Digital Art Zone

 
     
Multi replicate
Posted: 26 April 2013 12:43 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2011-05-02

What are the benefits, or not, when using the scale translation check box during multi replicate, I can see that the objects are slightly overlapping, but for what purpose might it be used for? It must be there for good reason?
Thanks.

Image Attachments
cone.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 April 2013 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3648
Joined  2004-10-01

It looks as if the scaling factor is taken into consideration where the replicated objects will appear.

Image Attachments
mrst.jpg
 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 April 2013 04:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2011-05-02

Thank you Horro, yes , it looks like it does, although I set the size of my cone to 20x20x20 Bryce units to begin with in both cases, and then in the Multi-Replicate dialogue left the size at 100% with a 20 BU. Y offset to get my result above. Strangely if the cone is sized to 10x10x10 BU. beforehand and then a 10 BU. offset is applied the results are very different, I am struggling to understand the workings of Scale Translation and in particular what it might be useful for.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 01:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  759
Joined  2008-11-26

Watch David’s tut     http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xqykBwxKtQ

It helped me understand the multi-replicate

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 03:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2011-05-02

Thank you mermaid10
David’s tutorial is good, as all his tutorials are, and it does make using multi replicate appear more interesting and less daunting, he does quickly address the scale translation, although later in the video at one point, he mentions that it will not have any effect on his cube as the scaling was at 100%  maybe so for his cube but not for my cone, as shown in my illustration.
Scale Translation works in different ways with different objects, whether or not the size of the object is set to 100% in the multi replicate dialogue, if the objects have been re-sized before hand, results are different again, I am still experimenting, but alas, no further forward.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 04:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2642
Joined  2004-07-06
TapiocaTundra - 27 April 2013 03:10 AM

Thank you mermaid10
David’s tutorial is good, as all his tutorials are, and it does make using multi replicate appear more interesting and less daunting, he does quickly address the scale translation, although later in the video at one point, he mentions that it will not have any effect on his cube as the scaling was at 100%  maybe so for his cube but not for my cone, as shown in my illustration.
Scale Translation works in different ways with different objects, whether or not the size of the object is set to 100% in the multi replicate dialogue, if the objects have been re-sized before hand, results are different again, I am still experimenting, but alas, no further forward.

I reckon it works like this, lets consider just one axis.

5 objects at 100% no scale translation or with it and an axis offset of 100.

The axis offset will be 100, 100, 100, 100, 100, because 100% of 100% is 100% so all steps will be 100 by 100% irrispective.

Now 5 objects at 50% without scale translation and an axis offset of 100.

The axis offset will be 100, 100,  100, 100, 100, because without scale translation, the offset is not processed so all steps are still 100.

Now 5 objects at 50% with scale translation and an axis offset of 100.

The axis offset will be 50, 25, 12.5, 6.25, 3.125

Because

Offset 1 = 50% of 100 = 50
Offset 2 = 50% of 50 = 25
Offset 3 = 50% of 25… and so on.  The process is recursive.

And each translation is handled axis by axis.

 

 

 

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 06:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3648
Joined  2004-10-01

Makes sense and is confirmed by my picture above. Cone 4 and 5 are inside of 3 and therefore invisible.

 Signature 

**  [ Stuff by David Brinnen and myself**  [ My DAZ 3D Gallery**  [ My Website**  OPC 4565 **

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 06:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2011-05-02

Thank you David.
Yes, I see it working like that, but what is happening with scale translation when the object has been resized to say to 20x20x20bu. in the object attributes dialogue before hand.
I am expecting the same results with scale translation switched on or off and cone left at 100% with Y offset same as cone Y size(20bu.), but this is not so.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 06:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2642
Joined  2004-07-06
TapiocaTundra - 27 April 2013 06:33 AM

Thank you David.
Yes, I see it working like that, but what is happening with scale translation when the object has been resized to say to 20x20x20bu. in the object attributes dialogue before hand.
I am expecting the same results with scale translation switched on or off and cone left at 100% with Y offset same as cone Y size(20bu.), but this is not so.

I’m struggling to get my head around the question, can you post up some screen grabs of the object attributes, the mylti-rep dialogue and before and after replication?

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 07:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2011-05-02

As I worked through left to right, I was expecting the end results to be the same.

Image Attachments
stages.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 07:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2642
Joined  2004-07-06

Ah ha.  OK yes where the size is 100% scale transition cannot make any difference that is correct.

100% of 100% = 100%.  The scaling is in percentages in BU’s.

So for example, if your object is 1 BU and it is scaled 100% then it will remain 1 BU in size.

The scale transition is a recursive process but if the result of the output is the same as the input, it won’t make any change.

If you want this control to have an effect, you have to either increase for scaling percentage over 100 or reduce it below 100, then it will affect the offset when the control is enabled.

Edit. Oh hang on, there appears to be a small difference.  That’s odd.  OK… didn’t notice that at first because it is so small.  Let me test.

Image Attachments
Image3.jpg
 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2642
Joined  2004-07-06
TapiocaTundra - 27 April 2013 07:43 AM

As I worked through left to right, I was expecting the end results to be the same.

Yes I confirm your findings, you’ve found a bug.  Interesting.  I don’t know what’s causing it, but re-sizing the Bryce primitive seems to throw it out of kilter.  It’s not just the cone either, I just tested it on a cube.  It looks consistent in its inconsistency.  Odd indeed.

 Signature 

that Bryce Tutorials Info and this Products made by Horo and myself and a link to my gallery at DAZ 3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2013 08:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2011-05-02

Oh, thanks David, I am still thinking about a positive use for its behaviour though, I wonder if the size percentage in the multi replicate dialogue works in some way with the original object size 20.48 bryce units, bugs are for the birds smile

Edit :The 20.48 bryce units original object size does indeed make a difference, by putting this value in the Y translation of the cone, I ended up with a result as was expected in the first place, I wonder why this is?
In fact I tried it with objects previously resized to 20x20x20bu. and 10x10x10bu respectively and 20.48 gave expected results with both tests, it must be working like that for a good purpose, you know, I am not sure that this is a bug?

Profile