PC verosion accept the add-on content?

I miss Bryce. It’s not clear if Daz will ever support Macs anymore.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  321
Joined  2003-10-09

Yep, Bryce 7 runs OK under Parallels (tested on Windows 7 Home Premium, Parallels 7 on a MacBook Pro running OS X Lion). I was also able to open and render files that I’d created on Mac. I haven’t tested it extensively: basically, I just wanted to see if it worked, so I loaded up a simple scene or two and rendered them.

I can’t compare rendering speeds with running Bryce natively because ... well, you know why. It’s likely that there’ll be a noticeable performance hit, though.

I’m not sure quite how to interpret your question about .obj files. Is there a particular test you’d like me to try?

I haven’t tested the DAZ|Studio bridge in that configuration.

 Signature 

http://bytescapes.com/            Bryce/Carrara/Reality galleries and resources

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-12-28

thanks for your answer. The .obj files are files created in Poser or DAZ Studio and then exported in a format Bryce can read (though the materials export that should go along with it doesn’t always work).

I work with lots of glass textures, so the rendering time will probably take a hit, but I guess it’s better than no Bryce at all. It will still have to be better than the 4 year old MBP I used to use. - that used to give me rendering time estimates of 24 hours.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2012 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  233
Joined  2005-09-28

Bryce 6.x works fine under Parallels (Mac OS 10.6.8 / Windows XP). I’ve noticed, however, that the mouse has a really peculiar acceleration effect within ‘Mac Windows’ - slight nudges can send models and settings careening off into the wilderness.

There’s also the question of gamut. Bryce will render the same scene in different Mac/PC gamuts, so be aware of that - Windows images will appear darker and more vivid in the midtones compared to the Mac rendering.

 Signature 

Oroboros Presents… KEY-FLAME: Bryce Animation Tutorials

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2012 02:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2007-12-28

I thought that gamut was more related to the monitor calibration than to the software platform. As soon as the new computer comes, the first thing that I’ll do is rerender some of the files for comparison. The Mac files I’ve been sending to a printing place have been coming back perfectly. I wonder if the Pc rendered images will require some adjustments.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 June 2012 01:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3454
Joined  2004-10-01
csjcs - 16 June 2012 02:28 AM

I thought that gamut was more related to the monitor calibration than to the software platform.

PCs use a gamma of 2.2, Mac used to have it at 1.8 though I’m not sure that was changed.

 

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 12:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2003-10-09

You’re right Horo, that was changed. Newer Apple Cinema Displays default to a gamma of 2.2. Not sure when that started…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 12:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3454
Joined  2004-10-01

Thanks Dan. It’s always nice to see you in these forums. You’re one of the last “old” Mac brycers who helps out here.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 June 2012 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2011-11-06

What is “Parallels”?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 June 2012 06:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2003-10-09

Parallels:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallels_Desktop_for_Mac

Thanks Horo - always good to see you posting as well, always informative!
Not Bryceing too much these days due to DAZ’s wonderful Mac support wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 June 2012 01:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  398
Joined  2011-04-18

I am thinking about Parallels too. But I don’t know if it is possible to send stuff I made with DS4 Pro, installed under Lion, to Bryce (PC version) with Parallels. I definitely don’t want to install the PC version of DS4, because the Mac installers for any kind of content are so much better, and I don’t want to repeat the chaos I had on my old PC! So, can anybody help me please?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 June 2012 12:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2011-11-06
dan whiteside - 18 June 2012 06:20 AM

Parallels:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallels_Desktop_for_Mac

Thanks Horo - always good to see you posting as well, always informative!
Not Bryceing too much these days due to DAZ’s wonderful Mac support wink

Thanks for the link, it was a lot of help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 June 2012 04:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2007-09-11

Bryce will also run under Virtualbox, which has the advantage of being free!
I have these configurations working on an 8-core Mac Pro:


XP SP3 vm on Mac OSX 10.6 ( Snow Leopard )

Snow Leopard vm on Mac OSX 10.7 ( Lion ) *

Windows Server 2008R2 on Mac OSX 10.7 ( Lion )

* officially, according to the EULA, only Snow Leopard Server should be run in a vm ( need to install SL as 64 bit )

if DAZ do not mind the link ?  https://www.virtualbox.org/

 

 

Profile