Digital Art Zone

 
   
4 of 42
4
Luxus discussion II
Posted: 11 May 2013 07:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1405
Joined  2005-03-16
cwichura - 11 May 2013 03:09 PM

Lux does not take named colourspaces.  You must specify the individual channels.

Lux’s default colorspace (SMPTE) corresponds to:

"float colorspace_red" [.63 .34]
"float colorspace_green" [0.31 0.595]
"float colorspace_blue" [0.155 0.07]
"float colorspace_white" [0.314275 0.329411] 

When you select a colour space or whitepoint preset in the GUI, Lux is using a lookup table to fill in these values.  You can see the values Lux uses in the file http://src.luxrender.net/lux/file/26b984c0ff01/qtgui/colorspacewidget.cpp at the top.

The film response is specified with “string cameraresponse” [“crfname”].

I’m sure that I am missing something here.  I looked up the values that I want to use from the table, substituted them into the code you provided.  I get either no change in settings in Lux GUI, or I get an error, depending on whether I leave in the quotation marks or not.  I tried with quotes, without quotes, with “code” tags, without tags.  I tried it in the first Extra Settings box and also in the last Extra Settings box (at the bottom of render settings).  What am I doing wrong?

 Signature 

My DAZ Store Page  UVSetterGen2  Free Video Tutorials    My FreeStuff at ShareCG    My Gallery on DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 08:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 47 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  998
Joined  2012-02-04

I don’t have Luxus, so I don’t know what it’s doing with the Extra Settings.  But after export, you should be able to paste those settings into the Film block of the generated scene file.  If that works, then the issue has something to do with where Extra Settings is injecting those statements.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage
Set Focal Distance script for DAZ Studio

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 09:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 48 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  57
Joined  2003-10-09
Slosh - 11 May 2013 07:42 PM
cwichura - 11 May 2013 03:09 PM

Lux does not take named colourspaces.  You must specify the individual channels.

Lux’s default colorspace (SMPTE) corresponds to:

"float colorspace_red" [.63 .34]
"float colorspace_green" [0.31 0.595]
"float colorspace_blue" [0.155 0.07]
"float colorspace_white" [0.314275 0.329411] 

When you select a colour space or whitepoint preset in the GUI, Lux is using a lookup table to fill in these values.  You can see the values Lux uses in the file http://src.luxrender.net/lux/file/26b984c0ff01/qtgui/colorspacewidget.cpp at the top.

The film response is specified with “string cameraresponse” [“crfname”].

I’m sure that I am missing something here.  I looked up the values that I want to use from the table, substituted them into the code you provided.  I get either no change in settings in Lux GUI, or I get an error, depending on whether I leave in the quotation marks or not.  I tried with quotes, without quotes, with “code” tags, without tags.  I tried it in the first Extra Settings box and also in the last Extra Settings box (at the bottom of render settings).  What am I doing wrong?

I copied that block into the Render Settings: Extra Settings box as is and it worked for me.  Changed the values and the settings in the LuxRender GUI match what I entered.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 May 2013 09:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 49 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1405
Joined  2005-03-16
Mordur - 11 May 2013 09:14 PM
Slosh - 11 May 2013 07:42 PM
cwichura - 11 May 2013 03:09 PM

Lux does not take named colourspaces.  You must specify the individual channels.

Lux’s default colorspace (SMPTE) corresponds to:

"float colorspace_red" [.63 .34]
"float colorspace_green" [0.31 0.595]
"float colorspace_blue" [0.155 0.07]
"float colorspace_white" [0.314275 0.329411] 

When you select a colour space or whitepoint preset in the GUI, Lux is using a lookup table to fill in these values.  You can see the values Lux uses in the file http://src.luxrender.net/lux/file/26b984c0ff01/qtgui/colorspacewidget.cpp at the top.

The film response is specified with “string cameraresponse” [“crfname”].

I’m sure that I am missing something here.  I looked up the values that I want to use from the table, substituted them into the code you provided.  I get either no change in settings in Lux GUI, or I get an error, depending on whether I leave in the quotation marks or not.  I tried with quotes, without quotes, with “code” tags, without tags.  I tried it in the first Extra Settings box and also in the last Extra Settings box (at the bottom of render settings).  What am I doing wrong?

I copied that block into the Render Settings: Extra Settings box as is and it worked for me.  Changed the values and the settings in the LuxRender GUI match what I entered.

Really?  I tried and it just didn’t work for me.  Tried about 10 times, with different configurations.  Did you include the “code” and “/code” at the beginning and end of the list?  And did you put them in the first Extra Settings box (at the top of the render settings) or the last (at the bottom of the render settings)?

Edit:  Just realized the problem.  I already had an Accelerator in my extra settings.  As soon as I got rid of that, it worked.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store Page  UVSetterGen2  Free Video Tutorials    My FreeStuff at ShareCG    My Gallery on DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 50 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2012-03-02

Any body got tips for making water with luxus?, it was really easy with reality but not so with luxus. All I know is you need to use glass2 with volume.

 Signature 

http://michaelg1234.deviantart.com/

Noob with a big heart.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 51 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3098
Joined  2009-02-24
Michael_G - 12 May 2013 12:17 AM

Any body got tips for making water with luxus?, it was really easy with reality but not so with luxus. All I know is you need to use glass2 with volume.

There are plenty of ways to go about adding water to a scene. The easiest is to simply use an interior volume on a plane with the same IOR as the water. Use Glass2 as the material type, but be sure to uncheck the architectural option, since you’ll want refraction. Water has an IOR of around 1.33, so use the same IOR for the volume and the glass itself. For a really nice finish, add displacement maps to break up the surface a bit.

 Signature 

Find me on DeviantArt
Download my free IBL presets for Luxus
Re-upload of Cresent’s awesome pwToon shaders
Create your own Smart Content

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 12:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 52 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  279
Joined  2012-03-02
HeraldOfFire - 12 May 2013 12:57 AM
Michael_G - 12 May 2013 12:17 AM

Any body got tips for making water with luxus?, it was really easy with reality but not so with luxus. All I know is you need to use glass2 with volume.

There are plenty of ways to go about adding water to a scene. The easiest is to simply use an interior volume on a plane with the same IOR as the water. Use Glass2 as the material type, but be sure to uncheck the architectural option, since you’ll want refraction. Water has an IOR of around 1.33, so use the same IOR for the volume and the glass itself. For a really nice finish, add displacement maps to break up the surface a bit.

Thanks I will give that try.

 Signature 

http://michaelg1234.deviantart.com/

Noob with a big heart.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 05:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 53 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2615
Joined  2007-12-07

Don’t forget to give the water a bottom! smile

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 09:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 54 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  634
Joined  2006-10-01
SimonJM - 12 May 2013 05:30 AM

Don’t forget to give the water a bottom! smile

Sorry, what does this means? question

 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 55 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  137
Joined  2005-02-08

There should be some kind of ground plane under the water. Although I don’t know if that applies to oceans, as well, or just shallow things like streams and ponds.

 Signature 

the Evil Kitten Project

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 10:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 56 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  634
Joined  2006-10-01
HeraldOfFire - 12 May 2013 12:57 AM
Michael_G - 12 May 2013 12:17 AM

Any body got tips for making water with luxus?, it was really easy with reality but not so with luxus. All I know is you need to use glass2 with volume.

There are plenty of ways to go about adding water to a scene. The easiest is to simply use an interior volume on a plane with the same IOR as the water. Use Glass2 as the material type, but be sure to uncheck the architectural option, since you’ll want refraction. Water has an IOR of around 1.33, so use the same IOR for the volume and the glass itself. For a really nice finish, add displacement maps to break up the surface a bit.

I don’t have “interior” volume or IOR on the glass2 material. Only IOR in the volume section. Is this normal?

 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 11:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 57 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2615
Joined  2007-12-07
Hellboy - 12 May 2013 09:08 AM
SimonJM - 12 May 2013 05:30 AM

Don’t forget to give the water a bottom! smile

Sorry, what does this means? question

As Sithkitten said - it would depend on how deep the water is supposed to be as the bottom surface should have a degree of impact.  beyond a certain depth of water that woudl become negligible, but how deep that’d be would depend on the water (fresh, brine, brackish, turbulence, silt, etc., etc.) and is waaaaaay beyond anything I know! smile

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 58 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  634
Joined  2006-10-01

Still a WIP, but I’m doing a water prop with different presets. I’ll share when I’m done.  grin

Image Attachments
water_presets_example.jpg
 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 08:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 59 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  634
Joined  2006-10-01

Water…

Image Attachments
water_presets_example2.jpg
 Signature 

Simplified guide to Genesis content creation.

My gallery.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 May 2013 09:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 60 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1405
Joined  2005-03-16
Hellboy - 12 May 2013 08:21 PM

Water…

This looks so good, I hope you are creating shaders for us with this work.  The only thing I see missing is the separation between the water and the post.  In this case, the water plane is penetrating the post.  I think the water itself is perfect,  I wouldn’t change a thing, but maybe somehow a hole in the water plane so that a line will appear where it meets the post.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store Page  UVSetterGen2  Free Video Tutorials    My FreeStuff at ShareCG    My Gallery on DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
   
4 of 42
4