Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 39
1
Luxus discussion II
Posted: 30 April 2013 03:41 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02

Previous discussions
——————————————————————————————-

cwichura - 30 April 2013 03:25 PM

Looking at the source, inline mesh declarations also appear to use auto as the default accel type for each shape.

But the confusion here is over specifying the accel type at the mesh level or the scene level.  I would argue that specifying it at the mesh level is something that should not be exposed, as most users are more likely to make things worse than help themselves by overriding the auto selection on a per-mesh basis.  Bad meshes sometimes give QBVH problems, but those are so rare, it’s really not worth worrying about.  And the real solution is to fix the mesh, since while kdtree may load it, it’s still gonna make the render suffer.

If you expose a parameter, it should only be for the scene-level accelerator used to collect all the none/global meshes at the end of scene prep.  And again, I think for 99% of the cases, just setting it to qbvh is what you want, and doesn’t really need to be exposed to the user.

Accelerator is entirely undocumented then.

Anyone interested can stick one of the following in the Render Settings, Extra Settings of Luxus

Accelerator "qbvh"
Accelerator "sqbvh"
Accelerator "kdtree"
Accelerator "tabreckdtree"
Accelerator "unsafekdtree"
Accelerator "bvh" 

Some have parameters, but they are not documented, so I would go with the defaults..

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 April 2013 05:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  139
Joined  2012-11-17
SphericLabs - 29 April 2013 09:15 PM
fusionla - 29 April 2013 06:48 PM
SphericLabs - 25 March 2013 12:46 PM
fusionla - 25 March 2013 12:44 PM
SphericLabs - 25 March 2013 07:01 AM
Szark - 25 March 2013 05:45 AM
fusionla - 25 March 2013 02:12 AM

@ SphericLabs,
Is it possible for you to add an Invert direction option for the Area/Mesh Light settings?

Why can’t you just turn it around 180 degrees…simple enough to do.

Probably for something like a cylinder?

Yes that would be correct, it’s an option that Reality has.

I can add it as an option, for now you can simple paste the following line into your Extra Settings on the Material
ReverseOrientation

 

@SphericLabs, did you get a chance to add this option with the new release?

Doh!  I knew I forget something.

Who can blame you…. look how fast this thread grew!

Also when you convert a surface to a Luxus light/emitter and use the Copy Studio Parameters, to copy over the diffuse texture to the LuxRender Light Color, making it good to use with skydomes and skyboxes.

Been getting some strange results, with items just using the default DAZ Studio shader.
Installed the new version, and compared the auto conversion with Reality.

Looks like the Spec channel is not being Auto-Coverted good (posted an example about this before lost somewhere in this thread smile )
Spent a lot of time going back and forward from the LuxRender wiki and Reality to see what was different.
Seems like the Spec color needs to be lowered and Glossiness needs to be translated to the LuxRender roughness values.
Attached is another example and part from the first example, I posted a while back.

Keep up the good work!!!, Luxus is moving along pretty fast.

 

 

Image Attachments
Spec_Gloss_2nd_try_Luxus_vs_Reality.jpg
 Signature 

FusionLA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 12:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  285
Joined  2012-03-02
SphericLabs - 30 April 2013 03:41 PM
cwichura - 30 April 2013 03:25 PM

Looking at the source, inline mesh declarations also appear to use auto as the default accel type for each shape.

But the confusion here is over specifying the accel type at the mesh level or the scene level.  I would argue that specifying it at the mesh level is something that should not be exposed, as most users are more likely to make things worse than help themselves by overriding the auto selection on a per-mesh basis.  Bad meshes sometimes give QBVH problems, but those are so rare, it’s really not worth worrying about.  And the real solution is to fix the mesh, since while kdtree may load it, it’s still gonna make the render suffer.

If you expose a parameter, it should only be for the scene-level accelerator used to collect all the none/global meshes at the end of scene prep.  And again, I think for 99% of the cases, just setting it to qbvh is what you want, and doesn’t really need to be exposed to the user.

Accelerator is entirely undocumented then.

Anyone interested can stick one of the following in the Render Settings, Extra Settings of Luxus

Accelerator "qbvh"
Accelerator "sqbvh"
Accelerator "kdtree"
Accelerator "tabreckdtree"
Accelerator "unsafekdtree"
Accelerator "bvh" 

Some have parameters, but they are not documented, so I would go with the defaults..

No worries, was just a thought.

 Signature 

http://michaelg1234.deviantart.com/

Noob with a big heart.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  237
Joined  2006-01-03

.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  718
Joined  2012-03-25

It seems my Wine Me product has been discussed a bit over here! This is my first release so the who - what - where - how stuff AKA my store page, didn’t show up until yesterday. Dumor3D.

I think this might be the first product in the Daz Store with Luxus presets. I’m totally willing to be corrected on that.

There have been a number of Luxus updates, some of which occurred during the development of Wine Me. I spent a lot of time over on the LuxRender docs tuning it. At the same time, everything done is within your surfaces interface, so if something needs a tweak it is available to you. Things like glass and wine colors are all just colors set within the surfaces area, so adding your own would be easy.

All of that said, I would love feedback on the product and in particular my Luxus settings. I’m thinking this might need an update to match new Luxus updates, or maybe their updates will just make it look better! (one can hope)

 Signature 

Visit My Dumor3D Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 12:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02
dumorian - 01 May 2013 12:39 PM

It seems my Wine Me product has been discussed a bit over here! This is my first release so the who - what - where - how stuff AKA my store page, didn’t show up until yesterday. Dumor3D.

I think this might be the first product in the Daz Store with Luxus presets. I’m totally willing to be corrected on that.

There have been a number of Luxus updates, some of which occurred during the development of Wine Me. I spent a lot of time over on the LuxRender docs tuning it. At the same time, everything done is within your surfaces interface, so if something needs a tweak it is available to you. Things like glass and wine colors are all just colors set within the surfaces area, so adding your own would be easy.

All of that said, I would love feedback on the product and in particular my Luxus settings. I’m thinking this might need an update to match new Luxus updates, or maybe their updates will just make it look better! (one can hope)

Luxus did not break anything in regards to your product.  I checked several items.

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  718
Joined  2012-03-25
SphericLabs - 01 May 2013 12:51 PM
dumorian - 01 May 2013 12:39 PM

It seems my Wine Me product has been discussed a bit over here! This is my first release so the who - what - where - how stuff AKA my store page, didn’t show up until yesterday. Dumor3D.

I think this might be the first product in the Daz Store with Luxus presets. I’m totally willing to be corrected on that.

There have been a number of Luxus updates, some of which occurred during the development of Wine Me. I spent a lot of time over on the LuxRender docs tuning it. At the same time, everything done is within your surfaces interface, so if something needs a tweak it is available to you. Things like glass and wine colors are all just colors set within the surfaces area, so adding your own would be easy.

All of that said, I would love feedback on the product and in particular my Luxus settings. I’m thinking this might need an update to match new Luxus updates, or maybe their updates will just make it look better! (one can hope)

Luxus did not break anything in regards to your product.  I checked several items.

Sweet!!! And thanks for looking into it! If in the future it does need any tweaks, I would like to take care of those. This is a new world that has opened to the Daz community. To me, it simply seemed logical to include those mats preset. In fairness to other devs out there, it can potentially add a fair amount of time. I worked pretty hard to get it to play nice in 3Delight out of the box as well as playing nice in Luxus.

I am curious… do I get the first Luxus preset product feather in my cap? smile

A hint to Wine Me users… If you don’t need the awesome glass that LuxRender can deliver, you can set it back to architectural to speed up your renders. It would work best on more distant items… like glasses on a table behind your scene’s main focal point.

 Signature 

Visit My Dumor3D Store

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 04:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Hopefully we will have something that will allow us to set up props with automatic swapping of shaders based on distance from camera at some point ;p

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 07:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  984
Joined  2012-02-04
Gedd - 01 May 2013 04:06 PM

Hopefully we will have something that will allow us to set up props with automatic swapping of shaders based on distance from camera at some point ;p

LuxRender itself has no concept of this, so it’d be pretty hard to add to an exporter…  What is your use case for this?

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 08:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Sorry, had to think a minute because it seemed obvious. If something is in the background it doesn’t need the kind of details that it would if it were in mid ground, foreground or closeup. at some point, one either does a lot of texture swapping or has a lot of wasted cpu cycles.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 09:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  481
Joined  2013-02-02

Hmnm, the Javascripting support can almost already do this, just would need to expose some information about the object in the scene to the script.

Yet, in the unbiased world I am guessing it is better to think in terms of the lights.  A small “candle” light off in the distance needs to be “LOD”‘d so LuxRender does not waste processing all the photons coming out of it.  LuxRender seems to have this in the form of Light Importance, which you will find as a settings in all Luxus Lights. 

BUT, I would also guess that this is the job of the sampler and probably the reason the experts recommend metropolis.  I would guess we are already benefiting from further way things are using less processing power.

 Signature 

-Spheric

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2013 09:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  984
Joined  2012-02-04
Gedd - 01 May 2013 08:59 PM

Sorry, had to think a minute because it seemed obvious. If something is in the background it doesn’t need the kind of details that it would if it were in mid ground, foreground or closeup. at some point, one either does a lot of texture swapping or has a lot of wasted cpu cycles.

Lux already internally creates mipmaps for all image textures loaded, which is a technique for using images of different scales based on distance.  “Swapping of shaders” sounded more like you wanted entirely different material definitions, which Lux does not support.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2013 05:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Yes, I was specifically referring to shaders as there are multiple things that don’t necessarily make sense as they are in a closeup if an object is in the distance, like bump or displacement maps, some transmaps, surface settings like specularity, etc.. It would be nice to be able to fine tune these on an object by object basis based on distance. It would be a good idea to do some test cases to see just how much and where it would be helpful to do vs just leaving the render engine to sort it out. Maybe after I get the other 10 projects I’m working on now done ;p

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2013 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  984
Joined  2012-02-04

Again, LuxRender itself has no support for what you are looking to do.  So you’d have to change the material definitions in Studio based on where you placed your camera.

 Signature 

My deviantART Homepage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2013 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Well… Lux is opensource… that means it can be modified, and Luxus modifies many things on the path between DS and Lux itself. Since it’s not in any program that I know of, it could be coded in any program. As for placing the camera, that’s just what gets handed off to Lux, one can modify the the file after it leaves DS on it’s way to the render engine.

It may be that it would be easier to code in an app like DS, I don’t know. I didn’t think that far ahead. It was just on the wish list of things I would like to see at some point.

It may be that I am looking at it all wrong and there is some reason why that would be better handled another way as this is just something off the top of my head that isn’t being handled other then in a limited way now that I know of.

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2013 08:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1802
Joined  2005-06-08

Single light (sun sky2), Auto Linear, ran a smidge over six hours, about 250 S/p — the raw version’s below, but in the final the only postwork’s a bit on the squirrel’s eye.  I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it recently, but the one thing I really love about Luxrender is its easy and beautifully realistic bright sunlight.  Final version up in my deviantART gallery here.
   
Gray Squirrel with Blue Flower

Image Attachments
PCI20130501-SquirrelScene05c-Lux01a.jpg
 Signature 

~

Hat-wearing member of the Bald Wizards Club

Eyebrow-Free Face Textures — A List

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 39
1